• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

More than one task on GPU ?

Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,347 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,808
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#1
After crunching for Rosetta@home for quite some time i've decided to go with WCG because they also offer GPU computation for certain projects. However i've noticed that no matter how i set it, it always performs just 1 task at once using GPU and like 8 on my CPU (where is the GPU parallelism here!?). Is there any special reason for such behavior or can i force it to use more of my GPU ? I mean, after all i do have the HD7950 and i'd like to run max lets say 4 tasks on it at the same time. Is it possible?
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,661 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,194
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#2
After crunching for Rosetta@home for quite some time i've decided to go with WCG because they also offer GPU computation for certain projects. However i've noticed that no matter how i set it, it always performs just 1 task at once using GPU and like 8 on my CPU (where is the GPU parallelism here!?). Is there any special reason for such behavior or can i force it to use more of my GPU ? I mean, after all i do have the HD7950 and i'd like to run max lets say 4 tasks on it at the same time. Is it possible?
Check/post on this thread and one of our Team members should be able to assist:

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=174138

*Note- 1st post has some pretty good info :)
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,347 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,808
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#3
Ok, thx. I've removed pending tasks and will leave those in progress to finish. Then i'll try the tweaks.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,347 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,808
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#4
The above thread doesn't really help me. I don't want to run only HCC. I have other projects as well. I just want to dedicate more tasks to the GPU.

Assuming if i only change the GPU tasks setting, others will stick to default. However when i changed XML file to this:

<app_info>
<app_version>
<coproc>
<type>ATI</type>
<count>.25</count>
</coproc>
</app_version>
</app_info>
BOINC runs but even though i've allowed new tasks, nothing gets downloaded. Apparently i haven't done something right...
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,347 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,808
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#5
Those configs are useless. I've used one template and now all it does is cruch HCC even though i also work on other projects... it's crunching 10 tasks at once at incredible speed but CPU is not being used for other projects... can someone help me out with this thing?

I'm working with:
Help Conquer cancer
FightAIDS
Fold Human Proteom
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
2,406 (0.83/day)
Likes
2,460
Location
London, UK
System Name Slick
Processor Intel i5 2467M
Motherboard Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook
Memory 8GB Corsair Value
Storage Crucial M4 7mm 256GB
Display(s) 13"
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#6
Those configs are useless. I've used one template and now all it does is cruch HCC even though i also work on other projects... it's crunching 10 tasks at once at incredible speed but CPU is not being used for other projects... can someone help me out with this thing?

I'm working with:
Help Conquer cancer
FightAIDS
Fold Human Proteom
I've only posted configs that have been tested and confirmed working on that page. I did link to XS where OldChap has put a lot of work getting the information for other projects: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?283509-Working-app_info-files

BOINC will only crunch whatever is on app_info so your projects need to be specified inside. I've gone and put together the app_info code you need to run the projects you listed. Asuming this is for your i7/HD7970 setup I made this file use 4 GPU WU (locked to a CPU thread each) for HCC, and to then the remaining 4 CPU threads to work on the FAAH and HPF2 project.

Code:
<app_info>
<!-- Start of the HCC app definition -->
   <app>
      <name>hcc1</name>
      <user_friendly_name>Help Conquer Cancer</user_friendly_name>
   </app>
<! End of the HCC app definition -->
<!-- Start of files required for HCC GPU -->
   <file_info>
      <name>wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86__ati_hcc1</name>
      <executable/> 
   </file_info>
   <file_info>
      <name>hcckernel.cl.7.05</name>
      <executable/>
   </file_info>
<!-- End of files required for HCC GPU -->
<!-- Start of app_version for HCC GPU -->
   <app_version>
      <app_name>hcc1</app_name>
      <version_num>705</version_num>
      <platform>windows_intelx86</platform>
      <plan_class>ati_hcc1</plan_class>
      <avg_ncpus>1.000000</avg_ncpus>
      <max_ncpus>1.000000</max_ncpus>
      <coproc>
         <type>ATI</type>
         <count>0.250000</count>
      </coproc>
      <file_ref>
          <file_name>wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86__ati_hcc1</file_name>
          <main_program/>
      </file_ref>
      <file_ref>
         <file_name>hcckernel.cl.7.05</file_name>
         <open_name>hcckernel.cl</open_name>
      </file_ref>
   </app_version>
<!-- End of app info for HCC GPU -->
<!-- Start of Fight Aids at Home -->
<app>
    <name>faah</name>
    <user_friendly_name>FightAIDS@Home</user_friendly_name>
</app>
<file_info>
    <name>wcg_faah_autodock_6.40_windows_intelx86</name>
    <executable/>
</file_info>
<file_info>
    <name>wcg_faah_autodock_graphics_6.40_windows_intelx86</name>
    <executable/>
</file_info>
<file_info>
    <name>faah_protease_6.40.dat</name>
</file_info>
<file_info>
    <name>faah_image_6.40.tga</name>
</file_info>
<app_version>
    <app_name>faah</app_name>
    <version_num>640</version_num>
    <platform>windows_intelx86</platform>
    <avg_ncpus>1.000000</avg_ncpus>
    <max_ncpus>1.000000</max_ncpus>
    <flops>3894434573.022523</flops>
    <api_version>6.3.3</api_version>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>wcg_faah_autodock_6.40_windows_intelx86</file_name>
        <main_program/>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>wcg_faah_autodock_graphics_6.40_windows_intelx86</file_name>
        <open_name>graphics_app</open_name>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>faah_protease_6.40.dat</file_name>
        <open_name>protease.dat</open_name>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>faah_image_6.40.tga</file_name>
        <open_name>wc_grid_s1b2.tga</open_name>
    </file_ref>
</app_version>
<!-- End of Fight Aids at Home -->
<!-- Start of Human Proteome Folding -->
<app>
    <name>hpf2</name>
    <user_friendly_name>Human Proteome Folding - Phase 2</user_friendly_name>
</app>
<file_info>
    <name>wcg_hpf2_rosetta_6.40_windows_intelx86</name>
    <executable/>
</file_info>
<file_info>
    <name>wcg_hpf2_6.40.tga</name>
    <executable/>
</file_info>
<file_info>
    <name>wcg_hpf2_rosetta_graphics_6.40_windows_intelx86</name>
    <executable/>
</file_info>
<file_info>
    <name>hpf2_6.40_win_paths.txt</name>
    <executable/>
</file_info>

<app_version>
    <app_name>hpf2</app_name>
    <version_num>640</version_num>
    <platform>windows_intelx86</platform>
    <avg_ncpus>1.000000</avg_ncpus>
    <max_ncpus>1.000000</max_ncpus>
    <flops>3570131549.238372</flops>
    <api_version>6.3.3</api_version>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>wcg_hpf2_rosetta_6.40_windows_intelx86</file_name>
        <main_program/>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>wcg_hpf2_6.40.tga</file_name>
        <open_name>wc_grid_hpf2.tga</open_name>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>wcg_hpf2_rosetta_graphics_6.40_windows_intelx86</file_name>
        <open_name>graphics_app</open_name>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>hpf2_6.40_win_paths.txt</file_name>
        <open_name>paths.txt</open_name>
    </file_ref>
</app_version>

<app_version>
    <app_name>hpf2</app_name>
    <version_num>640</version_num>
    <platform>windows_x86_64</platform>
    <avg_ncpus>1.000000</avg_ncpus>
    <max_ncpus>1.000000</max_ncpus>
    <flops>3570131549.238372</flops>
    <api_version>6.3.3</api_version>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>wcg_hpf2_rosetta_6.40_windows_intelx86</file_name>
        <main_program/>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>wcg_hpf2_6.40.tga</file_name>
        <open_name>wc_grid_hpf2.tga</open_name>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>wcg_hpf2_rosetta_graphics_6.40_windows_intelx86</file_name>
        <open_name>graphics_app</open_name>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>hpf2_6.40_win_paths.txt</file_name>
        <open_name>paths.txt</open_name>
    </file_ref>
</app_version>
<!-- End of Fight Aids at Home -->
</app_info>
I think you already have a good grasp of how this works, but for posteriety I'll write down the steps needed to make the change minimising the chance of errors.

Before you install it:
1) Hit "no new tasks" in BOINC. Wait to finish or abort (send back to server) the WU in the task list.
2) Once clear, close BOINC and remove your app_info.
3) Start BOINC without any app_info. Hit the update button, wait for BOINC to download everything it needs to run normally.
4) Repeat step 1) at this point
5) Close BOINC, put in this new app_info file and restart it.

Remember, this file is untested! But let me know if you encounter any problems.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,347 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,808
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#7
Yeah, only problem is that you have to explicitly specify everything. I thought it only reads stuff that you specify and the rest remains default. But it seems that app_info.xml overrides everything.

One more question, does the GPU WU have to be locked to 1 CPU core as well (1 CPU + 1 GPU)?

I'd dedicate just GPU for like 10 HCC WU's (without any CPU assist) and the remaining 8 threads for FightAIDS and HumanProteome

Is this even possible?
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#8
By default each GPU WU needs a CPU core to assist it. You can subdivide the cores but it may impact your WU completion times.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#9
Yeah, only problem is that you have to explicitly specify everything. I thought it only reads stuff that you specify and the rest remains default. But it seems that app_info.xml overrides everything.

One more question, does the GPU WU have to be locked to 1 CPU core as well (1 CPU + 1 GPU)?

I'd dedicate just GPU for like 10 HCC WU's (without any CPU assist) and the remaining 8 threads for FightAIDS and HumanProteome

Is this even possible?
On my i7-920, I'm running 12 GPU WUs (4/card) and 1 CPU WU. This is probably about as hard as you'd want to push it. The output of the CPU is low enough (at least compared to a GPU) that you don't want to make the GPUs wait any longer by throwing in more CPU tasks :)
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,347 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,808
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#10
Thx for all the effort but after poking with this thing for a while i've decided to stop all other projects for now and will only continue to work on HCC using 8 CPU + GPU threads (0.125 GPU load). When other projects will start using GPU, i'll add those as well.

Using CPU seems such a waste of energy. It's crunching data for 4 hours at 100% load where GPU does like 10 WU's in 10 minutes. It's just not comparable.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#11
Thx for all the effort but after poking with this thing for a while i've decided to stop all other projects for now and will only continue to work on HCC using 8 CPU + GPU threads (0.125 GPU load). When other projects will start using GPU, i'll add those as well.

Using CPU seems such a waste of energy. It's crunching data for 4 hours at 100% load where GPU does like 10 WU's in 10 minutes. It's just not comparable.
Fair enough. I like to support other projects as well, but in terms of work done/watt consumed, it's hard to beat a GPU right now.

I'm glad to have you running your GPU for the Team :toast:
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,125 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,207
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#12
Yeah, I've found my output is higher if I just use the cpu to feed my gpus. Plus my work cache would get overfilled with slow cpu wus and keep running out of gpu wus.