• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

More than one task on GPU ?

Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (1.93/day)
After crunching for Rosetta@home for quite some time i've decided to go with WCG because they also offer GPU computation for certain projects. However i've noticed that no matter how i set it, it always performs just 1 task at once using GPU and like 8 on my CPU (where is the GPU parallelism here!?). Is there any special reason for such behavior or can i force it to use more of my GPU ? I mean, after all i do have the HD7950 and i'd like to run max lets say 4 tasks on it at the same time. Is it possible?
 

Norton

Moderator - Returning from the Darkness
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
14,108 (3.13/day)
Location
Northeast USA
System Name Main PC- Gamer- Main Cruncher/Folder and too many crunching/folding rigs
Processor Ryzen 5900X- Ryzen 5950X- Ryzen 3950X and etc...
Motherboard Asrock X570 Extreme4- MSI X570S Tomahawk MAX WiFi- MSI B450M Bazooka Max and etc...
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S (dual fan)- EK 360 AIO with push/pull fans- Corsair H115i RGB Pro XT and etc...
Memory 2x16GB GSkill FlareX 3200/c14- 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance 3600/c16- 2x16GB Team 3600/c18 and etc..
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming RX 6800- Asus RTX 3070 TUF OC- MSI Ventus GTX 1660Ti and etc...
Storage Main PC (1TB WD SN850- 2TB PNY CS 3040- 2TB Seagate Firecuda) and etc...
Display(s) Main PC (2x24" Dell UltraSharp U2414H)
Case Phanteks P600s- Seasonic Q704- Fractal Meshify C and etc...
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z625 THX 2.1 speakers
Power Supply EVGA 750 G3- SeaSonic DGC 750- EVGA P2 850 and etc...
Mouse G300s
Keyboard Corsair K65
VR HMD N/A
Software Windows 10 Pro or Ubuntu
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
After crunching for Rosetta@home for quite some time i've decided to go with WCG because they also offer GPU computation for certain projects. However i've noticed that no matter how i set it, it always performs just 1 task at once using GPU and like 8 on my CPU (where is the GPU parallelism here!?). Is there any special reason for such behavior or can i force it to use more of my GPU ? I mean, after all i do have the HD7950 and i'd like to run max lets say 4 tasks on it at the same time. Is it possible?

Check/post on this thread and one of our Team members should be able to assist:

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=174138

*Note- 1st post has some pretty good info :)
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (1.93/day)
The above thread doesn't really help me. I don't want to run only HCC. I have other projects as well. I just want to dedicate more tasks to the GPU.

Assuming if i only change the GPU tasks setting, others will stick to default. However when i changed XML file to this:

<app_info>
<app_version>
<coproc>
<type>ATI</type>
<count>.25</count>
</coproc>
</app_version>
</app_info>

BOINC runs but even though i've allowed new tasks, nothing gets downloaded. Apparently i haven't done something right...
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (1.93/day)
Those configs are useless. I've used one template and now all it does is cruch HCC even though i also work on other projects... it's crunching 10 tasks at once at incredible speed but CPU is not being used for other projects... can someone help me out with this thing?

I'm working with:
Help Conquer cancer
FightAIDS
Fold Human Proteom
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
2,406 (0.46/day)
Location
London, UK
System Name Slick
Processor Intel i5 2467M
Motherboard Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook
Memory 8GB Corsair Value
Storage Crucial M4 7mm 256GB
Display(s) 13"
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
Those configs are useless. I've used one template and now all it does is cruch HCC even though i also work on other projects... it's crunching 10 tasks at once at incredible speed but CPU is not being used for other projects... can someone help me out with this thing?

I'm working with:
Help Conquer cancer
FightAIDS
Fold Human Proteom

I've only posted configs that have been tested and confirmed working on that page. I did link to XS where OldChap has put a lot of work getting the information for other projects: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?283509-Working-app_info-files

BOINC will only crunch whatever is on app_info so your projects need to be specified inside. I've gone and put together the app_info code you need to run the projects you listed. Asuming this is for your i7/HD7970 setup I made this file use 4 GPU WU (locked to a CPU thread each) for HCC, and to then the remaining 4 CPU threads to work on the FAAH and HPF2 project.

Code:
<app_info>
<!-- Start of the HCC app definition -->
   <app>
      <name>hcc1</name>
      <user_friendly_name>Help Conquer Cancer</user_friendly_name>
   </app>
<! End of the HCC app definition -->
<!-- Start of files required for HCC GPU -->
   <file_info>
      <name>wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86__ati_hcc1</name>
      <executable/> 
   </file_info>
   <file_info>
      <name>hcckernel.cl.7.05</name>
      <executable/>
   </file_info>
<!-- End of files required for HCC GPU -->
<!-- Start of app_version for HCC GPU -->
   <app_version>
      <app_name>hcc1</app_name>
      <version_num>705</version_num>
      <platform>windows_intelx86</platform>
      <plan_class>ati_hcc1</plan_class>
      <avg_ncpus>1.000000</avg_ncpus>
      <max_ncpus>1.000000</max_ncpus>
      <coproc>
         <type>ATI</type>
         <count>0.250000</count>
      </coproc>
      <file_ref>
          <file_name>wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86__ati_hcc1</file_name>
          <main_program/>
      </file_ref>
      <file_ref>
         <file_name>hcckernel.cl.7.05</file_name>
         <open_name>hcckernel.cl</open_name>
      </file_ref>
   </app_version>
<!-- End of app info for HCC GPU -->
<!-- Start of Fight Aids at Home -->
<app>
    <name>faah</name>
    <user_friendly_name>FightAIDS@Home</user_friendly_name>
</app>
<file_info>
    <name>wcg_faah_autodock_6.40_windows_intelx86</name>
    <executable/>
</file_info>
<file_info>
    <name>wcg_faah_autodock_graphics_6.40_windows_intelx86</name>
    <executable/>
</file_info>
<file_info>
    <name>faah_protease_6.40.dat</name>
</file_info>
<file_info>
    <name>faah_image_6.40.tga</name>
</file_info>
<app_version>
    <app_name>faah</app_name>
    <version_num>640</version_num>
    <platform>windows_intelx86</platform>
    <avg_ncpus>1.000000</avg_ncpus>
    <max_ncpus>1.000000</max_ncpus>
    <flops>3894434573.022523</flops>
    <api_version>6.3.3</api_version>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>wcg_faah_autodock_6.40_windows_intelx86</file_name>
        <main_program/>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>wcg_faah_autodock_graphics_6.40_windows_intelx86</file_name>
        <open_name>graphics_app</open_name>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>faah_protease_6.40.dat</file_name>
        <open_name>protease.dat</open_name>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>faah_image_6.40.tga</file_name>
        <open_name>wc_grid_s1b2.tga</open_name>
    </file_ref>
</app_version>
<!-- End of Fight Aids at Home -->
<!-- Start of Human Proteome Folding -->
<app>
    <name>hpf2</name>
    <user_friendly_name>Human Proteome Folding - Phase 2</user_friendly_name>
</app>
<file_info>
    <name>wcg_hpf2_rosetta_6.40_windows_intelx86</name>
    <executable/>
</file_info>
<file_info>
    <name>wcg_hpf2_6.40.tga</name>
    <executable/>
</file_info>
<file_info>
    <name>wcg_hpf2_rosetta_graphics_6.40_windows_intelx86</name>
    <executable/>
</file_info>
<file_info>
    <name>hpf2_6.40_win_paths.txt</name>
    <executable/>
</file_info>

<app_version>
    <app_name>hpf2</app_name>
    <version_num>640</version_num>
    <platform>windows_intelx86</platform>
    <avg_ncpus>1.000000</avg_ncpus>
    <max_ncpus>1.000000</max_ncpus>
    <flops>3570131549.238372</flops>
    <api_version>6.3.3</api_version>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>wcg_hpf2_rosetta_6.40_windows_intelx86</file_name>
        <main_program/>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>wcg_hpf2_6.40.tga</file_name>
        <open_name>wc_grid_hpf2.tga</open_name>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>wcg_hpf2_rosetta_graphics_6.40_windows_intelx86</file_name>
        <open_name>graphics_app</open_name>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>hpf2_6.40_win_paths.txt</file_name>
        <open_name>paths.txt</open_name>
    </file_ref>
</app_version>

<app_version>
    <app_name>hpf2</app_name>
    <version_num>640</version_num>
    <platform>windows_x86_64</platform>
    <avg_ncpus>1.000000</avg_ncpus>
    <max_ncpus>1.000000</max_ncpus>
    <flops>3570131549.238372</flops>
    <api_version>6.3.3</api_version>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>wcg_hpf2_rosetta_6.40_windows_intelx86</file_name>
        <main_program/>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>wcg_hpf2_6.40.tga</file_name>
        <open_name>wc_grid_hpf2.tga</open_name>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>wcg_hpf2_rosetta_graphics_6.40_windows_intelx86</file_name>
        <open_name>graphics_app</open_name>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>hpf2_6.40_win_paths.txt</file_name>
        <open_name>paths.txt</open_name>
    </file_ref>
</app_version>
<!-- End of Fight Aids at Home -->
</app_info>
I think you already have a good grasp of how this works, but for posteriety I'll write down the steps needed to make the change minimising the chance of errors.

Before you install it:
1) Hit "no new tasks" in BOINC. Wait to finish or abort (send back to server) the WU in the task list.
2) Once clear, close BOINC and remove your app_info.
3) Start BOINC without any app_info. Hit the update button, wait for BOINC to download everything it needs to run normally.
4) Repeat step 1) at this point
5) Close BOINC, put in this new app_info file and restart it.

Remember, this file is untested! But let me know if you encounter any problems.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (1.93/day)
Yeah, only problem is that you have to explicitly specify everything. I thought it only reads stuff that you specify and the rest remains default. But it seems that app_info.xml overrides everything.

One more question, does the GPU WU have to be locked to 1 CPU core as well (1 CPU + 1 GPU)?

I'd dedicate just GPU for like 10 HCC WU's (without any CPU assist) and the remaining 8 threads for FightAIDS and HumanProteome

Is this even possible?
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,012 (0.75/day)
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid SC2 11GB @ 2012/5151 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
By default each GPU WU needs a CPU core to assist it. You can subdivide the cores but it may impact your WU completion times.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (2.51/day)
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
Yeah, only problem is that you have to explicitly specify everything. I thought it only reads stuff that you specify and the rest remains default. But it seems that app_info.xml overrides everything.

One more question, does the GPU WU have to be locked to 1 CPU core as well (1 CPU + 1 GPU)?

I'd dedicate just GPU for like 10 HCC WU's (without any CPU assist) and the remaining 8 threads for FightAIDS and HumanProteome

Is this even possible?
On my i7-920, I'm running 12 GPU WUs (4/card) and 1 CPU WU. This is probably about as hard as you'd want to push it. The output of the CPU is low enough (at least compared to a GPU) that you don't want to make the GPUs wait any longer by throwing in more CPU tasks :)
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (1.93/day)
Thx for all the effort but after poking with this thing for a while i've decided to stop all other projects for now and will only continue to work on HCC using 8 CPU + GPU threads (0.125 GPU load). When other projects will start using GPU, i'll add those as well.

Using CPU seems such a waste of energy. It's crunching data for 4 hours at 100% load where GPU does like 10 WU's in 10 minutes. It's just not comparable.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (2.51/day)
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
Thx for all the effort but after poking with this thing for a while i've decided to stop all other projects for now and will only continue to work on HCC using 8 CPU + GPU threads (0.125 GPU load). When other projects will start using GPU, i'll add those as well.

Using CPU seems such a waste of energy. It's crunching data for 4 hours at 100% load where GPU does like 10 WU's in 10 minutes. It's just not comparable.

Fair enough. I like to support other projects as well, but in terms of work done/watt consumed, it's hard to beat a GPU right now.

I'm glad to have you running your GPU for the Team :toast:
 

johnspack

Here For Good!
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,983 (0.99/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name System2 Blacknet , System1 Blacknet2
Processor System2 Threadripper 1920x, System1 2699 v3
Motherboard System2 Asrock Fatality x399 Professional Gaming, System1 Asus X99-A
Cooling System2 Noctua NH-U14 TR4-SP3 Dual 140mm fans, System1 AIO
Memory System2 64GBS DDR4 3000, System1 32gbs DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) System2 GTX 980Ti System1 GTX 970
Storage System2 4x SSDs + NVme= 2.250TB 2xStorage Drives=8TB System1 3x SSDs=2TB
Display(s) 2x 24" 1080 displays
Case System2 Some Nzxt case with soundproofing...
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar U7 MKII
Power Supply System2 EVGA 750 Watt, System1 XFX XTR 750 Watt
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky
Software Manjaro, Windows 10, Kubuntu 23.10
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Yeah, I've found my output is higher if I just use the cpu to feed my gpus. Plus my work cache would get overfilled with slow cpu wus and keep running out of gpu wus.
 
Top