• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Mint or Fedora 10 KDE for new Linux user

Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#1
Hey guys, I just picked up a laptop and I am wanting to replace the evil windows Vista with a kinder, gentler operating system, ala Linux. I was wondering if anyone had an opinion on which would be the better distro to choose: Mint (kde version if they got it) or Fedora 10. Also, what are the advantages of kde over gnome?

Also, the laptop is a Turion Rm72 (amd 64bit) - can I run a 64bit distro or do I have to settle for 32 bit? I've read linux doesnt support amd 64s or something similar..
 
Last edited:

Stephen

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
136 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
Legana, Tasmania, Australia
System Name Kubuntu Computer
Processor AMD Athlon 64 LE-1620 2.4 GHz
Motherboard Asus M2N-MX SE Plus
Memory 2 GB Patriot Signature Line DDR2 800 MHz
Video Card(s) Onboard GeForce 6100
Storage 160 GB Samsung Spinpoint
Display(s) Some piece of crap DiamondDigital 17" crt
Case Asus TM-220
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 300w stock
Software Kubuntu 8.10
#2
The only advantage of KDE over Gnome really is that it looks 1000x better! Oh and I think that Dolphin is the best file browser on the face of the earth!

imo I would much rather Fedora but it takes more knowledge than Mint.

If you want KDE you could try Kubuntu 8.10, that's what I'm using!

I have an Athlon 64 (64 bit) and my openSUSE 11.1 64 bit disc works fine.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#3
I prefer Fedora. It really isn't any harder to use than (K)ubunbtu at all. In fact, it's more compatible with software found in the wild than the Ubuntu derivatives.

All you need to do is add the Livna repository, and you'll pretty much have everything you'll need.

And it doesn't matter if you want 32 or 64bit, really. Your computer should be compatible with both. 32bit is a little easier to deal with, imo.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#4
alright thanks. I'm downloading the fedora 64 kde live cd now
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#5
+1 on using fedora and kde. if you have 4 gigs of ram then you will want the x64 version but if not then just go with x32.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
500 (0.10/day)
Likes
42
Processor dual G34 6128he
Motherboard h8dg6
Cooling OEM
Memory 48gb DDR3 ECC REG
Video Card(s) onboard
Storage 12x 3tb 4x 15k sas
Display(s) crappy lcd
Case chenbro rackmouunt
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply seasonic 3x redundant
Software ProxMox
#6
fedora is horrible for new Linux users. i always recommend Mepis or Elive. (more so mepis as its a bit more normal) whatever you pic make sure its .DEB based. if you stick with linux long enough you will end up there anyways.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#8
so far it has been a pain, yes. I've had to reinstall it a few times... I changed some desktop viewing setting and for some reason it turned my whole screen black except for the outlines of window boxes. lol. This time I'm going to use the package manager as much as I can first... also, I installed Livna (2.3kb file or something) but no idea how to use it. link?

also, any helpful links/bookmarks you guys have would be appreciated. the only one I have is from a sticky a few posts up that is the IBM linux exam thing...
 
Last edited:

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#9
fedora IMO is only slightly more challenging that ubuntu. as long as you read through the docs you shouldnt have a problem getting the proper drivers running.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#10
fedora is horrible for new Linux users. i always recommend Mepis or Elive. (more so mepis as its a bit more normal) whatever you pic make sure its .DEB based. if you stick with linux long enough you will end up there anyways.
You should have gone with Mint, Fedora is a PITA for new users...
I disagree. Fedora is almost as easy as Ubuntu to use. It only require a couple extra steps, and has better automatic configuration recovery than most distros, for when you do screw it up. And there is no benefit to using a deb distro over an rpm distro.

@Ninko - here is a quick guide on installing Livna. http://rpm.livna.org/ If you already have the rpm, a double click should get it started.

And use the Add/remove Programs applet to search and install programs. It's an easier to use front end for the package manager.

Once Livna is installed, it is just as good as Ubuntu and the likes in terms of ease of use, but a hell of a lot more standardized for when you do get proficient in Linux.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#11
ok guys, what am I doing wrong? I install Fedora fine..run it fine. Update fine. Reboot Fine. then when I reboot for a 3rd time I keep getting horrible errors that require me to re-install! ( of course I install a few things such as WINE and flash) Using Fedora 10 Gnome, btw..but the problem has also happened w/ KDE

After the blue bars load
tty4 main process ending, respawning...(or something similar)

ForceXPAon: 0
ForceXPAon: 0
ForceXPAon: 0
ForceXPAon: 0

keeps popping up whenever I try to boot the PC. I'm on my 5th+ install and its really getting annoying...any thoughts?

Do I need to try the 32 bit version?
 
Last edited:

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#12
ok guys, what am I doing wrong? I install Fedora fine..run it fine. Update fine. Reboot Fine. then when I reboot for a 3rd time I keep getting horrible errors that require me to re-install! ( of course I install a few things such as WINE and flash) Using Fedora 10 Gnome, btw..but the problem has also happened w/ KDE

After the blue bars load
tty4 main process ending, respawning...(or something similar)

ForceXPAon: 0
ForceXPAon: 0
ForceXPAon: 0
ForceXPAon: 0

keeps popping up whenever I try to boot the PC. I'm on my 5th+ install and its really getting annoying...any thoughts?

Do I need to try the 32 bit version?
unless youve got 4 gigs of ram go with the 32 bit version. however i dont think that is the root cause of the problem. it seems like an X issue which means most likely your GPU drivers arent acting properly with your setup.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
500 (0.10/day)
Likes
42
Processor dual G34 6128he
Motherboard h8dg6
Cooling OEM
Memory 48gb DDR3 ECC REG
Video Card(s) onboard
Storage 12x 3tb 4x 15k sas
Display(s) crappy lcd
Case chenbro rackmouunt
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply seasonic 3x redundant
Software ProxMox
#13
unless youve got 4 gigs of ram go with the 32 bit version. however i dont think that is the root cause of the problem. it seems like an X issue which means most likely your GPU drivers arent acting properly with your setup.
this isnt windows, if you CAN use a 64 bit distro DO use a 64 bit distro.

as for you problem at the bootloader menu do you have an option for like a single user kernel or any sort of repair mode kernel? i dont know if fedora does this but most other distros do.

if so boot it. and see if you can get a working comand line booted. we can go from there.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#14
this isnt windows, if you CAN use a 64 bit distro DO use a 64 bit distro.

as for you problem at the bootloader menu do you have an option for like a single user kernel or any sort of repair mode kernel? i dont know if fedora does this but most other distros do.

if so boot it. and see if you can get a working comand line booted. we can go from there.
IMO going with the x32 OS is much easier for a linux noob because he wont have to hassle with adding extra software and drivers. plus i dont believe the x64 version will give him any benefit at all on his laptop.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
500 (0.10/day)
Likes
42
Processor dual G34 6128he
Motherboard h8dg6
Cooling OEM
Memory 48gb DDR3 ECC REG
Video Card(s) onboard
Storage 12x 3tb 4x 15k sas
Display(s) crappy lcd
Case chenbro rackmouunt
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply seasonic 3x redundant
Software ProxMox
#15
in a well maintained distro there is nothing in the 32 bit that is not in the 64 bit. in linux 64 bit has been out and usable for a long time now.

what im saying is if there is a 'hassle' with software and drivers with a 64 bit install of your distro, then said distro is behind the times. (as always there are a few exceptions but heck theres even 64-bit flash plugin now, but the wrapper for 64 bit worked seamlessly for years so even that wasnt an issue)
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#16
it seems like an X issue which means most likely your GPU drivers arent acting properly with your setup.
The video card is an HD3200, so should I skip updating the video drivers via the linux update and try directly installing the ATI drivers? (using the ATI downloaded .run file) or just leave them alone completely? Of course I'd like to enable compiz effects, but at the same time I want a stable system.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#17
The video card is an HD3200, so should I skip updating the video drivers via the linux update and try directly installing the ATI drivers? (using the ATI downloaded .run file) or just leave them alone completely? Of course I'd like to enable compiz effects, but at the same time I want a stable system.
if you install the ati drivers from their site you may find a conflict in xorg. make sure you read through the directions before attempting this just so you have an idea of which lines in the xorg that you will have to change. it shouldnt be a big deal really. on the other hand, your gpu shouldnt be experiencing this issue. have you checked compatibility with your motherboard?
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#18
if you install the ati drivers from their site you may find a conflict in xorg. make sure you read through the directions before attempting this just so you have an idea of which lines in the xorg that you will have to change. it shouldnt be a big deal really. on the other hand, your gpu shouldnt be experiencing this issue. have you checked compatibility with your motherboard?
the video is integrated, so in theory it shouldnt conflict with the mother board. I havent checked mobo/linux compatabilities..

I'm trying again except this time I'm not updating the "nouveau" x-org display drivers and will be sticking with the base Fedora ATI drivers..they seem to work.

also, I'm trying to get my desktop effects to work and tried installing:

yum install xorg-x11-drv-radeonhd

but so far it hasnt seemed to work.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#19
unfortunately i only remember working with nvidia cards that were integrated. i had to install a specific program/driver set to get all my effects working.

just to be on the safe side check compatability of your mobo chipset and the OS. ive noticed sometimes that the chipset is supported yet it leaves out a few things.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#20
*sniff* looks like I got things to work.. at least thus far. got my network enabled, flash plugins and tons of repos and (what I think is my ati drivers). I think you were right about the incompatible video drivers, Rhino...by not "Updating," via auto update, video drivers I have kept the pc alive through several reboots now. thanks again

For reference, the video driver that I havent updated is the Xorg X11 Nouveau Video Driver.

edit: however, I am getting semi-choppy video(avi) playback..guess I will have to wait for ATI to release better linux drivers?
 
Last edited:

Stephen

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
136 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
Legana, Tasmania, Australia
System Name Kubuntu Computer
Processor AMD Athlon 64 LE-1620 2.4 GHz
Motherboard Asus M2N-MX SE Plus
Memory 2 GB Patriot Signature Line DDR2 800 MHz
Video Card(s) Onboard GeForce 6100
Storage 160 GB Samsung Spinpoint
Display(s) Some piece of crap DiamondDigital 17" crt
Case Asus TM-220
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 300w stock
Software Kubuntu 8.10
#21
Video playback problems in Linux usually aren't graphics card related.

I'm using Kubuntu and I had terrible dvd playback but looking on the Ubuntu site I had to download some package (lib...something it had the number 2 in it too) and then configure something. Can't remember much soz
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#22
*sniff* looks like I got things to work.. at least thus far. got my network enabled, flash plugins and tons of repos and (what I think is my ati drivers). I think you were right about the incompatible video drivers, Rhino...by not "Updating," via auto update, video drivers I have kept the pc alive through several reboots now. thanks again

For reference, the video driver that I havent updated is the Xorg X11 Nouveau Video Driver.

edit: however, I am getting semi-choppy video(avi) playback..guess I will have to wait for ATI to release better linux drivers?
have you run the glxgears program that is sort of a quick benchmark to see if your drivers are working? also, you may need to download some library files to improve dvd playback. i always had issues with that as well.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#23
Watch adding a bunch of repos. Sometimes they aren't compatible with each other. As far as DVD and AVI playback, install VLC.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#24
uh, got a linux box back up and running with fedora 10. i installed livna but it is nowhere to be found. edit: i realized it is in the repos now but i cant install my nvidia drivers.
 
Last edited:

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#25
can someone check for me if kmod-nvidia is still in livna? it is telling me no file.