• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Monitor Sleep Mode after NB/CPU Fan Tweak

Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#1
Okay... I'm in a serious pickle here.

I just went into my BIOS and tweaked my NB to 2600 from 2300 to match the HT @ 2600... Also I changed my CPU Auto Fan to disabled so it would run at 100%. Upon saving, the PC auto rebooted as usual but this time my monitor is stuck in sleep mode. It's not even giving me a "NO SIGNAL" error.

I've force rebooted about 15 times to no avail. Let it sit off for 15 minutes, nothing. Let it sit on w/o monitor working for 20 mins and nothing. Changed from DVI to HDMI to no avail. There was one time I got it to turn on (after unplugging power and switching off power switch) but it was stuck on the GIGABYTE Splash screen where it shows the hotkeys. No keys responded.

I can hear the CPU fan that changed to running at 100%, all other fans running, but it still won't boot up. No typical Windows login sound either... Anyone have any ideas? I really wouldn't think a NB Tweak or CPU fan adjustment would cause it to freak out like this and especially not blow the CPU...... Really confused here.

Is a CMOS reboot in order here?

Anything to get this thing running again... Just started Arkham Asylum and GTA IV.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,411 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,014
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#2
yep time for the clearmos jumper

nm was thinking of Phenom II
leave the HT and NB speed at stock it won't help
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#3
My RAM is 1333 and won't OC for crap unless I change the clock and use the auto OC thing. Do i just unplug power and remove the battery on MOBO for 10 mins?
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,411 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,014
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#4
there should be a 2 Pin header with a plastic jumperblock that says clr_cmos right above the front panel connector header on the edge of the board just short the pins with a screw driver or something if the block wasn't included
else you can disconnect the battery an ac power and that should do it
also did you try giving the ram some voltage 1.65 should be fine and enough to get you to the full 1600 @ 9 9 9 24 CL9
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#5
I'll try that if I ever get this fixed. Just to be clear, all components can stay attached correct? The talk of jumping and whatnot gets me nervous. but all that needs to be done is unplug the power cord correct?
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,411 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,014
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#6
I'll try that if I ever get this fixed. Just to be clear, all components can stay attached correct? The talk of jumping and whatnot gets me nervous. but all that needs to be done is unplug the power cord correct?
you can unplug the power cord
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#7
You, sir, are the man. Problem is fixed. I am just resetting everything back to stock for now as I don't even need to boost my CPU for performance in games, the GPU takes care of it. "Case" closed. Thanks!