• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

minimum PSU to power...

Joined
Jul 19, 2009
Messages
228 (0.07/day)
Likes
11
System Name Adult Entertainment
Processor i7 2600K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 212 Evo with two Noctua 12cm fans
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 690
Storage two 3TB hard drives
Display(s) 27" Asus
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Soundcard FTW!
Power Supply Seasonic X850
Software Windows 10 64bit | Linux Mint | Windows XP 32bit
Benchmark Scores Score: OMFGWTFBBQSPEED!
#1
What would be the bare minimal PSU to power 2 285gts sli and a moderately OC'ed i7 920? Also include is 2 hardrives, a bluray player and micro atx mobo. Thanks in advance!
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#2
A good 850W should do nicely. Or if you want room to power future upgrades or trying to do some high clocks a nice 1kw should do some good.

Particularly Corsair, OCZ, PC Power and Cooling, Thermaltake are all good brands.:)

edit: Also, you may be able to get away with a good 750w if you not doing much to any OCing, but that would be the bare minimum.
 
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
1,258 (0.36/day)
Likes
221
Location
North Carolina
#3
Yeah, I would agree with CDdude55. You're looking at 500+W on full load. I would get a 800W model at minimum. I recommend, Corsair, Enermax and PC P&C. Any PSU by those brands will be excellent.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
corsair TX 750W is a good one.

While i agree in general an 850W is good, the corsair 750s are probably more powerful than other brands 850's
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2009
Messages
228 (0.07/day)
Likes
11
System Name Adult Entertainment
Processor i7 2600K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 212 Evo with two Noctua 12cm fans
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 690
Storage two 3TB hard drives
Display(s) 27" Asus
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Soundcard FTW!
Power Supply Seasonic X850
Software Windows 10 64bit | Linux Mint | Windows XP 32bit
Benchmark Scores Score: OMFGWTFBBQSPEED!
#5
corsair TX 750W is a good one.

While i agree in general an 850W is good, the corsair 750s are probably more powerful than other brands 850's
Really? Why is that?
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#6

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#7
Really? Why is that?
you can have a 750W PSU with 500W on the 12V rail and 250W elsewhere, or you can have 250W on the 12V rail and 500W elsewhere. Both are legal to sell like that.

The corsair 750WTX that i have, has 720W on the 12V rail, and another 200W or something on the other rails. they under-rate it.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2009
Messages
228 (0.07/day)
Likes
11
System Name Adult Entertainment
Processor i7 2600K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 212 Evo with two Noctua 12cm fans
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 690
Storage two 3TB hard drives
Display(s) 27" Asus
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Soundcard FTW!
Power Supply Seasonic X850
Software Windows 10 64bit | Linux Mint | Windows XP 32bit
Benchmark Scores Score: OMFGWTFBBQSPEED!
#8
Ah ok, I think I understand what you're saying. lol

Currently I'm using a Thermaltake 700W from my previous rig. This model in newegg looks like the same specs as mine, and almost the same model number, mine does not have the "RU" after the model name:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153039

I'm still running 2 old 8800gts sli, I have 1 285gtx coming soon next week, and hopefully another 285gtx coming in the future.

Can my current PSU handle it, or do I really need to upgrade?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
well, lets look at its specs for 12V (12V is all that matters really, video cards, hard drives and CPU all get their power from there)


+3.3@30A,+5V@28A,+12V1@18A,+12V2@18A,+12V3@18A,+ 12V4@18A,-12V@0.8A,+5VSB@3.0A

That has four 12V rails at 18A. 12*18 = 216W

The thing with multiple rail PSU's, is that lets say you run a video card with two leads. Lead 1 shares with your CPU, lead two is on its own.

The first rail could have 100W left after the CPU eats its share, and theres a whole 216W on the second. However if your video card wants to draw 110W, MORE than there is leftover on that first rail - it cant just grab from the second. the rail will overload and shut down, and the PC will crash and power off.

Multiple rails was a way to get PSU's more powerful due to a flaw in the ATX specifications (that has since been fixed) and so its kinda iffy - unless you know what draws power from what rail, its a guessing game whether it'll work or not.

I beleive two 285's is too much for that PSU.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2009
Messages
228 (0.07/day)
Likes
11
System Name Adult Entertainment
Processor i7 2600K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 212 Evo with two Noctua 12cm fans
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 690
Storage two 3TB hard drives
Display(s) 27" Asus
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Soundcard FTW!
Power Supply Seasonic X850
Software Windows 10 64bit | Linux Mint | Windows XP 32bit
Benchmark Scores Score: OMFGWTFBBQSPEED!
#10
well, lets look at its specs for 12V (12V is all that matters really, video cards, hard drives and CPU all get their power from there)


+3.3@30A,+5V@28A,+12V1@18A,+12V2@18A,+12V3@18A,+ 12V4@18A,-12V@0.8A,+5VSB@3.0A

That has four 12V rails at 18A. 12*18 = 216W

The thing with multiple rail PSU's, is that lets say you run a video card with two leads. Lead 1 shares with your CPU, lead two is on its own.

The first rail could have 100W left after the CPU eats its share, and theres a whole 216W on the second. However if your video card wants to draw 110W, MORE than there is leftover on that first rail - it cant just grab from the second. the rail will overload and shut down, and the PC will crash and power off.

Multiple rails was a way to get PSU's more powerful due to a flaw in the ATX specifications (that has since been fixed) and so its kinda iffy - unless you know what draws power from what rail, its a guessing game whether it'll work or not.

I beleive two 285's is too much for that PSU.
I just realized this only have 2 PCIE plugs! :banghead: So much for 285 sli. lol
I'm stuck with 1 285 for now.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2009
Messages
228 (0.07/day)
Likes
11
System Name Adult Entertainment
Processor i7 2600K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 212 Evo with two Noctua 12cm fans
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 690
Storage two 3TB hard drives
Display(s) 27" Asus
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Soundcard FTW!
Power Supply Seasonic X850
Software Windows 10 64bit | Linux Mint | Windows XP 32bit
Benchmark Scores Score: OMFGWTFBBQSPEED!
#11
you can have a 750W PSU with 500W on the 12V rail and 250W elsewhere, or you can have 250W on the 12V rail and 500W elsewhere. Both are legal to sell like that.

The corsair 750WTX that i have, has 720W on the 12V rail, and another 200W or something on the other rails. they under-rate it.
Does that mean your PSU is really 900+W? Is there a way to measure that within a software, or do I need those voltage meter thingies?
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#12
Does that mean your PSU is really 900+W? Is there a way to measure that within a software, or do I need those voltage meter thingies?
There is software for volt measuring, but i do believe using a voltage meter is more concrete.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.97/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#13
i has tx750, good psu
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#14
Does that mean your PSU is really 900+W? Is there a way to measure that within a software, or do I need those voltage meter thingies?
there is no way to measure in software.




Its hard to see, but you can do the math.
180+720+9.6+15 = 925W, give or take.


its all about how you measure the wattages - corsair dont want you to run 750W and blow up, they want you to run 750W for the 5 years the warranty lasts without a hitch - if that means getting a 900W PSU and selling it as a 750W, then so be it.

Thats why we all love corsair PSU's around here.
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#15
there is no way to measure in software.
I do believe there are software utilities that do measure the voltage of your hardware and other stuffs.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#16
I do believe there are software utilities that do measure the voltage of your hardware and other stuffs.
they might as well guess.

If you want to know voltages, you need a voltmeter and test every rail by hand.

if you want to know system power consumption, buy yourself a wall meter, and test at the power socket. Other than that, there is no ACCURATE way.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
806 (0.20/day)
Likes
188
Location
Tampa FL
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard Asus Prime X370 Pro
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H110i
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 Mhz CAS 15
Video Card(s) Asus Radeon RoG RX 480 Strix OC 8GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 1 TB
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 25" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master Master Case 5 Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX 850
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#17
I just realized this only have 2 PCIE plugs! :banghead: So much for 285 sli. lol
I'm stuck with 1 285 for now.

Get either the Corsair TX750W or TX850W both have 4 6+2 (8 pin all together) connectors. Only difference is price and the amperage on the 12 volt rail. 60A for the 750 and 70A for the 850.

Or if money is no object there's always the HX850 which is Modular has the same single 70A 12 volt rail as the TX850 and 6 PCIe Connectors. But it costs $55 more than the TX850 and $75 more than the TX750.

But like Mussels said earlier the whole key is the single 12V rail, it's the only way to be sure the cards are getting enough power.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2009
Messages
228 (0.07/day)
Likes
11
System Name Adult Entertainment
Processor i7 2600K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 212 Evo with two Noctua 12cm fans
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 690
Storage two 3TB hard drives
Display(s) 27" Asus
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Soundcard FTW!
Power Supply Seasonic X850
Software Windows 10 64bit | Linux Mint | Windows XP 32bit
Benchmark Scores Score: OMFGWTFBBQSPEED!
#18
there is no way to measure in software.

http://www.techwarelabs.com/reviews/PowerSupply/corsair-tx750/images/specs-sm.jpg


Its hard to see, but you can do the math.
180+720+9.6+15 = 925W, give or take.


its all about how you measure the wattages - corsair dont want you to run 750W and blow up, they want you to run 750W for the 5 years the warranty lasts without a hitch - if that means getting a 900W PSU and selling it as a 750W, then so be it.

Thats why we all love corsair PSU's around here.
I need some educating here. Does that pic show 1 +12V rail running @ 60A/720W? Does your PSU have only rail? How many rails and at what power each do I need to run 2-SLI and 3-SLI? Or does it no matter how many rails? And will that PSU in that pic of yours be able to power 2 and/or 3 285gtx's w/o a hitch?
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2008
Messages
661 (0.19/day)
Likes
73
#19
The PC Power and Cooling S7QB (750 Watts, single 60 amp rail) is about ~$20 cheaper (depending on where you live, and where you buy it from) than the Corsair TX750.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#20

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#21
I need some educating here. Does that pic show 1 +12V rail running @ 60A/720W? Does your PSU have only rail? How many rails and at what power each do I need to run 2-SLI and 3-SLI? Or does it no matter how many rails? And will that PSU in that pic of yours be able to power 2 and/or 3 285gtx's w/o a hitch?
you can see the other rails in the picture.

You want as few rails as possible. video cards: easy. count the PCI-E connectors :p


This PSU (and higher up corsair models) probably could handle three 285's - it only has four PCI-E connectors, however.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Messages
62 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Madrid, Spain
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory GSkill RipjawX DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire Radeon HD5850 Xtreme
Storage Mushkin Callisto Deluxe 60 GB + 3 SATA2 HDD, various models & size
Display(s) Samsung 275T
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Auzentech XFi Forte 7.1
Power Supply be quiet! Dark Power Pro 1200 W
Software Windows 7 x64 HP
#22
How many rails and at what power each do I need to run 2-SLI and 3-SLI? Or does it no matter how many rails?
The number of rails is irrelevant as long as it can deliver its rated power and the rail's voltage is clean of noise imo
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#23
The number of rails is irrelevant as long as it can deliver its rated power and the rail's voltage is clean of noise imo
it would be irrelevant, up until the point one rail overloads when the rest have heaps to spare, and your system stops working.


if you have a dual rail PSU and want to add some PCI-E connectors via molex adapters, you know they're coming from a rail that's already in use - things could go bad.
Its the main reason we have thread after thread here on TPU about "sudden shutdowns"
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Messages
62 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Madrid, Spain
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory GSkill RipjawX DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire Radeon HD5850 Xtreme
Storage Mushkin Callisto Deluxe 60 GB + 3 SATA2 HDD, various models & size
Display(s) Samsung 275T
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Auzentech XFi Forte 7.1
Power Supply be quiet! Dark Power Pro 1200 W
Software Windows 7 x64 HP
#24
Yes, you're right. I wasn't thinking in that example at that moment, sorry.:banghead:

By the way, the Thermaltake Toughpower XT PSUs also have a single +12 V rail
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2009
Messages
228 (0.07/day)
Likes
11
System Name Adult Entertainment
Processor i7 2600K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 212 Evo with two Noctua 12cm fans
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 690
Storage two 3TB hard drives
Display(s) 27" Asus
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Soundcard FTW!
Power Supply Seasonic X850
Software Windows 10 64bit | Linux Mint | Windows XP 32bit
Benchmark Scores Score: OMFGWTFBBQSPEED!
#25
you can see the other rails in the picture.

You want as few rails as possible. video cards: easy. count the PCI-E connectors :p


This PSU (and higher up corsair models) probably could handle three 285's - it only has four PCI-E connectors, however.
Cool, I think I will get a 850HX in case I go tri-sli (not likely bbut who knows)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139011

I think a PSU is one of the last things that need upgrading.