• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Min temps bug?

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,462 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,127
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#2
Did you run the sensor test?
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
208 (0.09/day)
Likes
35
Location
Kilmarnock Scotland
System Name White Phantom
Processor i5 2500K @ 4.4ghz = 1.360-1.368 vcore
Motherboard asrock p67 pro (not pro3)
Cooling prolimatech megahalem with 2x nocuta in push pull (thanks to the 54thvoid) ;) , stock phantom fans
Memory 8gb pny optima ddr3 1333mhz cas 9... oc'd to 1600mhz 1.56v's
Video Card(s) asus 560ti 1gb TOP bf3 edition (stock 900mhz oc)
Storage primary seagate 7200rpm 80 gig, secondary maxtor 250gig ,external maxtor 750 gig
Display(s) samsung syncmaster p2450 via DVI @1080p 60hz
Case White and blue NZXT Phantom (carbon fibred sides/door)
Audio Device(s) onboard , philips AMBX pro speakers 80watts rms
Power Supply corsair TX 650 watt
Software windows 7 ultimate 64bit service pack 1 64bit
Benchmark Scores world record for most amount of times machine has pissed me off ....
#4
you mean during that reading or if i did run sensor test someday?
erocker means did you run the sensor test in general? basically the sensor test heats up the cpu and then cools it down measuring the difference over ten minutes untill cooldown, something along they lines anyways, its basically like calibration for the program

heres my 2500K stock on a megahalem after the sensor test in what i would call a general everyday temperature room (just nice not to cold not to warm sorry dont have a thermometer :laugh:)
 

Attachments

C4rnage

New Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#5
i really dont remember if i did sensor test on this cpu or not, but i did after erocker post
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
208 (0.09/day)
Likes
35
Location
Kilmarnock Scotland
System Name White Phantom
Processor i5 2500K @ 4.4ghz = 1.360-1.368 vcore
Motherboard asrock p67 pro (not pro3)
Cooling prolimatech megahalem with 2x nocuta in push pull (thanks to the 54thvoid) ;) , stock phantom fans
Memory 8gb pny optima ddr3 1333mhz cas 9... oc'd to 1600mhz 1.56v's
Video Card(s) asus 560ti 1gb TOP bf3 edition (stock 900mhz oc)
Storage primary seagate 7200rpm 80 gig, secondary maxtor 250gig ,external maxtor 750 gig
Display(s) samsung syncmaster p2450 via DVI @1080p 60hz
Case White and blue NZXT Phantom (carbon fibred sides/door)
Audio Device(s) onboard , philips AMBX pro speakers 80watts rms
Power Supply corsair TX 650 watt
Software windows 7 ultimate 64bit service pack 1 64bit
Benchmark Scores world record for most amount of times machine has pissed me off ....
#6
i really dont remember if i did sensor test on this cpu or not, but i did after erocker post
how did that go? still the same?
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,144 (0.33/day)
Likes
681
#8
You might want to try running another monitoring app while RealTemp is running. If they both report 2C and you are not using any extraordinary cooling, my guess would be bad sensors.

Try running RealTemp with the Log File option selected and post that if it shows anything interesting. Copy and paste it into www.pastebin.com and then post a link so I can have a look.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,144 (0.33/day)
Likes
681
#10
Given that this problem happened on the same 2 cores, I have to assume that those 2 core temperature sensors have a problem. Intel never intended these sensors to be used for accurate core temperature reporting, especially when the CPU is lightly loaded or idle. If other monitoring programs never report this happening then you will have to use one of them instead.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,144 (0.33/day)
Likes
681
#12
The log file is usually in the directory where RealTemp is running unless you have told RealTemp to write the log file somewhere else. Right mouse click on RealTemp for the option to relocate your log file.

You might want to try running ThrottleStop for logging purposes. You can use the More Data option in it to gather temperature data 8 times per second. It might help you find this problem quicker.

ThrottleStop 4.00
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2090/ThrottleStop_4.00.html
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,659 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,608
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#13
@unclewebb > Have you noticed that the time stamps of the minimum temps are always the same on the two cores that are reporting low temps; but different from the two that are reporting, seemingly normal temps.

Seems to be an odd behavior.
Just an observation.:)
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,144 (0.33/day)
Likes
681
#14
95Viper: I did notice the time stamps being the same on both cores but I am not sure what that means.

That chunk of RealTemp code hasn't really changed that much in the last few years and I haven't heard anyone else report this odd behavior so at the moment I am blaming the sensors.

C4rnage: I noticed that you are overclocking your 2500K. What sort of stability testing have you done? Is your computer Prime95 Small FFTs and Blend stable for at least a couple of hours?
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#15
Min temps on my quad are fine.


I'm a little miffed that core1 is sucking all the cooling away from core4 though. lol
(core1 is reporting lower than ambient)
 

C4rnage

New Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#16
95Viper: I did notice the time stamps being the same on both cores but I am not sure what that means.

That chunk of RealTemp code hasn't really changed that much in the last few years and I haven't heard anyone else report this odd behavior so at the moment I am blaming the sensors.

C4rnage: I noticed that you are overclocking your 2500K. What sort of stability testing have you done? Is your computer Prime95 Small FFTs and Blend stable for at least a couple of hours?
yes, i am running my 2500k on 4.3ghz my only problem so far with it is that i need too much voltage, based on other peoples oc to that clock. using 1.36V.

and yea i did run prime95 for some hours and other cpu stress programs too. everything fine except for too much voltage imo.

also i was running realtemp from a shortcut and it didnt log.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,659 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,608
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#17
95Viper: I did notice the time stamps being the same on both cores but I am not sure what that means.

That chunk of RealTemp code hasn't really changed that much in the last few years and I haven't heard anyone else report this odd behavior so at the moment I am blaming the sensors.
I am inclined to believe the same.
Looks as if at low temps the sensors are not accurate or giving erroneous data(as, I have read somewhere that Intel only uses the sensors for processor protection from an over-limit (TDP) condition, not actually temp monitoring through a complete range of temps.)
Anyway, it looks to be ok after the app gets under way.


I would be curious; if, he were to open a second instance of realtemp, would the min temps be correct or give the same results. Actually, it should vary, does every time I try it.


Min temps on my quad are fine.
http://img.techpowerup.org/120416/Capture050.jpg

I'm a little miffed that core1 is sucking all the cooling away from core4 though. lol
(core1 is reporting lower than ambient)
Not meaning to steal the thread, but since Kreij made the statement...

With cooler and board you are using, you may want to check and see, if, the cooler pipes or bracket is resting on the capacitors that surround the processor socket.
I had the same reading when I used a board and cooler of similar layout.
And, the cooler was not sitting flush on the CPU, for that reason.

Just a thought there.:)
 
Last edited:

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,144 (0.33/day)
Likes
681
#18
Kreij: 45nm Core 2 based sensors like your QX9650 has get the award for being Intel's worst temperature sensors. Core sensors reading way too low or getting stuck at 40C or 50C and not being able to go any lower were a couple of common issues with these sensors.

C4rnage: ...also i was running realtemp from a shortcut and it didnt log.
If you have unzipped RealTemp into a folder and you have write access to where you located that folder and you don't have the log file open in Notepad or Wordpad preventing new data from being written to the log file, it should work fine. Make sure you also checked Log File in the Settings window and clicked on OK.

A log file would be interesting because it would show if this minimum temperature is a random minimum for 1 second or if it lasts longer than that. Intel's sensors are far from being accurate temperature monitoring devices but I do find they are usually consistent. Random low temperature drop outs are not very common. This is the first I have heard of it.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#19
Kreij: 45nm Core 2 based sensors like your QX9650 has get the award for being Intel's worst temperature sensors. Core sensors reading way too low or getting stuck at 40C or 50C and not being able to go any lower were a couple of common issues with these sensors.
I know, unc, when I give the proc a little grief all the temps even out nicely and then drop to their goffy idle states, so no problems. I run it at stock, but I must admit I can push my little QX and it behaves quite well with my air cooler.