• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Monitor Unburn Utility

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#1
I left an LCD monitor at work with a static image on the screen over the holidays (about two weeks) and of course it burned in (image retention).

After reading about fixes that do, and do not work, it seemed like the best answer was to force the monitor to cycle back and forth between a completely white screen and a completely black one.

Thus I wrote the little utility below called MonitorUnburn_WF. When you launch it is displays a full black screen and then full white with a change interval of six seconds. The program will keep the system alive so that power settings do not stop it and it will prevent the screensaver from launching (at least it should). This should work for an LCD monitor, LCD TV or Plasma TV to which you have your computer connected.

Instructions :
1) Launch program.
2) Let it run for however long is needed.
3) Hit ESC to exit.

Code:
using System;
using System.Runtime.InteropServices;
using System.Timers;
using System.Drawing;
using System.Windows.Forms;

namespace MonitorUnburn_WF
{
    public partial class Form1 : Form
    {
        [FlagsAttribute]
        public enum EXECUTION_STATE : uint
        {
            ES_SYSTEM_REQUIRED = 0x00000001,
            ES_DISPLAY_REQUIRED = 0x00000002,
            ES_CONTINUOUS = 0x80000000,
        }

        private const uint SHOW_SCREEN = 64;

        [DllImport("kernel32.dll", CharSet = CharSet.Auto, SetLastError = true)]
        public static extern EXECUTION_STATE SetThreadExecutionState(EXECUTION_STATE esFlags);

        [DllImport("user32.dll", EntryPoint = "GetSystemMetrics")]
        public static extern int GetSystemMetrics(int which);

        [DllImport("user32.dll")]
        public static extern void SetWindowPos(IntPtr hwnd, IntPtr hwndInsertAfter,
                     int X, int Y, int width, int height, uint flags);        

        System.Timers.Timer t = new System.Timers.Timer(6000); // 6 second interval

        public Form1()
        {
            InitializeComponent();
            this.FormBorderStyle = System.Windows.Forms.FormBorderStyle.None;
            this.TopMost = true;
            this.BackColor = Color.White;

            // Make it full screen so it even covers the taskbar
            SetWindowPos(this.Handle, IntPtr.Zero, 0, 0, GetSystemMetrics(0), GetSystemMetrics(1), SHOW_SCREEN);

            Cursor.Hide();

            // Tell system that this thread needs the system awake. Should prevent screensaver from launching.
            SetThreadExecutionState(EXECUTION_STATE.ES_CONTINUOUS
                | EXECUTION_STATE.ES_DISPLAY_REQUIRED
                | EXECUTION_STATE.ES_SYSTEM_REQUIRED);

            t.Elapsed += new ElapsedEventHandler(t_Elapsed);
            t.Enabled = true;
        }

        void t_Elapsed(object sender, ElapsedEventArgs e)
        {
            if (this.BackColor == Color.White) this.BackColor = Color.Black;
            else this.BackColor = Color.White;
        }

        private void Form1_KeyPress(object sender, KeyPressEventArgs e)
        {
            if (e.KeyChar == (char)Keys.Escape)
            {
                Cursor.Show();
                Application.Exit();
            }
        }
    }
}

I ran it on the monitor which had bad retention for about 24 hours, and the burn-in is almost gone. I'll leave it run over the weekend to see if I can get rid of it completely.
Depending upon how bad the monitor is burned-in, the required run time could be minutes, hours or days. Some retention is permanent, so results may vary.
Please test and let me know how it works for you.

Compiled using .Net Framework 4 Client.
The reason it is named "WF" is that this is the windows form version. I wrote a DirectX version but it kind of sucks and the executable is much larger.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#2
works for me.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,583 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,915
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
Works for me as well! :toast:
 

Krazy Owl

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
897 (0.41/day)
Likes
76
Location
Montreal
System Name HTPC-Cube
Processor AMD Athlon 64 skt754 3200+ 1M cache
Motherboard Foxconn Winfast K8S760MG-6LRS
Cooling Stock
Memory 2 gigs DDR400
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 AGP 1gig DDR3
Storage White label 80gigs sata
Display(s) Polaroid 19 inches 1366X768 LED
Case Chenming cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Raidmax RX-500S
Software Seven Pro 64bits
#4
What about the one I seen on internet that flashes the screen like hell in lot of pixels from different colours? I know it's for pixel unburning but could it do the same job as your software to remove image retention? I used your software to see if I had dead pixels in my TV. Thanx :)
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,629 (1.09/day)
Likes
937
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#5
I always find it funny when people argue that it is impossible for LCDs to get a burnt in image.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,880 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,413
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#6
How old was the monitor?

EDIT: Anyway screensavers man! It's why they are there! :p
 
Last edited:

Krazy Owl

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
897 (0.41/day)
Likes
76
Location
Montreal
System Name HTPC-Cube
Processor AMD Athlon 64 skt754 3200+ 1M cache
Motherboard Foxconn Winfast K8S760MG-6LRS
Cooling Stock
Memory 2 gigs DDR400
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 AGP 1gig DDR3
Storage White label 80gigs sata
Display(s) Polaroid 19 inches 1366X768 LED
Case Chenming cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Raidmax RX-500S
Software Seven Pro 64bits
#7
I always find it funny when people argue that it is impossible for LCDs to get a burnt in image.
Even for older CRT it was possible. :p
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,314 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#8
Working fine here, tried it on 2 systems will try it on the laptop later. It all so let ya know if your need clean your screen too hehe.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#9
What about the one I seen on internet that flashes the screen like hell in lot of pixels from different colours? I know it's for pixel unburning but could it do the same job as your software to remove image retention?
Yes it could. How effectively I don't know.
There is a lot of conflicting information about what works the best and there does not seem to be a consensus on exactly what causes it. The potential fix, however, seems to be to "exercise" the pixels.

So after extensive high-tech research (read: a wild guess) I came up with two conclusions;
1) Driving the pixels from full intensity to none, and back, would seem to be most effective.
2) My program should not cause epileptic seizures if you watch it.

I used your software to see if I had dead pixels in my TV. Thanx :)
Well there you go. So far this little app has 3 functions;
- Try to eliminate image retention.
- Check for dead pixels.
- Let's you know if your screen is really dusty.
(like AsRock, that was one of the first things I noticed when I ran it. :D )

Thanks for the feedback guys, and if anyone uses it to try to un-burn a monitor I would love to hear the results.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,583 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,915
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
I've got a couple at the office I'll try some time next week. :toast:

EDIT: And yea it shows me how dirty my screen is...lol My 6 year old points at everything... lol bad thing is she gets it from me..lol
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#11
Please test and let me know how it works for you.

Compiled using .Net Framework 4 Client.
The reason it is named "WF" is that this is the windows form version. I wrote a DirectX version but it kind of sucks and the executable is much larger.

My dell monitors have similar built-in. If you power on the monitor without any cables but power, it will cycle through black, white, red, green, and blue. I think it does each color as inside the pixel are individual color emitters, and using those colors "exercises" all the little bits.



You would think though, that each monitor might have a slightly different base color for those emitters?
 

Krazy Owl

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
897 (0.41/day)
Likes
76
Location
Montreal
System Name HTPC-Cube
Processor AMD Athlon 64 skt754 3200+ 1M cache
Motherboard Foxconn Winfast K8S760MG-6LRS
Cooling Stock
Memory 2 gigs DDR400
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 AGP 1gig DDR3
Storage White label 80gigs sata
Display(s) Polaroid 19 inches 1366X768 LED
Case Chenming cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Raidmax RX-500S
Software Seven Pro 64bits
#12
Yes it could. How effectively I don't know.
There is a lot of conflicting information about what works the best and there does not seem to be a consensus on exactly what causes it. The potential fix, however, seems to be to "exercise" the pixels.

So after extensive high-tech research (read: a wild guess) I came up with two conclusions;
1) Driving the pixels from full intensity to none, and back, would seem to be most effective.
2) My program should not cause epileptic seizures if you watch it.



Well there you go. So far this little app has 3 functions;
- Try to eliminate image retention.
- Check for dead pixels.
- Let's you know if your screen is really dusty.
(like AsRock, that was one of the first things I noticed when I ran it. :D )

Thanks for the feedback guys, and if anyone uses it to try to un-burn a monitor I would love to hear the results.
Maybe not epilectic seizure but high rate of depresion to bipolar people who already see life in black & white. :p
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#13
I don't know, Dave. I can't find any really credible information on this.
Does using color variants work better than B->W->B? I don't know.
It's almost impossible to test in a reproducible manner as it depends on the type of screen and how badly it's burnt in.

In some cases with TVs, simply playing full motion video will fix it (similar to what a screensaver does). In other cases that doesn't do diddly. In some cases unplugging the monitor for a couple of days does the trick, but not always (this seems to be the least effective method). Apple has had problems with their retina displays and they recommend putting up a full white screen for the same duration that caused the burn-in. (shrug)

If anyone can find some definitive data on this I will be happy to modify the program.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#14
I think it depends on what emitters are used to produce white, and that's going to vary whether you use IPS to TN panels, perhaps.


What I can say for sure is that this function in Dell monitors is there expressly to combat burn-in, so if they have added those colors as well, it must have some reason behind it.


Would be cool it you could touch base with Dell and find out more about their own thing. I've wondered myself, but that was the explanation I was given by Dell techs when I worked for Dell directly.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#15
I wonder if that feature in the monitor is to prevent burn-in or to eliminate it if it occurs, or both.
Obviously cycling colors would completely prevent it, and it would also help remove it, but my question would be, "Is it as effective or efficient (time wise) for getting rid of it as a BWB cycle?"

I doubt I could get that kind of answer from Dell. Maybe I'll call the engineering department at MIT.
I'm sure someone there could use an idea for a thesis. :)
I have a good friend who has a couple of Masters' degrees from there. He may know someone I could talk to.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#16
Seems to be starting to work on my 24", probably have to run it overnight. Is there any way to get it to run on a 2nd monitor?
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#17
I never thought of that, Johnspack, but that is an excellent suggestion.
I will look into it, but I have no way of testing it as I have no multi-monitor setups.
If you are willing to test it for me I'll be happy to work on coding it.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#18
Sure, I'll test it out!
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#19
Okay. I have the code at work so I'll try to get to it tomorrow when I'm there.
Let me know how it does with the 24" if you leave it run overnight.
How bad was the burn?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#20
It's a fairly noticeable line across the top of my screen that corresponds with the top dark blue bar in firefox, or in my case, waterfox. When I shut my browser down I can see it, and it's annoying!
Edit: god I do a lot of surfing.....
Edit2: it is noticeably lighter now and I only ran it for like 10 mins
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#21
If it's correcting itself that fast I would think an hour or so should eliminate it completely.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#22
Yes, I suspect an hour or 2 should almost do it. Do have some noticeable ghost lines on my 2nd monitor too, but they are not bad, so I assume this will fix it too.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#23
You could run it on the other monitor if you switch primary monitors, but that is up to you.
I will look into some kind of command line option to launch it on secondary monitors.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#24
Command line switch would be fine. Easy enough for me to make a batch file for each, or even a script.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#25
I didn't want to add a UI to the program unless I had to, to keep it as lightweight as possible.
Click icon or a command line with options.
I had thought about a command line option to change the interval, but without any real data on whether that would make any difference I'm not sure it's of any use.
I don't know anyone who will let their monitor cook just to test it. :D