• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Most Windows 7 PCs Max Out Memory

Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
681 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H80i GTX
Memory Patriot Gamer 2 Series 8GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX 460 4GB
Storage 1TB WD Red
Display(s) 1920x1080 HDTV
Case NZXT Phantom 240
Power Supply Corsair CX750M 750w
Software Win7 Professional though I hate it, I want XP back!
#1
http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/9158258/Most_Windows_7_PCs_max_out_memory
Very interesting!

Microsoft is so full of it if they think anyone would use this piece of crap!

Most Windows 7 PCs max out their memory, resulting in performance bottlenecks, a researcher said today.

On average, 86% of Windows 7 machines in the XPnet pool are regularly consuming 90%-95% of their available RAM, resulting in slow-downs as the systems were forced to increasingly turn to disk-based virtual memory to handle tasks.

The 86% mark for Windows 7 is more than twice the average number of Windows XP machines that run at the memory "saturation" point

The low-memory condition of most Windows 7 PCs is even more notable considering the amount of RAM in Windows 7 systems: According to XPnet's polling, Windows 7 PCs sport an average of 3.3GB of memory, compared to 1.7GB in the average Windows XP computer. (Machines running Windows Vista contain an average of 2.7GB.)
WTF?!?!

Is 8GB now required to get acceptable bottleneck free performance from Windows?

WTF is Microsoft thinking?

Screw this, I'm sticking with XP!
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
3,471 (1.04/day)
Likes
655
System Name Acer Aspire V3-771G-53218G75Maii
Processor Core i5 3210M (2,5-3,1Ghz)
Memory 8GB DDR3 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Geforce GT650M
Storage Samsung 830 256GB - 750GB Toshiba drive
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (non-acer-bloatware)
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,786 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,776
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#3
I haven't messed with 7 yet, but I'm interested for someone who's running it to post on mem usage/footprint. There's a possibility that win 7 needs some memory leak fixes.

Right now, I'm in XP, have TWO instances of AutoCAD running, outlook & ie... I'm only using up 1.7GB of physical memory.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#4
This is user related not a problem with windows. I've seen a few pc's running win7 with hundreds of programs running in the background. Running steam firefox msn etc win7 on my pc uses up 1.5gb of ram.

Also this is the same kind of FUD that came with win vista and I'm sick of it by now. There were no problems with vista and 7 and it's time people let xp die.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#5
Windows 7 X64 bit Ultimate

 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#6
im calling absolute bull shit.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
2,406 (0.83/day)
Likes
2,460
Location
London, UK
System Name Slick
Processor Intel i5 2467M
Motherboard Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook
Memory 8GB Corsair Value
Storage Crucial M4 7mm 256GB
Display(s) 13"
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#7
I fail to see what's wrong with Windows7 making better use of the RAM available. Those high memory use percentages for Windows7 quite likely don't take into account most of that is SuperFetch which actually speeds up your computer.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
5,105 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,249
Location
Kansas
Processor Core i5 3570K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Pro4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory 2x4GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming
Storage 240GB OCZ ARC 100, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Antec P100
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64
#8
Um, fail? I did everything short of starting a game. I must only have 1.3GB of RAM. :roll:
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
http://arstechnica.com/microsoft/news/2010/02/behind-the-windows-7-memory-usage-scaremongering.ars

In defence of the study; It was accurate, however the data was/is just misinterpreted.

If I look at my main rig right now, with 8GB of RAM, I have 0MB Free. That is the number that the study focuses on. And part of this goes back to ignorance of the way Windows handles memory. It used to be completely acceptable to take the amount of free RAM, and assume anything that wasn't free was being used. However, that changed with Vista, and of course Windows 7 is the same. This was a major issue for why Vista got a bad rap as being a memory hog. So for my main rig, the study would have included me in that groupd of people with maxed out memory. When the proper way to look at memory useage is to look at how much memory is actually inuse, this excludes the memory being used for superfetching.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
2,406 (0.83/day)
Likes
2,460
Location
London, UK
System Name Slick
Processor Intel i5 2467M
Motherboard Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook
Memory 8GB Corsair Value
Storage Crucial M4 7mm 256GB
Display(s) 13"
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#10
Um, fail? I did everything short of starting a game. I must only have 1.3GB of RAM. :roll:
http://img.techpowerup.org/100224/ram.png
Look at the "free" memory. Says it's only 104MB. That's because the "Available" is used for SuperFetch but becomes free as soon as it is needed, so Windows 7 doesn't show it as being used on the graph.

The program used to get the results posted in the OP, clearly sums cahced and non-cached (available) to get that high memory use percentage.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#11
Look at the "free" memory. Says it's only 104MB. That's because the "Available" is used for SuperFetch but becomes free as soon as it is needed, so Windows 7 doesn't show it as being used on the graph.

The program used to get the results posted in the OP, clearly sums cahced and non-cached (available) to get that high memory use percentage.
Correct, and while the article in the OP says that the low amount of free memory would cause hard drive swapping to start to occure, the exact opposite is ture. Superfetching is designed to help eliminate the wait caused by needing to access the hard drive to load a program, and the cached memory space can instantly be dumped without the need to swap it to the hard drive first.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560 (0.63/day)
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#12
Yeah I nearly s&*t myself when I noticed a similar reading in task manager. I use 4 gigs and I had NO programs running whatsoever. Task manager said I had about 40 mb free and for a moment i thought it was some kind of epic fail. Of course there was something like three gigabytes under "cached" , but still....
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#13
http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/9158258/Most_Windows_7_PCs_max_out_memory
Very interesting!

Microsoft is so full of it if they think anyone would use this piece of crap!



WTF?!?!

Is 8GB now required to get acceptable bottleneck free performance from Windows?

WTF is Microsoft thinking?

Screw this, I'm sticking with XP!
Did you happen to notice this at the top of the story?:shadedshu

"Computerworld - Editor's note: The person quoted in this story as "Craig Barth" is actually Randall C. Kennedy, an InfoWorld contributor. Kennedy, who presented himself as the CTO of Devil Mountain Software, no longer works at InfoWorld. Given that he disguised his identity to Computerworld and a number of other publications, the credibility of Kennedy's statements is called into question. Rather than simply remove stories in which he is quoted, we have left them online so readers can weigh his data and conclusions for themselves."

More info, here.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
2,406 (0.83/day)
Likes
2,460
Location
London, UK
System Name Slick
Processor Intel i5 2467M
Motherboard Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook
Memory 8GB Corsair Value
Storage Crucial M4 7mm 256GB
Display(s) 13"
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#14
From the article:
The person quoted in this story as "Craig Barth" is actually Randall C. Kennedy, an InfoWorld contributor. Kennedy, who presented himself as the CTO of Devil Mountain Software, no longer works at InfoWorld.
If he can make wild claims like those without even the most basic study of how Windows7 manages memory, it doesn't suprise me he no longer works there. :slap:

EDIT: lol, got beaten to that post by 95viper
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.99/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#15
dunce ...
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#16
Sorry there, KieX.:)
______________________________________________________________________________________


I just get P.O.ed at all the Windows bashing, everytime a da*n new one comes out. I think considering all the lines of code, all the multitude of hardware and software, MS does a pretty good job of what they do and have to work with. And they have done a decent job with memory management and usage. It ain't perfect, but it is better than it was and will be better in the next iteration.

If you (in general) prefer XP, Vista or whatever, use it.

My rant, my opinion.
Gotta let the dog out, she has to sh*t.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,877 (3.46/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#17
Meh, I have "only" 2GB, and it works perfectly.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.45/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#18
Like ive always said,why put 4gb of ram in your pc if you dont want windows to use it.May as well just put a 512mb stick in it if it bothers you.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,946 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#19
I use 4Gb of RAM and a 8GB flash drive for readyboost to get the best performance, moved my swap file to a seperate drive I have never ran out of memory even when editing my HD movies. actually the programs refuse to use the memory as they are still stuck at 32 bit.

So their study is shit, Windows 7 has great memory handling considering the plethoura of pinatas the average pedro runs on a PC. Plus superfetch makes applications launch uber fast even after a month of continuous uptime.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#20
I'm beginning to think this is a troll thread.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#21
I'm beginning to think this is a troll thread.
I don't know, it is easy for the less informed to read that article and it be totally believable(with the exception of the warning at the beginning about the person hiding his identity). Though the software/study does exist, so his identity doesn't really matter to the contents of the article. This is especially true if you have already believe most of the hype about Vista's poor performance and resource usage.

I think this is more of an issue of believing and freaking out about everything you read on the internet...
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#22
@ Eric - I'd definitely stay with XP until you've got a better specification to handle Windows 7 in the way you want. You could run 7 now but you might as well wait until you get a new machine.

The article isn't very good as the other comments have basically stated.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#23
Wow I thought this was an old outdated argument. Everyone Knows since windows vista that an OS should be designed to use all your RAM to have a more elegant experience while using your computer but then generously gives it back if an application needs it.

I currently have 68MB Free and I'm mad that its not 0MB. I can only imagine how much smoother things got with 8GM RAM or more. Makes the RAM upgrade worth while don't you think.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,903 (6.25/day)
Likes
9,994
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#24
I thought bull until I checked:


6 GiB installed, Call of Pripyat is running minimized (1.3 GiB) and WMP 12 is playing music (~40 MiB). Only 30 MiB is "free." Almost 3.5 GiB is claimed by Windows but not put to use.

Should Windows be a greedy bastard taking all the memory it can lay its hands on? No. for that reason, the article has some merit. "Maxes out memory" stretches the truth a bit, however, for the sake of headlines.


SuperFetch is most likely somewhere between the 2.6 GiB used and the 3.5 GiB cached (approximately 1 GiB RAM used for SuperFetch). That still doesn't explain the 3.5 GiB "available."
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#25
Should Windows be a greedy bastard taking all the memory it can lay its hands on? No.
Anyone that knows how the newer versions of Windows handles memory, would know the correct answer to that question is actually Yes. Superfetch filling up every last bit of unused memory is a good thing, and has nothing but a positive effect on performance.