• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Miss playing FEAR? Well now you can again! If you wanted to that is on your updated hardware that is :)

Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
167 (0.03/day)
Location
Dyer, TN
System Name POS built from new and used parts from everywhere in pieces cheap
Processor Amd Ryzen R5 3600X $180 used off Ars and a 3900X is only 5-8fps faster in games, so y spend more $$$
Motherboard msi x570 gaming edge wifi $180 refurb off Amazon
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 used off ebay for $65
Memory G.Skill RipJaws V Series 16GB DDR4 3600mhz $85 off Amazon
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5700 XT
Storage 1 tb ssd, 4 tb spinner, 4 tb spinner, 5 tb spinner, 2tb spinner, 4tb External
Display(s) 2 50" "chap" Hisense TV's
Case Cooler Master Kick butt case.
Audio Device(s) Marantz SR-5010
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x Modular Got manufacture refurbished for $85 Shipped on Amazon
Mouse Elecom Huge Marble Mouse $35 off ebay used and worth every penny!
Keyboard Cheap Gofreetech Mechanical I got for $16 off Eblay
Software Windows 10 Pro Bought key for $20 off HRK
Benchmark Scores It does something, plays games and stuff, do I really need to whip out my score penis at you?
Go into device manager and disable, not remove or uninstall, under human interface devices disable all the HID stuff you see, and BAM, you can now run FEAR in 4K glory :)
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
13,785 (2.95/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 16GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Xc
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 2x 6TB WD Black; 1x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 4TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
Can you explain what this is for? I’ve been able to play widescreen FEAR, Perseus Mandate, and FEAR 2 in widescreen as recently as 6 months ago without turning off any of my Hardware.
 

64K

Joined
Mar 13, 2014
Messages
4,766 (1.82/day)
Processor i7 7700k
Motherboard MSI Z270 SLI Plus
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB and WD Black 4TB
Display(s) Dell 27 inch 1440p 144 Hz
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 850 W Gold
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10
No problem playing FEAR for me either. I just replayed it again on Win 10 a few months ago. Never had an issue playing it on Windows 7 or XP either.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,358 (0.41/day)
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro RGB
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1418MHz
Storage Intel SSD 330, Crucial SSD MX300 & MX500
Display(s) Samsung C27FG73 144HZ
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse Asus Rog strix evolve
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS5 64Bit
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
Its mostly or only logitech issue, I had/have this bug too, with G15 and now g19s.

Also you dont have to disable it, you can replace /add a dinput8.dll file in basegame dir and it's fine.

 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
167 (0.03/day)
Location
Dyer, TN
System Name POS built from new and used parts from everywhere in pieces cheap
Processor Amd Ryzen R5 3600X $180 used off Ars and a 3900X is only 5-8fps faster in games, so y spend more $$$
Motherboard msi x570 gaming edge wifi $180 refurb off Amazon
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 used off ebay for $65
Memory G.Skill RipJaws V Series 16GB DDR4 3600mhz $85 off Amazon
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5700 XT
Storage 1 tb ssd, 4 tb spinner, 4 tb spinner, 5 tb spinner, 2tb spinner, 4tb External
Display(s) 2 50" "chap" Hisense TV's
Case Cooler Master Kick butt case.
Audio Device(s) Marantz SR-5010
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x Modular Got manufacture refurbished for $85 Shipped on Amazon
Mouse Elecom Huge Marble Mouse $35 off ebay used and worth every penny!
Keyboard Cheap Gofreetech Mechanical I got for $16 off Eblay
Software Windows 10 Pro Bought key for $20 off HRK
Benchmark Scores It does something, plays games and stuff, do I really need to whip out my score penis at you?
IDK if that is easier then just going in and disabling the HID components due to there being other games that may not run right unless you go in and change the dll file for each one you may come across. So far I just went in and spent 30 seconds disabling them, and nothing more such as hunting down the folder(s) they are in and replacing that file for each game you come into problems with. I would say if disabling the hid's doesnt take care of the problem to try that, as I will if I come across any more of mine since doing this way doesnt seem to work for a particular game.

As far as being a Logitech only problem, I can say its not because I dont have a logitech anything and I was having the problem for untill now my game wouldnt be playable at all getting 15fps or worse when ever I tried no matter what resolution I stuck it to, or dummed down the graphics to as well. But since disabling the HID's Im at 60-75fps at 4K with it all set to max, and am having fun again with it.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
5,648 (1.84/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite
Cooling Semi-custom loop
Memory 32GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 3x 480GB SSD, 2TB HDD, USB BD-ROM
Display(s) 2x 1080p
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C
Audio Device(s) Onboard audio, Superlux HD668B
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell Multimedia Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro English
Yeah, an issue with Logitech devices for some reason. I wondered when I streamed FEAR about 2½ years ago and even that rig (i5-7600K @ 4.7/16GB/GTX 980) should've run it with ~200fps with everything maxed in 1080p, but yeah, for playing some time the fps dropped to ~40ish. In fact I just dealt with it and streamed the first one with low framerate, and in Extraction Point that trick did what you said above.
 
Top