• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Modding a Corsair H50

Joined
Sep 25, 2010
Messages
527 (0.20/day)
Likes
482
Location
Bahrain
System Name Shin-Lazarus \ Exp Gamer \ Dino
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @4.6GHz \ C2Q 9550\ AMD k6-2 450 @500MHz!!!
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme6 \Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3P \ Gigabyte GA-5AX
Cooling De-lid+Tt Water 3.0 Extreme S \ Custom H50\ Socket7 cooler?
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz \ 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC28500 \1x128MB 2x256MB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX780 DC II OC \Ref' GTX 280 \ S3 Savage3D + 3dfx voodoo2
Storage OS=Micron C400 256GB + 4x HDD's \2.5" 500GB Toshiba \20GB quantum fireball
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE \ Dell E196FP \-
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D\ Tt V3 BE \ generic ancient case
Audio Device(s) sennheiser GSP300[]SB X-fi fatality-Logitech Z623 \ SB Audigy \ Creative CT4810
Power Supply FSP AURUM PT 850W \Tt Toughpower 600W \kobian 235W
Mouse Logitech G600 \ Microsoft PS2 something something
Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum \ Microsoft PS2 something something
Software WIn 10 Pro \Win XP SP3 \ too lazy to fix
Benchmark Scores OVER 9000!!!
#1
The H50 i have apparently was opened before as i can hear bubbles in the pump if i move it around, anyway i am going to replace the original hoses and add a reservoir to the loop.

What i'm wondering about is the liquid, is distilled water just fine or do i have to pay for the colored liquid coolant, and if i use distilled water do i have to add an anti-corrosion/algae agent like the swiftech Hydrx.

Any help and or tips on this is are welcomed :toast:
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2009
Messages
115 (0.04/day)
Likes
28
Location
Gurnee, IL
Processor AMD Phenom II x2 550BE
Motherboard Asus M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling OCZ CNPS10X Flex (Dual 80cfm fans)
Memory OCZ Reaper 1866 4GB
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH4870 Dark Knight 1G
Storage 150gb WD Raptor
Display(s) Viewsonic Optiquest Q22wb
Case Apevia X-Navigator
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Software Windows 7 Ulitimate (64bit)
#2
If you are using clear tubing, use a distilled water/anti corrosion/algae mix. You can use colored coolant if you want to. I used pt nuke with distilled water and some antifreeze. I did that to my H50. And it has been running great since. Yes you do have to use a anti-corrosion and algae agent due to the block being copper and radiator being aluminum
.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,627 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,352
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#3
H50 makes noise, the loop isn't completely full. You can replace the tubing with anything that fits, but you must use coolant for mixed metal loops. As option says, coolant choice is a must with anti corrosive additive in it.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2010
Messages
527 (0.20/day)
Likes
482
Location
Bahrain
System Name Shin-Lazarus \ Exp Gamer \ Dino
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @4.6GHz \ C2Q 9550\ AMD k6-2 450 @500MHz!!!
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme6 \Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3P \ Gigabyte GA-5AX
Cooling De-lid+Tt Water 3.0 Extreme S \ Custom H50\ Socket7 cooler?
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz \ 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC28500 \1x128MB 2x256MB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX780 DC II OC \Ref' GTX 280 \ S3 Savage3D + 3dfx voodoo2
Storage OS=Micron C400 256GB + 4x HDD's \2.5" 500GB Toshiba \20GB quantum fireball
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE \ Dell E196FP \-
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D\ Tt V3 BE \ generic ancient case
Audio Device(s) sennheiser GSP300[]SB X-fi fatality-Logitech Z623 \ SB Audigy \ Creative CT4810
Power Supply FSP AURUM PT 850W \Tt Toughpower 600W \kobian 235W
Mouse Logitech G600 \ Microsoft PS2 something something
Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum \ Microsoft PS2 something something
Software WIn 10 Pro \Win XP SP3 \ too lazy to fix
Benchmark Scores OVER 9000!!!
#4
I forgot to mention that computer/WC components are limited in my country and i think this is the only store that sells liquid cooling parts in here http://www.advantionline.com/Liquid-Cooling/

For tubing i have "Feser Tube FT UV Hose ID 3/8" Blister"
Anti-Corrosion is "Swiftech Hydrx Green UV reactive"
As for reservoir either a "Danger Den 5 1/4" Bay Reservoir" or a ghetto one as i'm trying to make it cost as little as much
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,627 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,352
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#5
I'm pretty sure the tubing on the H50 isn't 3/8" ID.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2010
Messages
527 (0.20/day)
Likes
482
Location
Bahrain
System Name Shin-Lazarus \ Exp Gamer \ Dino
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @4.6GHz \ C2Q 9550\ AMD k6-2 450 @500MHz!!!
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme6 \Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3P \ Gigabyte GA-5AX
Cooling De-lid+Tt Water 3.0 Extreme S \ Custom H50\ Socket7 cooler?
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz \ 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC28500 \1x128MB 2x256MB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX780 DC II OC \Ref' GTX 280 \ S3 Savage3D + 3dfx voodoo2
Storage OS=Micron C400 256GB + 4x HDD's \2.5" 500GB Toshiba \20GB quantum fireball
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE \ Dell E196FP \-
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D\ Tt V3 BE \ generic ancient case
Audio Device(s) sennheiser GSP300[]SB X-fi fatality-Logitech Z623 \ SB Audigy \ Creative CT4810
Power Supply FSP AURUM PT 850W \Tt Toughpower 600W \kobian 235W
Mouse Logitech G600 \ Microsoft PS2 something something
Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum \ Microsoft PS2 something something
Software WIn 10 Pro \Win XP SP3 \ too lazy to fix
Benchmark Scores OVER 9000!!!
#6
i'll check with the store about the tubing but if anything else is fine i'll get to buying them when i have time throughout the week

Edit:
If "Feser One UltraViolet F1 Liquid Coolent" requires less hassle i'll get it instead of distilled water mixture
 
Last edited:

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#7
H50 is filled with Glycol/water mix, FYI. Tubing is 1/4-inch. I modded my H50 long ago, added in a coolit TEC unit after rad, before the pump.

The liquid inside our Hydro Series CPU coolers is a mixture of distilled water with Propylene Glycol added to prevent corrosion and organic build-up.
http://www.corsair.com/en/support/faq/cooling/



Glycol might be 50-80%, coolant is quite viscous.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 25, 2010
Messages
527 (0.20/day)
Likes
482
Location
Bahrain
System Name Shin-Lazarus \ Exp Gamer \ Dino
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @4.6GHz \ C2Q 9550\ AMD k6-2 450 @500MHz!!!
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme6 \Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3P \ Gigabyte GA-5AX
Cooling De-lid+Tt Water 3.0 Extreme S \ Custom H50\ Socket7 cooler?
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz \ 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC28500 \1x128MB 2x256MB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX780 DC II OC \Ref' GTX 280 \ S3 Savage3D + 3dfx voodoo2
Storage OS=Micron C400 256GB + 4x HDD's \2.5" 500GB Toshiba \20GB quantum fireball
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE \ Dell E196FP \-
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D\ Tt V3 BE \ generic ancient case
Audio Device(s) sennheiser GSP300[]SB X-fi fatality-Logitech Z623 \ SB Audigy \ Creative CT4810
Power Supply FSP AURUM PT 850W \Tt Toughpower 600W \kobian 235W
Mouse Logitech G600 \ Microsoft PS2 something something
Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum \ Microsoft PS2 something something
Software WIn 10 Pro \Win XP SP3 \ too lazy to fix
Benchmark Scores OVER 9000!!!
#8
I'll be getting the parts later this day and wanted to ask
which way has the best performance?

Pump>Res>Rad>Pump
or
Pump>Rad>Res>Pump

Update:
Having a minor setback because of tube size and Res, Found other pipes that fit but looking for a different Res
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#9
Hi

[reservoir, expantion tank or T Line goes before; the pump inlet (suction side)]

The only “rule” for a reservoir is that it come before the pump. This is so the pump will always be supplied with fluid. A dry pump is a dead pump. Another purpose reservoirs serve is to both fill and bleed the system. Bleeding a system removes the air bubbles that inevitably form as a result of filling the system.
Source: http://www.overclockerstech.com/water-cooling-guide-for-beginners/
Have a look at the section entitled The Reservoir

nb: if you do not do this when you fill your loop you risk running your pump dry

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 25, 2010
Messages
527 (0.20/day)
Likes
482
Location
Bahrain
System Name Shin-Lazarus \ Exp Gamer \ Dino
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @4.6GHz \ C2Q 9550\ AMD k6-2 450 @500MHz!!!
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme6 \Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3P \ Gigabyte GA-5AX
Cooling De-lid+Tt Water 3.0 Extreme S \ Custom H50\ Socket7 cooler?
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz \ 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC28500 \1x128MB 2x256MB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX780 DC II OC \Ref' GTX 280 \ S3 Savage3D + 3dfx voodoo2
Storage OS=Micron C400 256GB + 4x HDD's \2.5" 500GB Toshiba \20GB quantum fireball
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE \ Dell E196FP \-
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D\ Tt V3 BE \ generic ancient case
Audio Device(s) sennheiser GSP300[]SB X-fi fatality-Logitech Z623 \ SB Audigy \ Creative CT4810
Power Supply FSP AURUM PT 850W \Tt Toughpower 600W \kobian 235W
Mouse Logitech G600 \ Microsoft PS2 something something
Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum \ Microsoft PS2 something something
Software WIn 10 Pro \Win XP SP3 \ too lazy to fix
Benchmark Scores OVER 9000!!!
#10
Thanks Law-II but when i go to that link the website says "Error 404 - Page Not Found"
anyway there is no reservoir available that fits a 1/4" tubing here so i might have to go ghetto on it
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#11
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 25, 2010
Messages
527 (0.20/day)
Likes
482
Location
Bahrain
System Name Shin-Lazarus \ Exp Gamer \ Dino
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @4.6GHz \ C2Q 9550\ AMD k6-2 450 @500MHz!!!
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme6 \Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3P \ Gigabyte GA-5AX
Cooling De-lid+Tt Water 3.0 Extreme S \ Custom H50\ Socket7 cooler?
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz \ 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC28500 \1x128MB 2x256MB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX780 DC II OC \Ref' GTX 280 \ S3 Savage3D + 3dfx voodoo2
Storage OS=Micron C400 256GB + 4x HDD's \2.5" 500GB Toshiba \20GB quantum fireball
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE \ Dell E196FP \-
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D\ Tt V3 BE \ generic ancient case
Audio Device(s) sennheiser GSP300[]SB X-fi fatality-Logitech Z623 \ SB Audigy \ Creative CT4810
Power Supply FSP AURUM PT 850W \Tt Toughpower 600W \kobian 235W
Mouse Logitech G600 \ Microsoft PS2 something something
Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum \ Microsoft PS2 something something
Software WIn 10 Pro \Win XP SP3 \ too lazy to fix
Benchmark Scores OVER 9000!!!
#12
The link works thanks, i'll go out later to get the pipes and see what i can do about the Res or T-line