1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

More 790x boards are at the Egg/

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by DaMulta, Nov 17, 2007.

  1. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,159 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,500
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Save me one LOL

    I seen the MSI board is there:rockout:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,662 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    linky?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,159 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,500
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
  4. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,404 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    The msi looks freakin' sweet. And talk about proper quad fire, the pci-e are prefectly spaced...compared to the Gigabyte board (all 4 bunch together).

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    435
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Aww,
    Deep down I'm an AMD fanboy and would love to have a 790FX based AM2+ and a Phenom BUT I'm a sucker for CPU overclocking so AMD is not an option atm. I hope Fusion will be worth the $$$.

    Hmm, why are highend AMD mobos just as expensive as Intel's these days? I didn't used to be like that in the days of S939...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Gigabyte really dropped the ball on the 790x. First, you have the DQ6 that has all 4 gfx slots right next to each other, then you have the DS4 which has 2 gfx slots, but the second only runs at 8x. Absolutely shameful.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    242
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    780 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    i wonder if you can use crossx on the gigabytes mobo. because most of the 3870 and some 3850 cards are dual slots plus the heat of 4 3850 :shadedshu
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    242
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    the reason am getting DS5 is that it got 2x x16 slots at full speed, and 3x pcie x1 + 2x pci + optical out
    i will be lucky if i can get 2 cards in crossfire for the budget monkeys
    :wtf:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Spunky

    Spunky New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    67 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida, USA.
    It's a strategy. A lot of people believe that the more expensive something is, the better it must be. I know quite a few people who don't build their own systems. They buy parts and then have someone else build it for them because they know nothing about system building. So they don't really look at the power:value ratio when they buy their stuff, they just think "oh well, fuck it, this must be good". My better friends always ask me beforehand for my approval since I end up building most of their systems.
     
  11. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Agreed the MSI looks great, not that high $ considering it holds the quad slots.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. cepoi

    cepoi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    122 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    quadfire = all sata slot cannot be used on both board..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    780 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    i will also buy a 2 slot mobo for 3850 crossfire mostly for the carbon footprint i don't want my computer to pollute more than my car....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    435
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Too bad four PCIe x16 slots leave room for only 2 PCI slots...
    I'd need 3 PCIs for X-Fi, DVB-T and the NIC.

    von kain,
    Don't tell me you believe in that CO2 BS and human caused climate change?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    780 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    yeap but i also believe in god and Santa clause and that makes me a sucker
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,662 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    gigabyte board looks nicer but teh layout sux0rs
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    242
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    not the DS5 one :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,508 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm definitely liking how the MSI has the best layout and yet is the most reasonably priced :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,404 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    i think you will be ok...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)