• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Missing memory ( ram )

Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
169 (0.11/day)
Likes
33
System Name Chimaera
Processor Intel I5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8B WS
Cooling CoolerMaster Eisberg 240L Prestige
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 XMP 4 x 2 GB Dual Channel Kits
Video Card(s) XFX R9-280
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black Sata III 2 x 1 TB Raid 0
Display(s) Dell P2213 Pro
Case CoolerMaster CM-690 III
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro M600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
#1
Hi , i have recently encountered a weird problem that i've never met before and it seems that i can't solve it . Half of my total memory is gone . BIOS reports 4096 mb , but in the same time , on the SPD info in bios i can see that every slot is populated with a 2048 mb stick . I am running 4 x 2 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 , XMP on a Asus Sabertooth P67 motherboard and a Intel i5-3570K cpu . I don't know if this is somehow related to the fact that i've upgraded my gpu to a R9-280 . Needless to say that i've tested each memory stick on each slot , one by one , then dual channel , then all of them , everything works . MemTest86+ shows no errors , Cpu-Z reports 8 Gb , Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit reports 4 gb . Downgraded the BIOS , same issue and another problem , my machine won't POST on UEFI mode with the R9 , it works only in legacy mode . Upgraded to the latest BIOS , same problem . Any help would be useful . Thanks .

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 1/12/2015, 14:37:45
Machine name: SABERTOOTH
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.140303-2144)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: System manufacturer
System Model: System Product Name
BIOS: BIOS Date: 11/01/12 09:54:59 Ver: 36.02
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.4GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 4064MB RAM
Page File: 2478MB used, 5646MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicode

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: AMD Radeon R9 200 Series
Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Chip type: AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x679A)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_679A&SUBSYS_30031682&REV_00
Display Memory: 4095 MB
Dedicated Memory: 3055 MB
Shared Memory: 1040 MB

Installed another video card , i still can't use all my ram although i've never had this issue since i've built this rig .
bios.jpg
HWINFO2.jpg
CPU-Z.jpg


One more thing i've missed to add . Before noticing that the machine runs slower , i got a warning that motherboard temp reached -1 C and my GPU temp was also extremely low .
EXTREME CONDITIONS 2.png
WARNING.jpg
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,910 (0.89/day)
Likes
1,028
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD, 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black, 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1803)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#2
Your mobo QVL does not recommend 4x2GB for 8 GB of the type of Corsair ram your using

try 2x4GB sticks instead
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
169 (0.11/day)
Likes
33
System Name Chimaera
Processor Intel I5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8B WS
Cooling CoolerMaster Eisberg 240L Prestige
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 XMP 4 x 2 GB Dual Channel Kits
Video Card(s) XFX R9-280
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black Sata III 2 x 1 TB Raid 0
Display(s) Dell P2213 Pro
Case CoolerMaster CM-690 III
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro M600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
#3
It worked without a problem for more than 2 years even that i am not sure that the QVL is accurate . Even OC was fine with those DIMMS . I don't have 2 x 4 Gb atm . I assume that Corsair Vengeance were released after Asus Sabertooth P67 and Asus forgot to update their QVL . They didn't make a new bios since 2012 also and that says a lot . Like this R9 won't boot in UEFI mode but the GTX560TI did . I just ran IPDT 64bit and the test completed with no errors .
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,910 (0.89/day)
Likes
1,028
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD, 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black, 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1803)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#4
maybe on channel of your memory controller has gone poo are you able to borrow another CPU to test
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
169 (0.11/day)
Likes
33
System Name Chimaera
Processor Intel I5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8B WS
Cooling CoolerMaster Eisberg 240L Prestige
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 XMP 4 x 2 GB Dual Channel Kits
Video Card(s) XFX R9-280
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black Sata III 2 x 1 TB Raid 0
Display(s) Dell P2213 Pro
Case CoolerMaster CM-690 III
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro M600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
#5
Test completed successfully with Intel Processor Diagnostic Tool 64 bit version . Everything passed . MCH , etc . I assume it's a bios bug or the motherboard is damaged although i don't have enough reasons to believe this . I've tested all ram sticks 30 mins ago , again . Everything works fine , it seems that the mobo is bricked on the 4 GB limit . I don't know how it happened , all started to go wrong since i bought this R9-280 . Machine won't POST in UEFI mode with this GPU . GeForce 7900GTX ( 2005 ) , works in UEFI mode . Also , tested HD5870 , HD6790 , GTX560Ti . They all work but the R9 won't . I've contacted Asus and some tech guy replied and asked for more infos , like the exact memory model , to work on my case .
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
320 (0.14/day)
Likes
126
Processor Core I7-2600k @4,8GHZ @1,4V
Motherboard Asus p8-Z68 V Gen3
Cooling 2x1080 Custom loop
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws x 16gb 1866 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti
Storage Raid 0 2 x Sasmsung 850 EVo
Display(s) ASUS Swift
Case Test Bench
Power Supply Be quiet! 850 P10
Mouse G5
Keyboard Old USB Dell Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#6
Kind of same error i had.
one day i only got half my ram 4x4gb and checked each ram individually and checked out fine.

What came to be even a bigger problem for me was that my Second PCI-E slot was not working anymore at all single card or in SLI the Slot was not working anymore.

I first thought my CPU gone bad since it was running OC since day 1, but after a lot of testing Reseating striping the hole system checking each component even cpu I narrowed it down to Mainboard.(
P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3)

Changed the Mainbaord all ram same cpu same Cards all working fine again even With OC.

Do test to put your card in your Second PCI-E Slot and see if it gets detected and running maybe you have the same wired Board dying issue i had.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,101 (0.52/day)
Likes
347
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
#7
Have you reseated your CPU lately? changed chips?
Try to make sure your cooler mount is even yet not too tight..
..and reseat all your RAMs.Maybe bump the IMC voltage a hair.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
169 (0.11/day)
Likes
33
System Name Chimaera
Processor Intel I5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8B WS
Cooling CoolerMaster Eisberg 240L Prestige
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 XMP 4 x 2 GB Dual Channel Kits
Video Card(s) XFX R9-280
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black Sata III 2 x 1 TB Raid 0
Display(s) Dell P2213 Pro
Case CoolerMaster CM-690 III
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro M600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
#8
Thanks for the replies , guys . No , i didn't reseat the cpu for a long time , didn't changed anything but video cards , tested all the memory DIMMs on each slot , individually , then pairs , then all of them , no problems . ruff0r you might have something here , the second pci-ex doesn't work anymore . I've installed the graphic card on it , the machine gets stuck at boot , no display and the graphic card's fan is at full speed . I hope that i can get a new one from Asus as the TUF series are covered by a 5 years warranty . I'm waiting for the Asus guy to reply . Fingers crossed . Everything started with this damn R9-280 i got . Everything was fine before i got it , installed it and reinstalled Windows . I was playing Crysis 3 and i've noticed that my CPU temp went to 70 C out of the blue . It never went that high , even oced and i was on stock speed . Then i noticed that the computer was a bit slower like before and i've check something and noticed that there were only 4 GB present on system properties . This was how all started . I assumed that maybe the R9 was too power hungry for my PSU , but this PSU ran a GTX295 without a problem , for years and that card requires more power than the R9 .
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
320 (0.14/day)
Likes
126
Processor Core I7-2600k @4,8GHZ @1,4V
Motherboard Asus p8-Z68 V Gen3
Cooling 2x1080 Custom loop
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws x 16gb 1866 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti
Storage Raid 0 2 x Sasmsung 850 EVo
Display(s) ASUS Swift
Case Test Bench
Power Supply Be quiet! 850 P10
Mouse G5
Keyboard Old USB Dell Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#9
Asus will tell you send it to them for RMA Definitely and yes sound like the same i had, doubt that it is because of your new card the hole system wouldn't work it the card would be the reason.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
169 (0.11/day)
Likes
33
System Name Chimaera
Processor Intel I5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8B WS
Cooling CoolerMaster Eisberg 240L Prestige
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 XMP 4 x 2 GB Dual Channel Kits
Video Card(s) XFX R9-280
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black Sata III 2 x 1 TB Raid 0
Display(s) Dell P2213 Pro
Case CoolerMaster CM-690 III
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro M600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
#10
I will dismantle everything right now and check the cpu socket pins , reseat the cpu and test it on the table . I've encountered weird problems in the past , like the machine won't start while everything was inside the case . If i can't solve it , i'd be happy to RMA it . I assume that i can get a newer TUF series , like the Z77 , as they don't make the P67 anymore .
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
320 (0.14/day)
Likes
126
Processor Core I7-2600k @4,8GHZ @1,4V
Motherboard Asus p8-Z68 V Gen3
Cooling 2x1080 Custom loop
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws x 16gb 1866 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti
Storage Raid 0 2 x Sasmsung 850 EVo
Display(s) ASUS Swift
Case Test Bench
Power Supply Be quiet! 850 P10
Mouse G5
Keyboard Old USB Dell Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#11
I will dismantle everything right now and check the cpu socket pins , reseat the cpu and test it on the table . I've encountered weird problems in the past , like the machine won't start while everything was inside the case . If i can't solve it , i'd be happy to RMA it . I assume that i can get a newer TUF series , like the Z77 , as they don't make the P67 anymore .
Nope they will try to repair yours first ;) and after 3 attempts maybe you get some money back unless you find a very nice guy in the RMA that gives you an NEW rma board.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
169 (0.11/day)
Likes
33
System Name Chimaera
Processor Intel I5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8B WS
Cooling CoolerMaster Eisberg 240L Prestige
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 XMP 4 x 2 GB Dual Channel Kits
Video Card(s) XFX R9-280
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black Sata III 2 x 1 TB Raid 0
Display(s) Dell P2213 Pro
Case CoolerMaster CM-690 III
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro M600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
#12
Back . Yes , i've heard those , ruff0r , but i can be very convincing when it comes to my money and even take it to Consumer Affairs if needed . I'm not gonna let my monthly wage i've spent on this mobo go down the river . It will not be the first time that i'd have to handle these kind of situations . I know my rights as a consumer . Anyway , i've dismantled everything , checked the pins with a magnifying glass and a lantern . All fine . Put everything back and powered the machine then i got the " New CPU installed !" error . This motherboard is obviously much more intelligent than i am . Still stuck on the 4 GB limit .
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
320 (0.14/day)
Likes
126
Processor Core I7-2600k @4,8GHZ @1,4V
Motherboard Asus p8-Z68 V Gen3
Cooling 2x1080 Custom loop
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws x 16gb 1866 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti
Storage Raid 0 2 x Sasmsung 850 EVo
Display(s) ASUS Swift
Case Test Bench
Power Supply Be quiet! 850 P10
Mouse G5
Keyboard Old USB Dell Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#13
Back . Yes , i've heard those , ruff0r , but i can be very convincing when it comes to my money and even take it to Consumer Affairs if needed . I'm not gonna throw my monthly wage i've spent on this mobo go down the river . It will not be the first time that i'd have to handle these kind of situations . I know my rights as a consumer . Anyway , i've dismantled everything , checked the pins with a magnifying glass and a lantern . All fine . Put everything back and powered the machine then i got the " New CPU installed !" error . This motherboard is obviously much more intelligent than i am . Still stuck on the 4 GB limit .
use your rights but remember always be kind and receive kindness in return.
Tell them what you did what you observed what you tested and they will compile and Help.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
169 (0.11/day)
Likes
33
System Name Chimaera
Processor Intel I5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8B WS
Cooling CoolerMaster Eisberg 240L Prestige
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 XMP 4 x 2 GB Dual Channel Kits
Video Card(s) XFX R9-280
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black Sata III 2 x 1 TB Raid 0
Display(s) Dell P2213 Pro
Case CoolerMaster CM-690 III
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro M600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
#14
When you get like 200 Euros / month ( if you're lucky ) , ruff0r, and you pay 250 Euros for a mobo that dies that fast , you're not really in the kindness mood . I bust my hump every day to buy quality components that are supposed to last 5 years at least before another upgrade . I was using a Intel Bad Axe 2 mobo from 2006-2012 and i've never had a problem with that system . I was kinda forced to switch to new gen , otherwise i would have still be using it . I loved that system . Rock solid .
 
Last edited:

INSTG8R

My Custom Title
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,200 (1.01/day)
Likes
2,234
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#15
You've tried the "RAM OK" button on the board? I have the same board and also using Vengence ram(2x4GB)
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
169 (0.11/day)
Likes
33
System Name Chimaera
Processor Intel I5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8B WS
Cooling CoolerMaster Eisberg 240L Prestige
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 XMP 4 x 2 GB Dual Channel Kits
Video Card(s) XFX R9-280
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black Sata III 2 x 1 TB Raid 0
Display(s) Dell P2213 Pro
Case CoolerMaster CM-690 III
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro M600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
#16
You've tried the "RAM OK" button on the board? I have the same board and also using Vengence ram(2x4GB)
Yes , INSTG8R , tried it , everything goes fine , but that's all . I still can't use but 4096 MB memory . Thank you .
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,782 (3.28/day)
Likes
4,314
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt
Processor i7-4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 250GB SSD / 2x1TB + 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) 3x AOC 2425W + ViewSonic VA2855Smh
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
#17
Have you tried different slot combos? Like 1 and 3 or 2 and 3 only? Put in only 3/4 sticks?
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
169 (0.11/day)
Likes
33
System Name Chimaera
Processor Intel I5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8B WS
Cooling CoolerMaster Eisberg 240L Prestige
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 XMP 4 x 2 GB Dual Channel Kits
Video Card(s) XFX R9-280
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black Sata III 2 x 1 TB Raid 0
Display(s) Dell P2213 Pro
Case CoolerMaster CM-690 III
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro M600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
#18
Yes Toothless , any possible combination . Tested all sticks on each slots individually , then paired , then all four sticks , 3/4 sticks shows me also 4096 only . MemTest86+ ok , Asus Pc Diagnostics Ok , Intel PD ok . Out of ideas .
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,910 (0.89/day)
Likes
1,028
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD, 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black, 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1803)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#19
it's starting to sound like a mobo problem then maybe time to be thinking RMA and to make sure they don't send you back the same mobo take a marker pen and leave a discreet mark somewhere take a pic of it and then send it in
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,101 (0.52/day)
Likes
347
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
#20
Asus p67 boards were kinda flaky anyway.
four i had eventually went south..(out of 5)
either missing RAM slots or USB cutting in and out...or onboard sound dying...ethernet..
making no claims that it wasn't my own doing a couple times :oops:
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
169 (0.11/day)
Likes
33
System Name Chimaera
Processor Intel I5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8B WS
Cooling CoolerMaster Eisberg 240L Prestige
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 XMP 4 x 2 GB Dual Channel Kits
Video Card(s) XFX R9-280
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black Sata III 2 x 1 TB Raid 0
Display(s) Dell P2213 Pro
Case CoolerMaster CM-690 III
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro M600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
#21
Let's see if their "5 years International Warranty Certificate" for the TUF series is real then .
 

INSTG8R

My Custom Title
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,200 (1.01/day)
Likes
2,234
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#22
Let's see if their "5 years International Warranty Certificate" for the TUF series is real then .
Let me know how that works out for you. I actually have 2 Sabertooths. One has a corrupted BIOS I just can't be arsed to go thru the hassle.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
169 (0.11/day)
Likes
33
System Name Chimaera
Processor Intel I5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8B WS
Cooling CoolerMaster Eisberg 240L Prestige
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 XMP 4 x 2 GB Dual Channel Kits
Video Card(s) XFX R9-280
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black Sata III 2 x 1 TB Raid 0
Display(s) Dell P2213 Pro
Case CoolerMaster CM-690 III
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro M600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
#23
INTSG8R , i will . But in the same time i'd have to buy another board anyway because i can't wait until this one will be repaired/replaced . Try to put the latest bios on USB thumb drive and just power on the corrupted mobo with the USB drive in . It should update automatically , i had the same issue with my girlfriend's Sabertooth and this was how i solved it .
 

INSTG8R

My Custom Title
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,200 (1.01/day)
Likes
2,234
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#24
INTSG8R , i will . But in the same time i'd have to buy another board anyway because i can't wait until this one will be repaired/replaced . Try to put the latest bios on USB thumb drive and just power on the corrupted mobo with the USB drive in . It should update automatically , i had the same issue with my girlfriend's Sabertooth and this was how i solved it .
Hah that was reason I just bought a 2nd one as I couldn't wait or be without my MoBo. There is a solution for it you have to "blank" the BIOS then reflash it but like I said I just bought another one and put the dead one in the closet as a "spare" I can easily just switch the BIOS chips for a quick and dirty switch.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
169 (0.11/day)
Likes
33
System Name Chimaera
Processor Intel I5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8B WS
Cooling CoolerMaster Eisberg 240L Prestige
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 XMP 4 x 2 GB Dual Channel Kits
Video Card(s) XFX R9-280
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black Sata III 2 x 1 TB Raid 0
Display(s) Dell P2213 Pro
Case CoolerMaster CM-690 III
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro M600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
#25
It seems that the TUF series are not that TUF as they say . I hope that the warranty is TUF or i had it with Asus .

What do you know , the Asus Support guy emailed me and told me to update the bios and also that they cannot guarantee that my ram is compatible with the Sabertooth P67 because they didn't test the board with those DIMMS . Well , i can guarantee that they are perfectly compatible as i was using Vengeance from the start , since 2012 and everything went fine , even overclock .

it's starting to sound like a mobo problem then maybe time to be thinking RMA and to make sure they don't send you back the same mobo take a marker pen and leave a discreet mark somewhere take a pic of it and then send it in
There's no need for that , Athlonite , the board has a unique serial number which i have registered on my account on the Asus' website .

Something intrigues me , but i'm not a tech after all . Take a look at these .

CPUID1.jpg
CPUID2.jpg
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top