1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Morphological Anti-aliasing on 5870

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by theoneandonlymrk, Oct 23, 2010.

  1. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,903 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,508
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    I Just tried the mod cat 10a hotfix driver as discussed in the 6800 thread works very very well, F1 2010 is so much better now and i tested a few diff ways as you can still enable supersampling as well, and i found it gives crispist but best image with morpho on and set to multisample, surface optimasation also works and works well below are the files which need to be pasted into the extarcted folders made by cat 10.10a hotfix in AMD on C:
    steps
    A download files below and Catalyst_8.782.1RC5_Win7_MLAA_Oct21
    available at http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/GPU84AMDCatalyst1010aHotfix.aspx

    B do first part of driver install then hit cancel after its unpacked files ie it will unpack to C:/AMD usually

    C copy file C7106976 into C:AMD/Catalyst_8.782.1RC5_Win7_MLAA_Oct21/packages/driver/display/W76A_INF copying over original

    D copy file CW106976 into C:AMD/Catalyst_8.782.1RC5_Win7_MLAA_Oct21/packages/driver/display/W7_INF copying over original

    E then fully install from this folder then restart

    alternatively and thanks to others download and install this pre modded driver http://www.mediafire.com/?5h6cpooivo4sbox

    then restart as normal - done

    ive added this link to save people some time thanks for any help all

    you should have extra options opened up in catalyst 3d settings tab for morpho antialiasing and also a check box for surface optimization

    View attachment 38590

    *this as far as i know only works on radeon 5xxx series gfx cards

    belows a link to modded files done by MerolaC a Good man:toast:

    http://www.mediafire.com/?m45q04k70m4d28i

    edit- poor grammer e*
    edit- poor guide(thanks eastcoast)
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2012
    RockON and EastCoasthandle say thanks.
  2. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,885 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    If you want people to try it you will need to give exact, detail and specific instruction on what to do.
    This means a step by step guide. For example:
    A. download 10.10a hotfix
    B. extract it to it's default folder some where on the HD
    C. take this file (download file) and replace, etc
    You get the idea. Your instructions are simply vague for someone who's never modded drivers before.
     
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    can this moded driver work for HD 4850 because its support direct compute also
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,315 (10.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,373
    No.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,903 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,508
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    im not 100% sure as ive only got a 5870 although i cant see why not as its not ment to work for me and your right but it might need compute 5 as it uses this
     
  6. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    what do you mean? isn't direct compute was part of DX10/10.1 :confused:
     
  7. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,903 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,508
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    yes but im sure 4xxx series was direct compute 4 and the routine uses direct compute 5 but thats just going off what ive read it cant hurt to try in my opinion but ive seen a few posts say no on another thread/site
     
  8. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,885 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    OP, also provide a pics as proof that it works. Reassure the folks. TPU also always you to save them here as well (I believe it's the paper clip icon to the right of the smiley face).
     
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,325 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,001
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Take what file download and replace? Only things I see for download are the already moded drivers and the original hot fix.

    I installed the already moded drivers and got the feature but it didn't change anything in games. I tried New Vegas with AA off to see a difference with Morphological AA checked or unchecked and it looked the same in both screenshots.

    Is a clean install absolutely necessary or will the update work?

    EDIT: Also when look at the CCC test screen is Morphological Filtering supposed to filter the test screen in CCC as well (If its working)?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,903 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,508
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    if you have enabled it you should see a marked improvement on far object AA especially
    and the driver linked is the hotfix 10.10a driver not a modded one the files that you need to copy into the unpacked driver are at the bottom of the post
    did you find a diff modded driver?
     
  11. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,148 (4.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,014
    Location:
    Florida
    I read this as mythological antialiasing and was like lol silly OP AA isnt a myth.
     
    Ev1LrYu, wolf and theoneandonlymrk say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,616 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    970
    Location:
    London, UK
    your not the only one :roll:
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  13. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,903 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,508
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    mythalogical is some way off yet lol:)
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2010
  14. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,903 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,508
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    sorry aphex i forgot to say i just over installed i never clean
     
    AphexDreamer says thanks.
  15. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,028 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,498
    give us results :D

    MLAA VS 4XAA VS NOAA in fps and image quality
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2010
  16. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,885 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    The mod doesn't work for me. When installing the drivers I get a yellow question mark saying that the drivers didn't install.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,834 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,366
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    It doesnt work,another bullshit thread

    /Thread
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,903 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,508
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    it works just fine on mine il put together some benches while im doing nowt
     
  19. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,903 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,508
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    eastcoast i got same messages when i previousley tried to install cat 10.10 any ver untill the cat10.10a hotfix came out i hadnt had them installed right but had manually updated all the drivers myself in device manager because the error message i got 1st time said device not supported

    edit i really need to start readin em 1st
     
  20. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,325 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,001
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Well its installed and I have it on but I see no difference in games with it on or off which leads me to believe its just not working.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,903 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,508
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    ive done some benches with dirt 2 all gfx set to ultimate high or highest, vsync off, at 1920*1080res tho in windowed mode they all look 720p but effect was there in game tho not in widowed mode for some reason and antialiasing was off in game and cat forced each time tho personally i put in game to x4 norm and it looks better anyway attached are pics to prove its working with a minimal overhead too.

    1st with morpho on and supersample on
    View attachment 38594

    2nd with morpho on and multysample on
    View attachment 38593

    3rd with morpho off and multisample on
    View attachment 38592
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2012
  22. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,325 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,001
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    They are all the same performance wise, I see no difference?

    I want to see the difference in graphics quality with MAA on and Off. Cause I don't see any.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,903 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,508
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    no and to be honest windowed there wasnt any but i was aiming them benches at performance hit caused mostly cos thats wot has me most impressed and cos in game my printscrn button wont work right so il get fraps and sort it out and il post them and some other screens in fifferent modes might use caps viewer as its easyer to compare and grade as well as dirt 2 unless someone can think of a better graphical game bfbc2 crysis F1 2010 metro 2033?
     
  24. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,028 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,498
    FRAPS can't catch MAA. thats a problem
     
  25. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,885 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    No biggie man. Thanks for creating the thread though. Perhaps someone else will get it to work.

    Furthermore, I found a post where a user slipstreamed the mod so all you do is install the drivers like you normally do. That may help others as well.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)