• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Microstuttering experiment with 7950 Crossfire, use two bridges instead of one.

Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
156 (0.09/day)
Likes
11
System Name Cerberus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2o 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X Direct CU II
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB + Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#26
Sometime those mobo manuals are quite wrong and it looks like this was one of those times. If the cards needed it, then there's no way AMD wouldn't mention it.
They definitely don't need two to work. Question is if two result in better performance (in most cases the answer is no). Anyway let's wait for the crossfire fix at the end of the month and see if that actually fixes anything.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#27
1 bridge = Insane flicker-fest

2 bridges = Happy gamingz!
Flicker usually indicates a bad bridge(as per AMD, FutureMark and XFX support).

Could have been one of your card's Crossfire fingers was funky.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#28
They definitely don't need two to work. Question is if two result in better performance (in most cases the answer is no). Anyway let's wait for the crossfire fix at the end of the month and see if that actually fixes anything.
You should check out FRAFS and FRAPS as I linked to in a earlier post. Try one bridge, then two and see if there are any differences in frames. I can test it out in a bit.. I got a whole bunch of new tech at work I'm figuring out currently.


cadaveca said:
Could have been one of your card's Crossfire fingers was funky.
That was my thought too at the time, however I have plenty of CrossFire bridges to test and it didn't matter. It was most likely one of the connectors on a card that was funky... But it needed two.

It was two of these cards btw: SAPPHIRE Toxic 100269TXSR Radeon HD 4890 1GB 256-b...
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
156 (0.09/day)
Likes
11
System Name Cerberus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2o 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X Direct CU II
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB + Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#29
Sometime those mobo manuals are quite wrong and it looks like this was one of those times. If the cards needed it, then there's no way AMD wouldn't mention it.
Flicker usually indicates a bad bridge(via AMD, FutureMark and XFX support).

Could have been one of your card's Crossfire fingers was funky.
Agreed! Could be a bad bridge. Dave are you still on Catalyst 12.10? If yes then why? What problems do you have with the new drivers?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#30
Dave are you still on Catalyst 12.10? If yes then why? What problems do you have with the new drivers?
My system specs are nearly never accurate. I am using the 13.6 Beta 2 right now on P9X79 Deluxe with just one VGA. I'll get rid of them right now. :p

That was my thought too at the time, however I have plenty of CrossFire bridges to test and it didn't matter.

Doesn't matter anyway, but in general, with strange flicker, first thing to check is bridges and fingers.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,548 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,052
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#31
AMD's driver itself (CURRENTLY) will tell you to connect BOTH bridges when none are connected. But you aren't an AMD GPU user, so I'm not sure why you are even offering info, because you'd have no idea that that was the case. :p

That's why I made the first comment I did in this thread. The driver tells you to connect both. Why? I dunno.

I've actually been waiting for someone to bring up this topic, since I saw this many times in the past 6-8 months.
1 bridge = Insane flicker-fest

2 bridges = Happy gamingz!
Well there you go, that's consistent with what I said that AMD would tell you if they're needed. Therefore I'm not surprised that connecting just one would lead to erratic results.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#32

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,548 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,052
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#33
Yes really. You just seem to like negating everything I say. :rolleyes:

erocker's experience and the instructions in the driver prove it.

EDIT: I mean they prove what I'm saying.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
156 (0.09/day)
Likes
11
System Name Cerberus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2o 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X Direct CU II
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB + Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#34
Yes really. You just seem to like negating everything I say. :rolleyes:

erocker's experience and the instructions in the driver prove it.
Oh please don't start arguing for such a stupid thing now...
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,548 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,052
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#35
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
1,066 (0.24/day)
Likes
193
Location
Look behind you!!
System Name NEW
Processor Intel 4770 non-K
Motherboard Gigabyte H81M-DS2V
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16gb Muskin
Video Card(s) XFX 380X 4gb
Storage Sandisk 120gb plus WD blue 1tb
Display(s) AOC 23.5 LED bl
Case XIGMATEK
Audio Device(s) motherboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 500
#36
That's from a bit overt 2 years ago, and drivers have changed so much that this is a question worth asking again. The whole "ask google" things is getting really old, BTW. Sometimes people would like a conversation about a subject to answer questions, or just sort things out in their head. The only dumb questions are those not asked. :)


However, personally, I see ZERO difference. I could grab a second card off my shelf and check it again, but I don't have matched pairs now, just 7970 and 7950. Waiting for my second 7970 to be returned from being out on loan.

Can I borrow your 7950 when your 7970 gets back :D:D :shadedshu





I remember when cf and sli was first released they said it would all be incorporated into the motherboard eventually .... not sure how long EVENTUALLY is tho
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#37
Can I borrow your 7950 when your 7970 gets back :D:D :shadedshu





I remember when cf and sli was first released they said it would all be incorporated into the motherboard eventually .... not sure how long EVENTUALLY is tho
Early SLI had PCBs to swap around, or pin jumpers to move.

Early Crossfire had an external cable to connect both cards.


I've run multi-GPU since it came out, from both sides, and it HAS gotten better, and less complex for the end user. Those external cables for crossfire were a huge pain in the butt, and I had to replace more than one of them, for $50 each.

SLI was much simpler, the ASUS boards I used has PCBs to flip, while DFI had jumpers on the board. That still included having to connect a bridge between the cards.

Today, with both, we just connect the bridge. I understand that both CrossFire and SLI now use PCIe as well as the bridges, although I am pretty sure that SLI ALWAYS requires a bridge, but Crossfire can be done without it on lower-grade cards. I've always wondered why they couldn't offer the same with the high-end cards too, but having that cable linking the cards, just makes a physical impression that I don't really want to go away.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
1,066 (0.24/day)
Likes
193
Location
Look behind you!!
System Name NEW
Processor Intel 4770 non-K
Motherboard Gigabyte H81M-DS2V
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16gb Muskin
Video Card(s) XFX 380X 4gb
Storage Sandisk 120gb plus WD blue 1tb
Display(s) AOC 23.5 LED bl
Case XIGMATEK
Audio Device(s) motherboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 500
#38
Early SLI had PCBs to swap around, or pin jumpers to move.

Early Crossfire had an external cable to connect both cards.


I've run multi-GPU since it came out, from both sides, and it HAS gotten better, and less complex for the end user. Those external cables for crossfire were a huge pain in the butt, and I had to replace more than one of them, for $50 each.

SLI was much simpler, the ASUS boards I used has PCBs to flip, while DFI had jumpers on the board. That still included having to connect a bridge between the cards.

Today, with both, we just connect the bridge. I understand that both CrossFire and SLI now use PCIe as well as the bridges, although I am pretty sure that SLI ALWAYS requires a bridge, but Crossfire can be done without it on lower-grade cards. I've always wondered why they couldn't offer the same with the high-end cards too, but having that cable linking the cards, just makes a physical impression that I don't really want to go away.
Yep.Had the old Sapphire 1900XT CF edtion.(the 2900xt cf too) in conjuction with the 1900xtx.
When it worked it worked good but would go ALL TO HELL sometimes :banghead:
 

Ephremius

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2013
Messages
60 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Processor 2500k @ 4.7
Cooling Noctua NH-D14, with IC Diamond 24 carat on GPU + CPU
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 X.M.P.
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200 core 1500 mem
Display(s) 2560 x 1440 27" 5ms @ 105hz
Software Windows 8 Pro
#39
I feel special, I actually got people to test an idea... SHELDON AND FELLOW BIG BANG THEORY FELLAS, HERE I COME!!!! YEHU ~
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,370 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,507
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#40
Yep.Had the old Sapphire 1900XT CF edtion.(the 2900xt cf too) in conjuction with the 1900xtx.
When it worked it worked good but would go ALL TO HELL sometimes :banghead:
I did the X1900XT Crossfire thing too. After that I have just always bought the Flagship ATI/AMD card ever since...
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#41
GRID 2 single GPU:




GRID 2 CrossFire:




Cards running at 1100/1500 for both tests. The graph definitely shows something however with this game in particular you cannot notice any kind of stutter, runts, skipped frames whatsoever.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#42
GRID 2 single GPU:

http://img.techpowerup.org/130627/grid2single.png


GRID 2 CrossFire:

http://img.techpowerup.org/130627/grid2_xfireTime.png


Cards running at 1100/1500 for both tests. The graph definitely shows something however with this game in particular you cannot notice any kind of stutter, runts, skipped frames whatsoever.
:respect:

Gives a good idea of the effect of adding the second card aggravating the problem.

At the same time, it has been mentioned that FRAPS (no matter what part of it you use) doesn't show the full story, and that you need to capture the data over the DVI or whatever cable, not from within the same system. Perhaps the output over the cable is smooth, but this software has it's own impact on performance metrics and shows issues that aren't present over the DVI cable. AMD could have already implemented some sort of fix for many games..they do seem to have indicated that they have been working on per-game fixes for some time.