• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Monitor is wavey.

Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#1
Here recently my Dell monitor (that's plugged in via vga cable with a DVI converter on it) has been having a wavey signal. It kinda hard to discribe, and it's not always happening. This "wavey signal" is usually occuring on the edges of things ect ect. I recently removed the graphics card in this dell computer that the monitor is plugged into and placed it back in, and everything seems snug fit. What is causing this "wavey" type signal in my montior? :confused:
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#2
Here recently my Dell monitor (that's plugged in via vga cable with a DVI converter on it) has been having a wavey signal. It kinda hard to discribe, and it's not always happening. This "wavey signal" is usually occuring on the edges of things ect ect. I recently removed the graphics card in this dell computer that the monitor is plugged into and placed it back in, and everything seems snug fit. What is causing this "wavey" type signal in my montior? :confused:
sounds like you're not getting clean power to your graphics card. is anything else on the same rail? maybe a hard drive?
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#3
No I don't think that there is, but I'll make sure that the 4 pin connector is properly connected.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
1,773 (0.48/day)
Likes
232
Location
Detroit, MI
Processor Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte z97X-Gaming 7
Memory 4x4GB Kingston/Micron DDR3 665mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD HD7930
Storage Intel 180GB SSD (boot), Intel 240GB SSD, 2x Samsung 512GB SSD's, Hitachi 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" Qnix PLS LCD @1440, 27" Samsung Syncmaster@1080, 24" HP EliteDisplay @1200
Power Supply Corsair Modular HX620w
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4
Anything near your monitor? A speaker, the case sitting too close? Sometimes EMI will mess with monitors if it gets too close.
 

Graogrim

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
308 (0.08/day)
Likes
31
Location
East Coast US
System Name Paradigm
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G43
Cooling OEM
Memory 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 670 2 GB
Storage 128 MB Corsair M4 SSD + 1 TB WD Caviar Black
Display(s) Samsung 24"
Case Rosewill Challenger USB 3
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 7 64 bit
#5
This type of thing can also occur if there is another appliance generating interference on the same electrical circuit in your home as your computer or monitor. Look for lights (especially florescent), televisions, refrigerators, heaters, etc.
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#6
Looks like random was right, I wasn't used to this custom dell power supply and the power to the video card was loose! Thanks much random.
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#7
I've got this problem when using my laptop's VGA port with my monitor. I've found it's just the VGA standard itself, which TFTs don't tend to favour. My old monitor was VGA only, and occasionally did this. I attempted to eliminate anything causing possible electrical interference, but it was still happenning.

EDIT: Too late, you've got it fixed :p
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#8
Looks like random was right, I wasn't used to this custom dell power supply and the power to the video card was loose! Thanks much random.
no problem, dude!
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#9
I've got this problem when using my laptop's VGA port with my monitor. I've found it's just the VGA standard itself, which TFTs don't tend to favour. My old monitor was VGA only, and occasionally did this. I attempted to eliminate anything causing possible electrical interference, but it was still happenning.

EDIT: Too late, you've got it fixed :p
Giving you a thanks for the effort, anyone who would have attempted to help solve this problem is worth thanking in my book. :toast:
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.74/day)
Likes
663
#10
Good you got it fixed, but another thing that causes wavey-ness is not having your monitor and pc on the same surge protector.
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#11
Good you got it fixed, but another thing that causes wavey-ness is not having your monitor and pc on the same surge protector.
The only reason why I can think that might be true, is because of the minute differences in timing, that it may cause, so, instead of being 50.1Hz, it's 50.2Hz, and even that sounds stupid to me when I say it (not calling you stupid, saying my theory sounds stupid).

And ta very much Ravenas :)
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.74/day)
Likes
663
#12
The only reason why I can think that might be true, is because of the minute differences in timing, that it may cause, so, instead of being 50.1Hz, it's 50.2Hz, and even that sounds stupid to me when I say it (not calling you stupid, saying my theory sounds stupid).

And ta very much Ravenas :)
Yea, it has to do something like that. One of my old instructors during high school when I was taking a PC tech class was saying something about grounding, and that the vga signal is unclean. If memory serves me correctly, it detail, it has to do the PC is not grounding cleanly, and then the current flows to the vga cable.

A great way he showed us this was to turn off the computer, then take a volt meter to the RGB pins and its equivalent ground pins (those pins have power going through them), and see if there is a current. If there is a current, when the computer is off, that means something is not grounded, and that is causing the unclean signal.

http://pinouts.ru/Video/VGA15_pinout.shtml
 

mrtn400

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Cataclysm
Processor Q6600 G0 @ 3204Mhz (356x9) 30°C/54°C
Motherboard Abit IP35 Pro
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory 2x Crucial Ballistix 1GB PC6400
Video Card(s) BFG 7950GT 512MB @ 565Mhz/715Mhz 46°C/75°C
Storage 2x WD Caviar SE 160GB SATA II
Display(s) Acer X191W 19" Widescreen @ 1400x900 32-Bit Colors
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power Trio 650W
Software Windows XP Pro SP2
#13
I had the same problem. I tried using a DVI cable instead and it's clean now. (Had the grounding issue)
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#14
I've had my cell phone cause the issue.