• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft Windows Vista Service Pack 1 (SP1) Available for Download

Joined
Oct 19, 2006
Messages
360 (0.09/day)
Likes
14
Location
Adelaide, SA, Aussie!
System Name Blaq Mamba
Processor Intel i7 950 @4Ghz Swiftech Water Cooled
Motherboard ASUS ROG Rampage III Formula
Cooling All are 12cm LED fans: 2x front, 1x side, 1x back, 2x inside top under CPU radiator, 2x 14cm Top.
Memory 12GB DDR3 1600 3x4GB DIMMs
Video Card(s) 2x MSI HD 6950 2GB flashed to 6970 2GB... Damn fast :p direct exhaust.
Storage 2x GSkill Phoenix Pro 120GB SSDs' in RAID 0 (500MB/s read/write). 3x 2TB WD Green in RAID 5
Display(s) 52" Sony Bravia LCD 200hz motionflow
Case NZXT Tempest Evo
Audio Device(s) 6950/6970
Power Supply 1200w Thermaltake Toughpower
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 7.7 in Windows Experience Index.... CPU holding me back...

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#77
To those talking about the OEM crack: please stop. we dont want this thread locked because of piracy talk.

Some OEM cracks still work under vista, but pretty much all other cracks dont. If people want to talk about it.. do it via PM. I'd like this thread to stay where it is, unlocked and without people getting their posts deleted.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2006
Messages
360 (0.09/day)
Likes
14
Location
Adelaide, SA, Aussie!
System Name Blaq Mamba
Processor Intel i7 950 @4Ghz Swiftech Water Cooled
Motherboard ASUS ROG Rampage III Formula
Cooling All are 12cm LED fans: 2x front, 1x side, 1x back, 2x inside top under CPU radiator, 2x 14cm Top.
Memory 12GB DDR3 1600 3x4GB DIMMs
Video Card(s) 2x MSI HD 6950 2GB flashed to 6970 2GB... Damn fast :p direct exhaust.
Storage 2x GSkill Phoenix Pro 120GB SSDs' in RAID 0 (500MB/s read/write). 3x 2TB WD Green in RAID 5
Display(s) 52" Sony Bravia LCD 200hz motionflow
Case NZXT Tempest Evo
Audio Device(s) 6950/6970
Power Supply 1200w Thermaltake Toughpower
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 7.7 in Windows Experience Index.... CPU holding me back...
#78
im not referring to piracy. i have a legit copy, but vista sucks with the number of legit licenses they blocked.. so i reverted to the OEM hack... y bother wasting my time contacting MS when this works perfectly fine.... if it ever does get blocked.. then i'll waste my time with MS!

(probably woulda helped if i mentioned i owned it in the 1st place! lol)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#79
im not referring to piracy. i have a legit copy, but vista sucks with the number of legit licenses they blocked.. so i reverted to the OEM hack... y bother wasting my time contacting MS when this works perfectly fine.... if it ever does get blocked.. then i'll waste my time with MS!

(probably woulda helped if i mentioned i owned it in the 1st place! lol)
yeah i used an OEM crack to test on another system here before moving SP1 onto my main rig, but again the mods may not like this (remember that if MS comes along and sees a thread where it looks like people are pro-piracy, TPU gets a big hammer dropped on it)

I own vista on my two main systems, and two copies of XP (laptop + spare/backup) - but i cant be stuffed buying another vista just to test service packs :p


Anyway back on topic - i've had no ill effects from this so far, only minor positive gains. Anyone else of the same opinion?
 

sdokic

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#80
Vista Service Pack 1 Internal error (Error Code 0x800700D)

Error Code 0x800700DIf you have "internal error..." (Error code 0x800700D) message the reason is an IO error during instalation of Vista Service Pack 1. You won't be able to figure that out from Microsoft help forums where they are telling you to check your memory, your hard drive (your car, refrigerator, dishwasher etc).

Most of the time everything is 100% OK with your PC. You will spend hours reading Microsoft posts and still you will not be able to install Vista Service Pack 1.

So this is the deal. The error you get is because the permisisons. I know it sounds strange, but there is easy way to prove that I am right. Just try to copy SP 1 exe file to some other place like your other PC (shared folder) or some USB storage device. You won't be able to copy this file because you will get the same error code but this time the message will be different (IO failure).

In order to install Vista SP1 just download this file to some other place on you network or maybe even USB storage (most of them are large enough to store 400MB which is the size of SP1 update). Click on file to start installation. You will have Vista SP 1 installed in 1 hour or so.

It's strange but it is a way that I installed Vista SP1 without any problems. Also, you can try to turn off UAC control before installation. I did not try to install service pack 1 using this way so I do not know if it can help. As I said I did install Vista SP1 using USB storage device to store SP 1 EXE file.

I hope it will help you.
 

smercius

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6600@2.87
Motherboard ABIT IN9 32X-MAX WiFi, nForce-680i SLI
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory OCZ Platinum DDR2 PC6400 4GB
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8800GTS 500M 640MB
Storage Samsung SpinPoint T166 500GB SATA2
Display(s) Samsung 20" LCD Syncmaster 205BW
Case Antec Performance One P180 Miditower
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic S12 E+ Powersupply 650W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x86
#81
finaly

does anyone get message that language of OS and instalilation file doesn't match?
OS english, SP 1 english :confused:
i've allready installed SP1, but before i did that i've spent around 4 hours uninstalling unsuported language packs. Microsoft says that later on they'll release SP1 which will support all languages.