1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Modular PSU

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by CrAsHnBuRnXp, Oct 10, 2008.

  1. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,049 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    Im looking to invest in a modular PSU that can handle the stuff in my spec list. I may even consider a trade for my OCZ 850w. Blue LED preferred. What would suit my needs guys?

    Thanks.
     
  2. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Check this out -> HERE

    Maybe its what your looking for :)

    This PSU has plenty of nuts and the brand is popular (to say the least) here on TPU...if you want more power than its a big step up in cash, this offers best value/performance in my view :toast:
     
  3. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,049 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    But will the 620w suffice to power my rig? Somehow I dont think so. :(
     
  4. WC Annihilus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    209 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    It's more than enough for your rig. The same PSU powered a highly Overclocked Q6600, 4 hard drives, a liquid cooling system, 9 fans, a DVD burner, and a overclocked 2900XT in my rig with no problems.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. burebista

    burebista

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    787 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Location:
    Romania
    For your rig HX520 is plenty.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,049 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    It sure doesnt seem like it would be enough.

    I was looking at the ABS PSU, but not sure of its credibility. And if I can, I wanna keep it to either no LED lights or blue LED lights. :)
     
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    It way more than enough. First off, Corsair way underrates their psus. Second, your system doesn't consume anywhere near 620W anyway. Third, total available 12V amps are the most important factor to look into, and the Corsair can do 50A.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PA, USA
  10. burebista

    burebista

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    787 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Location:
    Romania
    Man you'll barely hit 300W DC in games. Take a look here.
    QX9650 @3.66 GHz and 9800GTX need 253W AC. Multiply with 80% (PSU efficiency) and you'll have 203W DC. A long way until 520W...
    Or here with a Q6000 @3.5 GHz. 280W DC in 3DMark06. Still a long way until 520W...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,024 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    917
    Location:
    Ohio
    In regards to amps on +12v rail, I'm in favor of a single powerful rail as opposed to multiple weaker rails. afaik, that leaves the Silverstone Decathlon series, which is relatively pricey compared to some similar non-modular psu's. After rebate though, it's not terribly expensive. If I wanted a modular psu, I'd go for the 650w.
     
  13. ChromeDome

    ChromeDome New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    670 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2008
  14. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    I have the corsair HX-520 (as heaps of other people do also) and it is great. Its heavy as hell so I know its good quality and by far the quietest psu I have ever used.

    The other psu Iwould reccommend would be the enermax modu series. They are quite new and look really good as well
     
  15. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    get the corsair hands down.
     
  17. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    I too have the corsair Hx520 thats fine with my cpu at 3.8ghz and my gpu at 750/1200.Also i hate psu's with colored fans in.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    The Corsair HX series psu's are multi rail only in name. You can pump all 50A thru a single rail. Besides, the whole multi-rail vs single rail thing is blown out of proportion. The biggest factor in psu's is build quality. As long as you pick a high quality psu that's in your needed output range, you'll be fine.

    That Kingwin is nothing more than a rebadged ABS Tagan. Also very solid psu's. You don't hear too much about them in the enthusiast market, because they usually focus on the server market.
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2008
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    really? now thats interesting... never knew that they weren't capped. i really gotta brush up on my psu knowledge lol.
     
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yep. They are total beasts. lol.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I wanted to make sure I had enough juice for my 2x 4870s because they chew up power, and trust me they do chew up power. Still I didn't know it had a blue LED or else I wouldn't want to get rid of it.
     
  22. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,049 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    Uh...okay...
     
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    lol. It's a spambot.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,049 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    :banghead:
     
  25. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,024 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    917
    Location:
    Ohio
    After some discussion with Panchoman about the rail issue, I decided to do some sniffing around and found a couple really interesting articles. They're a couple years old, and I've never heard of the site before, but still relevant and the guy seems to know his stuff.

    A short history of PC power supply voltage rails
    So what's all this rubbish about multiple 12 volt rails?

    There's more linked on that site, all about the intricacies of pc power supplies and everything the manufacturers don't tell you outright. Those are the only ones I've read so far though.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)