• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Minimum insulation necessary for a TEC chiller?

Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.71/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#26
The actual cooling part of the cooler is not hook to the cpu socket right? It just uses a chiller instead of a radiator if i'm correct. What I would do is find a small heat soruce and attach it to the cpu block, away from your motherboard and such. Then run the loop for awhile and see where and how much condensation forms. If you could of course. Also you would need a heat soruce that would be close to what the cpu puts outs. I am having the same train of though as Erocker is having as you may not need any insulation at all.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
230 (0.07/day)
Likes
51
Location
Chicago
System Name Achilleus
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z87N-WIFI
Memory Patriot Intel Extreme Masters Viper 3 2133MHz (2x4GB)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970
Storage 2x Intel X25-M 160GB, 2x WD Caviar Black 1TB in RAID 1
Display(s) LG 29UB65-P
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply PCP&C Silencer MK III 600W
Software Win7 Professional x64
#27
Joined
Sep 8, 2012
Messages
829 (0.43/day)
Likes
323
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name The White Breeze||Medion Akoya Ultrabook
Processor i7-3770k||Core i5-3317U
Motherboard MSI Z77 MPOWER||Laptop?
Cooling Custom TEC waterloop||Laptop?
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX @ 2133MHz||8GB SDRAM
Video Card(s) 2X SLI MSI GeForce GTX 680 Lightning||Intel 4000
Storage Corsair GT 120GB, WD Caviar Black 1TB||500GB HDD with 32gb MSATA cache
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 4k||14" LED
Case NZXT Switch 810||Laptop shell?
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi surround pro 5.1||Dolby Home Theatre V4
Power Supply Seasonic XP-860 Platinum||Laptop Power Brick
Software Windows 7||Windows 8
#28
Isn't the TEC just hooked into the resevoir or do you have it mounted on the block now? I don't see any reason to insulate the motherboard if you're just cooling the water.
The actual cooling part of the cooler is not hook to the cpu socket right? It just uses a chiller instead of a radiator if i'm correct. What I would do is find a small heat soruce and attach it to the cpu block, away from your motherboard and such. Then run the loop for awhile and see where and how much condensation forms. If you could of course. Also you would need a heat soruce that would be close to what the cpu puts outs. I am having the same train of though as Erocker is having as you may not need any insulation at all.
The TEC is in a custom Chiller:


As I said in my original post, the current dew point in australia, is around 19C. That means, that if anything is below 19C, dew/condensation will start to form. And because this is a TEC, it will take it colder then 19C. This means the condensation will form on the tubing and the sides of the waterblock.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,779 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,772
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#29
As I said in my original post, the current dew point in australia, is around 19C. That means, that if anything is below 19C, dew/condensation will start to form. And because this is a TEC, it will take it colder then 19C. This means the condensation will form on the tubing and the sides of the waterblock.
Wow, no shit, so there's a lot to insulate. Have you found any type of insulation for the tubing? Something like the stuff they put on home plumbing pipes to stop sweating/heat loss... it'd have to be flexible.

How cold does the liquid get coming out of the TEC unit?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#30
Why not try running the loop for a while on its own to see what kind of water temps you get and how much condensation you get. :)
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.71/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#31
What Erocker said. Apply some sort of heat to the cpu block and run the loop by itself and see where the condensation builds. The heat from the cpu might be enough to combat most of the condensation and keep the temps in the cpu block and tubes from getting low enough to condensate.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2012
Messages
829 (0.43/day)
Likes
323
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name The White Breeze||Medion Akoya Ultrabook
Processor i7-3770k||Core i5-3317U
Motherboard MSI Z77 MPOWER||Laptop?
Cooling Custom TEC waterloop||Laptop?
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX @ 2133MHz||8GB SDRAM
Video Card(s) 2X SLI MSI GeForce GTX 680 Lightning||Intel 4000
Storage Corsair GT 120GB, WD Caviar Black 1TB||500GB HDD with 32gb MSATA cache
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 4k||14" LED
Case NZXT Switch 810||Laptop shell?
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi surround pro 5.1||Dolby Home Theatre V4
Power Supply Seasonic XP-860 Platinum||Laptop Power Brick
Software Windows 7||Windows 8
#32
Wow, no shit, so there's a lot to insulate. Have you found any type of insulation for the tubing? Something like the stuff they put on home plumbing pipes to stop sweating/heat loss... it'd have to be flexible.

How cold does the liquid get coming out of the TEC unit?
Why not try running the loop for a while on its own to see what kind of water temps you get and how much condensation you get. :)
What Erocker said. Apply some sort of heat to the cpu block and run the loop by itself and see where the condensation builds. The heat from the cpu might be enough to combat most of the condensation and keep the temps in the cpu block and tubes from getting low enough to condensate.
I was looking at getting some foam tape, just for bits that get condensation. From the person I am getting it from, he was getting 15C on the block, I will probably get less, as I wil have a pump/res combo, which has a custom pump block, and I will have a better block. I am currently not able to do anything, as I am away from home. I just wanted to find out now, as if I needed anything special, it would be cheaper to order it where I am currently.
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.91/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#33
At the very least you will need to insulate the CPU skt area/CPU block. Shouldn't need much, those products i mentioned earlier should suffice. And yes to insulating the tubes, it will improve efficiency and reduce unwanted condensation...

:toast:
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2012
Messages
829 (0.43/day)
Likes
323
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name The White Breeze||Medion Akoya Ultrabook
Processor i7-3770k||Core i5-3317U
Motherboard MSI Z77 MPOWER||Laptop?
Cooling Custom TEC waterloop||Laptop?
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX @ 2133MHz||8GB SDRAM
Video Card(s) 2X SLI MSI GeForce GTX 680 Lightning||Intel 4000
Storage Corsair GT 120GB, WD Caviar Black 1TB||500GB HDD with 32gb MSATA cache
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 4k||14" LED
Case NZXT Switch 810||Laptop shell?
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi surround pro 5.1||Dolby Home Theatre V4
Power Supply Seasonic XP-860 Platinum||Laptop Power Brick
Software Windows 7||Windows 8
#34
At the very least you will need to insulate the CPU skt area/CPU block. Shouldn't need much, those products i mentioned earlier should suffice. And yes to insulating the tubes, it will improve efficiency and reduce unwanted condensation...

:toast:
By insulating the cpu block, you don't mean putting dielectric grease in the pins? I really didn't want to go to that extent... i'm not going sub zero.
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,661 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,194
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#35
Not that I know much about these setups but is it possible to run the hot water from the cpu block through the TEC (to cool it off) and then to the radiator (to warm it back up to ambient) so condensation is a non-issue at the cpu block?

If it will work that way then the only area that would have a condensation issue would be the discharge of the TEC..... which should be easier to isolate from the other hardware.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2012
Messages
829 (0.43/day)
Likes
323
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name The White Breeze||Medion Akoya Ultrabook
Processor i7-3770k||Core i5-3317U
Motherboard MSI Z77 MPOWER||Laptop?
Cooling Custom TEC waterloop||Laptop?
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX @ 2133MHz||8GB SDRAM
Video Card(s) 2X SLI MSI GeForce GTX 680 Lightning||Intel 4000
Storage Corsair GT 120GB, WD Caviar Black 1TB||500GB HDD with 32gb MSATA cache
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 4k||14" LED
Case NZXT Switch 810||Laptop shell?
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi surround pro 5.1||Dolby Home Theatre V4
Power Supply Seasonic XP-860 Platinum||Laptop Power Brick
Software Windows 7||Windows 8
#36
Not that I know much about these setups but is it possible to run the hot water from the cpu block through the TEC (to cool it off) and then to the radiator (to warm it back up to ambient) so condensation is a non-issue at the cpu block?

If it will work that way then the only area that would have a condensation issue would be the discharge of the TEC..... which should be easier to isolate from the other hardware.
Thats a very interesting idea, though it has 2 problems, it technically renders the TEC pointless, and the radiator would probably warm it too much in the current weather.
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.91/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#37
By insulating the cpu block, you don't mean putting dielectric grease in the pins? I really didn't want to go to that extent... i'm not going sub zero.
I can't say for sure :eek: That why i suggested having a look at the TecCooling subforum @ that other place...

Wish i had a definite answer for ya :ohwell: