• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Microstuttering experiment with 7950 Crossfire, use two bridges instead of one.

Ephremius

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2013
Messages
60 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Processor 2500k @ 4.7
Cooling Noctua NH-D14, with IC Diamond 24 carat on GPU + CPU
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 X.M.P.
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200 core 1500 mem
Display(s) 2560 x 1440 27" 5ms @ 105hz
Software Windows 8 Pro
#1
I am using 2 CF bridges instead of one for my 7950 x2 setup... and games do seem a little smoother... has anyone done real world tests on this to compare and contrast 1 vs 2 bridges?
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#2
I asked this years ago, and was told it didn't make much of a difference between 1 and 2 bridges.
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (2.01/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#3

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#4
I'll give you a pass for not searching google first, I found this within about 5 minutes

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=341673
That's from a bit overt 2 years ago, and drivers have changed so much that this is a question worth asking again. The whole "ask google" things is getting really old, BTW. Sometimes people would like a conversation about a subject to answer questions, or just sort things out in their head. The only dumb questions are those not asked. :)


However, personally, I see ZERO difference. I could grab a second card off my shelf and check it again, but I don't have matched pairs now, just 7970 and 7950. Waiting for my second 7970 to be returned from being out on loan.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#5

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,374 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#6

Ephremius

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2013
Messages
60 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Processor 2500k @ 4.7
Cooling Noctua NH-D14, with IC Diamond 24 carat on GPU + CPU
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 X.M.P.
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200 core 1500 mem
Display(s) 2560 x 1440 27" 5ms @ 105hz
Software Windows 8 Pro
#7
That's from a bit overt 2 years ago, and drivers have changed so much that this is a question worth asking again. The whole "ask google" things is getting really old, BTW. Sometimes people would like a conversation about a subject to answer questions, or just sort things out in their head. The only dumb questions are those not asked. :)


However, personally, I see ZERO difference. I could grab a second card off my shelf and check it again, but I don't have matched pairs now, just 7970 and 7950. Waiting for my second 7970 to be returned from being out on loan.
Thanks Cadaveca, I agree with you in full.

I will try some testing with one and two bridges, thanks for the link erocker.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,984 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,551
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#8
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.91/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#9
Anyone looking forward to the 31st of July, IIRC? Supposedly AMD/ATi will be releasing the new Catalyst package that sorts out the CF/X issues that people have been complaining about...

Hopefully they did manage to sort it out :)
 

Ephremius

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2013
Messages
60 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Processor 2500k @ 4.7
Cooling Noctua NH-D14, with IC Diamond 24 carat on GPU + CPU
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 X.M.P.
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200 core 1500 mem
Display(s) 2560 x 1440 27" 5ms @ 105hz
Software Windows 8 Pro
#10
Anyone looking forward to the 31st of July, IIRC? Supposedly AMD/ATi will be releasing the new Catalyst package that sorts out the CF/X issues that people have been complaining about...

Hopefully they did manage to sort it out :)
I read about this on Guru 3D as well Midget. I can't wait.
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.91/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#11
I read about this on Guru 3D as well Midget. I can't wait.
I came across something about it over @ XtremeSystems i think :confused:

Since i built this iTX rig i've been tempted to run a dual GPU card and ATi is my preferred GFX so i been holding off. I was really looking forward to what the 7990 was to bring but :(

I prolly wouldn't have picked it up at or near release anyways but still was curious/hoping for a good solution. My idea is to bump the 7950 into my 775 rig and pass the 5870 along to my uncle for his FlightSIM box and pop a dual GPU into the Prodigy. That should keep me going for the next few years... *Should* :laugh:

I usually keep CPU/MoBo for a while and add RAM if needed and upgrade GFX as required, since i only game those are the important pieces. For me.

:toast:
 

Ephremius

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2013
Messages
60 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Processor 2500k @ 4.7
Cooling Noctua NH-D14, with IC Diamond 24 carat on GPU + CPU
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 X.M.P.
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200 core 1500 mem
Display(s) 2560 x 1440 27" 5ms @ 105hz
Software Windows 8 Pro
#12
I came across something about it over @ XtremeSystems i think :confused:

Since i built this iTX rig i've been tempted to run a dual GPU card and ATi is my preferred GFX so i been holding off. I was really looking forward to what the 7990 was to bring but :(

I prolly wouldn't have picked it up at or near release anyways but still was curious/hoping for a good solution. My idea is to bump the 7950 into my 775 rig and pass the 5870 along to my uncle for his FlightSIM box and pop a dual GPU into the Prodigy. That should keep me going for the next few years... *Should* :laugh:

I usually keep CPU/MoBo for a while and add RAM if needed and upgrade GFX as required, since i only game those are the important pieces. For me.

:toast:

Same for me Midget, all I do is game I mean. I think my 7950 CF at 1200/1500 is going to last me several years still, especially since the next gen consoles will be porting more AMD optimized games for the next 5 or so years at least. Regardless, when Skylake CPU and DDR4 ram comes out, I may do a complete overhaul, not sure yet. I really don't even see total war rome 2 later this year destroying my 7950 cf setup, sure I may have to turn off shadows, but I could care less about shadows. :roll:
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.91/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#13
Same for me Midget, all I do is game I mean. I think my 7950 CF at 1200/1500 is going to last me several years still, especially since the next gen consoles will be porting more AMD optimized games for the next 5 or so years at least. Regardless, when Skylake CPU and DDR4 ram comes out, I may do a complete overhaul, not sure yet. I really don't even see total war rome 2 later this year destroying my 7950 cf setup, sure I may have to turn off shadows, but I could care less about shadows. :roll:
Your CPU would be the "weak link" before your GFX, IMHO, providing you don't move into high res/refresh monitors. Even then, ATi handles high res Ok. I'd eventually like to step into a 120Hz monitor as well, so that is part of it, but thinking thia all wont happen untill a year or so goes by :eek:

:toast:
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
156 (0.09/day)
Likes
11
System Name Cerberus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2o 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X Direct CU II
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB + Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#14
From my limited experience, I also have to agree that using a second bridge makes no difference. I had about 3 crossfire rigs and I was always trying one and two bridges but I never noticed any gains.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,374 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#15
From my limited experience, I also have to agree that using a second bridge makes no difference. I had about 3 crossfire rigs and I was always trying one and two bridges but I never noticed any gains.
Me too except for a pair of 4890's that I had. They didn't like not having two for some reason.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
156 (0.09/day)
Likes
11
System Name Cerberus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2o 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X Direct CU II
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB + Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#16
Same for me Midget, all I do is game I mean. I think my 7950 CF at 1200/1500 is going to last me several years still, especially since the next gen consoles will be porting more AMD optimized games for the next 5 or so years at least. Regardless, when Skylake CPU and DDR4 ram comes out, I may do a complete overhaul, not sure yet. I really don't even see total war rome 2 later this year destroying my 7950 cf setup, sure I may have to turn off shadows, but I could care less about shadows. :roll:

I have set my next GPU update to Volcanic Islands (HD 9 series). Till then the 6970/6950 CF will hold :D
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,550 (3.98/day)
Likes
8,055
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#17
I'm not really surprised that adding a second bridge makes no measurable difference. In fact, I'll go as far as to say that the second connection is likely disabled.

Think about it: AMD will have designed the crossfire bridge to carry all the signals and bandwidth that it requires to work and there's nothing in the documentation to say about connecting a second one. Hence, the second one should make no difference and doesn't in benchmarks.

Also, I agree with letting people talk about a subject, even if it's answered elsewhere. If nothing else, it can add a different perspective to it as people think of different angles.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,374 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#18
In fact, I'll go as far as to say that the second connection is likely disabled.
My 4890's say differently... I have no idea why though. :laugh:
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
156 (0.09/day)
Likes
11
System Name Cerberus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2o 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X Direct CU II
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB + Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#19
I'm not really surprised that adding a second bridge makes no measurable difference. In fact, I'll go as far as to say that the second connection is likely disabled.

Think about it: AMD will have designed the crossfire bridge to carry all the signals and bandwidth that it requires to work and there's nothing in the documentation to say about connecting a second one. Hence, the second one should make no difference and doesn't in benchmarks.

Also, I agree with letting people talk about a subject, even if it's answered elsewhere. If nothing else, it can add a different perspective to it as people think of different angles.
Although I agree, there is actually documentation (board manuals mostly) that specify the use of two bridges on dual crossfire setups.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,550 (3.98/day)
Likes
8,055
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#20
My 4890's say differently... I have no idea why though. :laugh:
Hey, lol. What difference do you see?

Although I agree, there is actually documentation (board manuals mostly) that specify the use of two bridges on dual crossfire setups.
Is that specific to certain card generations, I wonder?
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
156 (0.09/day)
Likes
11
System Name Cerberus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2o 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X Direct CU II
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB + Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#21
Hey, lol. What difference do you see?



Is that specific to certain card generations, I wonder?
I don't know. But I remember that my old board manual in the CF setup instructions said "both bridges should be connected" as if it's a requirement for CF to work :laugh::laugh::laugh:
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,625 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#22
Why not just connect with two. They come with two anyways.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,550 (3.98/day)
Likes
8,055
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#23
I don't know. But I remember that my old board manual in the CF setup instructions said "both bridges should be connected" as if it's a requirement for CF to work :laugh::laugh::laugh:
Sometime those mobo manuals are quite wrong and it looks like this was one of those times. If the cards needed it, then there's no way AMD wouldn't mention it.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#24
Sometime those mobo manuals are quite wrong and it looks like this was one of those times. If the cards needed it, then there's no way AMD wouldn't mention it.
AMD's driver itself (CURRENTLY) will tell you to connect BOTH bridges when none are connected. But you aren't an AMD GPU user, so I'm not sure why you are even offering info, because you'd have no idea that that was the case. :p

That's why I made the first comment I did in this thread. The driver tells you to connect both. Why? I dunno.

I've actually been waiting for someone to bring up this topic, since I saw this many times in the past 6-8 months.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,374 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#25