• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Monitor issue.

Carrion

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Oakham, United Kingdom
System Name Rawr
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2
Storage OCZ Vertex 120GB (2nd coming soon for RAID 0), Maxtor 500GB
Display(s) 24" Samsung SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W
Software Various
#1
When I woke up this morning, I noticed my monitor was just a black screen and the power light was flashing and I couldn't get the screen to come back on (because I leave left the monitor on), even moving the mouse or nothing wouldn't make it come on. I had to reboot my PC to get the screen to come on. I've come the conclusion that it may be:

1. My power options in control panel.

2. New 9.2 ATI drivers.

3. I've overclocked my card to 800MHz on core and 1000 on memory in CCC.

In the power options, in the balanced settings, the top option was set to 20 minutes but I set it to never (so screen don't go off, something to do with sleep mode). I haven't left the monitor on for a while yet so see if the problem was the power options. Suggestions?

Also, I have one more issue I've noticed. Sometimes when I exit games, my monitor just goes black and I see (slightly) black lines vertical going down the monitor).
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#2
So was the PC left on or just the monitor?
 

Carrion

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Oakham, United Kingdom
System Name Rawr
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2
Storage OCZ Vertex 120GB (2nd coming soon for RAID 0), Maxtor 500GB
Display(s) 24" Samsung SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W
Software Various
#3
Everything. Just like now. When I went bed, I left the monitor on because this morning I couldn't get no display and I tried moving the mouse and clicking and turning off the screen and turning back on and no luck. I can't remember if it happened with the 8.12 ATI drivers but I have a feeling it may be the 9.2 drivers. It can't be my card (I overclocked it in CCC to 800 on core and 1000 on memory, 900 on memory default and 750 on core default). I never used to have the problem on the 8.12 drivers I think.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#4
So basically you left the PC on, then couldnt wake it from standby?
 

Carrion

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Oakham, United Kingdom
System Name Rawr
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2
Storage OCZ Vertex 120GB (2nd coming soon for RAID 0), Maxtor 500GB
Display(s) 24" Samsung SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W
Software Various
#5
Correct. Well the screen shouldn't of turned itself off?
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#6
Its normal for the screen to turn itself off, it is a power saving feature.

You often find with some mobos (mine included) that when they go into standby mode, the only way to wake them is to press the power button, as to further reduce power, it shuts off the keyboard and mouse.

Did you try that?
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.95/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#7
Go to power options from control panel. Set everything that saids "Turn off x in x minutes" to 0.
 

Carrion

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Oakham, United Kingdom
System Name Rawr
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2
Storage OCZ Vertex 120GB (2nd coming soon for RAID 0), Maxtor 500GB
Display(s) 24" Samsung SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W
Software Various
#8
^^ Done that. Also, when I reboot my PC, the monitor screen don't come back on (stays blank and power button flashes) Grr! I think this only happens on the odd occasion.
 

Carrion

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Oakham, United Kingdom
System Name Rawr
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2
Storage OCZ Vertex 120GB (2nd coming soon for RAID 0), Maxtor 500GB
Display(s) 24" Samsung SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W
Software Various
#9
Bump. Still happens. I even put the settings to default in CCC and now it still done it, I put settings back where they were. What could it be?
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Location
South Africa
System Name Caspar.
Processor AMD Athlon 64Bit 4000+ (939).
Motherboard Saphire Pure Innovation PI-A9RX480.
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Cooler + 6 x 120mm CM Case fans.
Memory 2GB Kingmax - DDR 400.
Video Card(s) XFX ATI Radeon HD4650 512MB.
Storage 2X Seagate Baracuda 500GB SATA - II (32MB Cache).
Display(s) Samsung 19" LCD + Samsung 17" LCD.
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590 (Stock for now).
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio.
Power Supply Gigabyte Superb 500W.
Software Windows XP Pro. SP3.
#10
Is this a CRT/LCD monitor?
 

sweeper

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Messages
796 (0.17/day)
Likes
36
Location
SW, Ohio
System Name "X"
Processor AMD PHENOM II X 6 3.2GHz @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASUS M4A785-M
Cooling ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2
Memory Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 2X2 - 4GB
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD4870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5
Storage Western Digital 500GB SATAII Black / Western Digital My Book Essential External HDD 1TB
Display(s) Soyo 22" LCD / Vizio 32" LCD
Case Thermaltake Xaser II Full Tower
Audio Device(s) ON-BOARD VIA VT1708S
Power Supply Antec Basiq 550W Plus Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#11
video card or monitor.... swap monitors see what happens.
 

Carrion

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Oakham, United Kingdom
System Name Rawr
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2
Storage OCZ Vertex 120GB (2nd coming soon for RAID 0), Maxtor 500GB
Display(s) 24" Samsung SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W
Software Various
#12
LCD.

If I had a spare monitor...
 

Wango

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
I have the same issue with my 4870x2 video card. I upgraded my power supply, mobo even ram, got the card rma'd and they sent me another one.

What happens it boots up. I might be able to do a few things. THen i might run a program then my monitor will just go to a system standby and nothing will come back on until i reboot the system. I do have an extra 8800gts that i NO problems with watsoever! so just a little mad when a 400 dollar card goes down the drain....