• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Monitor not recognized by windows vista

dankmn

New Member
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Back again with monitor problems...So I did get the LCD display to finally work BUT for some stupid reason windows is seeing my monitor as a "Non pnp monitor" and not as a "sceptre" like it used to. The weird part is when I open up CCC and go to display manager it recognizes it perfectly all the resolutions and HD modes are there but I can't use anything above 1024x768 because of stupid windows.

I downloaded the "vista" drivers off sceptres' webpage but that doesn't do jack shit...you right click it and click install and it doesn't support that method, you go through display manager and try to update it manually it says that it doesn't contain anything related to your device....I would really like to get out of 1024x768 everything is so HUGE i'm not an old lady.....

Any help is greatly appreciated.

oh specs are

CPU: AMD athlon 64 x2 4600+
MOBO: ASUS M2R32-MVP
Video: gigabyte 1gb 4870 (2) crossfire not enabled
Memory: 2x Corsair XMS (1gb each) 2x Gskill PI (2gb each)
Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Sceptre XsomethingGamer 1080 (not at home can't check atm)
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,922 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,023
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#2
If it doesn't detect it as a Plug N' Play monitor, you'll have to fore-feed it a driver. The easiest way to do that is to use Device Manager. Spectre's site should have the drivers or at least instructions to workaround the issue.

All device manager cares about is *.inf, *.cab, and *.sys files. My guess is you get a self-extracting archieve from Spectre and you extracted it somewhere. Page through that directory and see if you can find any of those file types. Maybe you'll instead find a executable. Run the executable to get it sorted.
 
Last edited:

dankmn

New Member
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#3
;SCEPTRE MONITOR DEVICE INFORMATION FILE FOR WINDOWS 2000,
;WINDOWS XP and Windows Vista
;SCEPTRE INC EDITED BY ROBERT LI
;REVISION DATE 07/24/07


; ================== Version section ===========================
[VERSION]
SIGNATURE="$Windows NT$"
CLASS=MONITOR
ClassGuid = {4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}
PROVIDER=%MFG%
DriverVer=03/08/2007,2.0.1
CatalogFile = monitor.cat

[SourceDisksNames]
1="Sceptre LCD Monitor Installation Disk",,0

[DestinationDirs]
DefaultDestDir=11

; ================== Manufacturer/Models sections ==============
[MANUFACTURER]
%MFG%=SCEPTRE

[SCEPTRE]
;LCD MONITOR
;SCEPTRE
%SPT2091%=SPT2091, MONITOR\SPT2091 ;X20WG-Naga
%SPT2011%=SPT2011, MONITOR\SPT2011 ;X20WG-1080P
%SPT2200%=SPT2200, MONITOR\SPT2200 ;X22WG-Gamer
%SPT2301%=SPT2301, MONITOR\SPT2301 ;X23WG-1080P
%SPT2201%=SPT2201, MONITOR\SPT2201 ;X22WG-1080P
%SPT2401%=SPT2401, MONITOR\SPT2401 ;X24WG-Naga


;INSTALL SECTIONS

;X20WGNAGA
[SPT2091]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=SPT2091.AddReg, 1680, DPMS
AddReg=SPT2091.AddReg, 1280, DPMS

[SPT2091.AddReg]
HKR,"MODES\1680,1050",MODE1,,"30.5-66.0,55.0-60.0,+,+"
HKR,"MODES\1280,1024",MODE1,,"30.5-83.0,55.0-76.5,+,+"
HKR,,ICMProfile,1,7


;X20WG1080P
[SPT2011]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=SPT2091.AddReg, 1680, DPMS
AddReg=SPT2091.AddReg, 1280, DPMS

[SPT2011.AddReg]
HKR,"MODES\1680,1050",MODE1,,"30.5-66.0,55.0-60.0,+,+"
HKR,"MODES\1280,1024",MODE1,,"30.5-83.0,55.0-76.5,+,+"
HKR,,ICMProfile,1,7


;X22WGGAMER
[SPT2200]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=SPT2200.AddReg, 1680, DPMS
AddReg=SPT2200.AddReg, 1280, DPMS

[SPT2200.AddReg]
HKR,"MODES\1680,1050",MODE1,,"30.5-66.0,55.0-60.0,+,+"
HKR,"MODES\1280,1024",MODE1,,"30.5-83.0,55.0-76.5,+,+"
HKR,,ICMProfile,1,7


;X23WG1080P
[SPT2301]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=SPT2301.AddReg, 1440, DPMS
AddReg=SPT2301.AddReg, 1280, DPMS

[SPT2301.AddReg]
HKR,"MODES\1440,900",MODE1,,"30.5-73.0,55.0-75.0,+,+"
HKR,"MODES\1280,1024",MODE1,,"30.5-83.0,55.0-76.5,+,+"
HKR,,ICMProfile,1,7



;X22WG1080P
[SPT2201]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=SPT2201.AddReg, 1680, DPMS
AddReg=SPT2201.AddReg, 1280, DPMS

[SPT2201.AddReg]
HKR,"MODES\1680,1050",MODE1,,"30.5-66.0,55.0-60.0,+,+"
HKR,"MODES\1280,1024",MODE1,,"30.5-83.0,55.0-76.5,+,+"
HKR,,ICMProfile,1,7




;X24WG-Naga
[SPT2401]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=SPT2401.AddReg, 1920, DPMS
AddReg=SPT2401.AddReg, 1280, DPMS

[SPT2401.AddReg]
HKR,"MODES\1920,1200",MODE1,,"30.5-76.0,55.0-60.0,+,-"
HKR,"MODES\1280,1024",MODE1,,"30.5-83.0,55.0-76.5,+,+"



;COMMON ADD/DEL REG SECTION
[DEL_CURRENT_REG]
HKR,MODES
HKR,,MAXRESOLUTION
HKR,,DPMS
HKR,,ICMProfile


; Pre-defined AddReg sections
[1680]
HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1680,1050"

[1440]
HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1440,900"

[1280]
HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1280,1024"

[1920]
HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1920,1200"


[DPMS]
HKR,,DPMS,,1



;STRINGS SECTION
[Strings]
MonitorClassName="Monitor"
MFG="SCEPTRE, INC."

SPT2091="SCEPTRE X20WG-Naga"
SPT2011="SCEPTRE X20WG-1080P"
SPT2200="SCEPTRE X22WG-Gamer"
SPT2301="SCEPTRE X23WG-1080P"
SPT2201="SCEPTRE X22WG-1080P"
SPT2401="SCEPTRE X24WG-Naga"


;END OF FILE


That is the ONLY thing their "driver" file is, just an INF no instructions nothing.
And if you look in the file near the top it says [SourceDisksNames]
1="Sceptre LCD Monitor Installation Disk",,0

No CD came with this monitor I bought it off new egg it wasn't an OEM everything was included and their was definately NO CD or installation disk at all.

As far as force feeding the driver it says the file doesn't contain anything pertaining to my device so it won't let me force feed
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
Are you using a DVI adapter or VGA (D-Sub)?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,922 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,023
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#5
I assume you downloaded sceptre_vista_certified.inf (either zipped or not)...

This procedure is probably slightly different on Windows Vista.

In device manager, under monitors, click on the "Default Monitor." Click on the "Driver" tab, followed by the "Update Driver" button. If it prompts to go online, say no. You want to install it from a list or specific location (advanced). Check "don't search, I will choose" and then next. Click on "Have Disk" and browse to the INF you got from the site. Click next a few times and you should be sorted.


INFs are just basic instructions for the operating system to install a driver. The important stuff is actually in "monitor.cat." Windows may ship with that file. If not, you'll have to contact their tech support and tell them you need that file as the downloads on the site don't have it.
 

dankmn

New Member
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#6
I can't get it to connect on just the DVI cord, whenever i hook it up with just the DVI cord I get no signal....but when I hook it up with VGA, I have to use a VGA to DVI converter because my video card does not have a VGA input on it. But it does work with the adapter, I'm guessing its something to do with single/double link DVI cords but I can't tell which is which you google DVI adapters and theres like 8 different
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,922 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,023
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#7
Most monitors are DVI-D with male/male ends.

All that INF really does is add a handful of registry entires, most noteably:
HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1920,1200"

Do you have the 22" or 23" model?
 

dankmn

New Member
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#8
22" I'm pretty sure the cord that was included with the monitor is a dual link (bottom one in picture)


and the VGA to DVI adapter is a single link analog.
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,922 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,023
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#9
The key is the -- with the two dots above and below it. If those dots are there, it is DVI-I or DVI-A. If there's no holes there, just the flat bar, it is a DVI-D. All the LCD monitors I have seen are dual-link even if it doesn't use dual-link--they would not at all accept DVI-A or DVI-I because those four holes aren't present.

X22WG-Gamer <-- Sound right?