• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Missing physxloader.dll Dragon Age (Non-Steam)

Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
245 (0.09/day)
Likes
25
#1
hi

I can't play Dragon Age at all because it keeps telling me my physxloader.dll is missing. I previously had an nvidia card, upraded to an ati card. When I upgraded I made sure I uninstalled the drivers and even used driver sweeper to delete all traces. Also did a clean sweep of any reg files that may have been left behind in regedit and manually deleted all folders that had nvidia on it. I downloaded the latest physx driver from the nvidia website and tried that but it wouldn't install, as it kept telling me my physx drivers are newer (???) and it aborts the installation. really fed up with the parasitic piece of sh1t nvidia software, any ideas? thx
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,661 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,609
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#2
Since you changed video cards; have you tried re-installing the game?
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,661 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,609
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#4
You can try to find the physx installer on your Dragon Age cd\dvd and try it.
It may install; or, give the option to remove or repair.

Or, Try un-installing Dragon Age and re-install it.
It may have seen a remnant of the Nvidia card and installed Physx wrongly.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,424 (5.49/day)
Likes
10,567
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
So you went through and manually deleted a bunch of folders without knowing exactly what they were and really had no reason to delete, and now you think it is nVidia's fault that a physx game doesn't work because it is expecting one of those folders to still be there?

What version PhysX did you try and install when it said you already have a newer version?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,093 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,217
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
245 (0.09/day)
Likes
25
#7
You can try to find the physx installer on your Dragon Age cd\dvd and try it.
It may install; or, give the option to remove or repair.

Or, Try un-installing Dragon Age and re-install it.
It may have seen a remnant of the Nvidia card and installed Physx wrongly.
tried installing physx from the dvd, it gives me the same bs error
got the latest physx driver from the nvidia website and it gave me the same error
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
245 (0.09/day)
Likes
25
#8
So you went through and manually deleted a bunch of folders without knowing exactly what they were and really had no reason to delete, and now you think it is nVidia's fault that a physx game doesn't work because it is expecting one of those folders to still be there?

What version PhysX did you try and install when it said you already have a newer version?
So you took your time to write all that but you didn't take the time to read through and understand what I wrote in my initial post?

physx version PhysX_9.10.0513_SystemSoftware
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,424 (5.49/day)
Likes
10,567
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
So you took your time to write all that but you didn't take the time to read through and understand what I wrote in my initial post?

physx version PhysX_9.10.0513_SystemSoftware
I read through it and understood it. What makes you think I didn't? I was making sure you were using the correct PhysX version.

A screenshot of the error message would help. Try running driver sweeper and telling it to get rid of Physx.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.77/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#10
someone send him the copy of their file
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,424 (5.49/day)
Likes
10,567
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#11
someone send him the copy of their file
The problem is, AFAIK, PhysXloader.dll should have been installed in the game directory along with the game, and it is a custom file that decides what features of PhysX to initiate. Right now I've got 4 physxloader.dll files, each one is different.

I've attached the one from the C:\Program Files(x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\PhysX\Common directory, which was probably killed when the OP aimlessly deleted everything marked nVidia... That might be the one the game is complaining about.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,211 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#12
shouldnt this be fixable by uninstalling all nvidia software (including physX) and then reinstalling it?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,211 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#14
nevermind, I am not missing much anyway
it was quite a good game. all you need to do is do a repair install of physX somehow.