• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Motherboard capacitors question

Joined
Sep 16, 2013
Messages
1,357 (0.88/day)
Likes
637
Location
Canada
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 - 3.00/6M/1333
Motherboard AsRock G31M-GS R2.0
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex 752 - Black
Memory 4 Go (2x2) Kingston ValueRam DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Asus EN8600GT/HTDP/512M
Storage WD 3200AAKS
Display(s) 32" Irico E320GV-FHD
Case Aerocool Qx-2000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax NoiseTaker 2 - 465w
Mouse Logitech Wave MK550 combo (M510)
Keyboard Logitech Wave MK550 combo (K350)
Software Win_7_Pro-French
Benchmark Scores Windows index : 6.5 / 6.5 / 5.6 / 6.3 / 5.9
#1
I have to change capacitors on a mobo that still start and post in bios.

The rated voltage and farah have to be respected but what about the size of it ? let say a capacitor of 1/4 inch will it be same thing as one of 1/2 inch ?

Thx
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Sep 16, 2013
Messages
1,357 (0.88/day)
Likes
637
Location
Canada
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 - 3.00/6M/1333
Motherboard AsRock G31M-GS R2.0
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex 752 - Black
Memory 4 Go (2x2) Kingston ValueRam DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Asus EN8600GT/HTDP/512M
Storage WD 3200AAKS
Display(s) 32" Irico E320GV-FHD
Case Aerocool Qx-2000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax NoiseTaker 2 - 465w
Mouse Logitech Wave MK550 combo (M510)
Keyboard Logitech Wave MK550 combo (K350)
Software Win_7_Pro-French
Benchmark Scores Windows index : 6.5 / 6.5 / 5.6 / 6.3 / 5.9
#3
I know that site but thank you. Anyone else can answer?
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.89/day)
Likes
8,478
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine
Processor Intel 4790K
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX
Cooling Corsair H100i and video card custom loop
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Video Card(s) Dual liquid cooled HD7970's (Thanks to Norton!!!)
Storage Crucial M4 256 gig SSD
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4
As long as the voltage and farah are correct it shouldn't matter how physically large the cap is. Of course as long as it doesn't interfere with anything else on the motherboard.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2013
Messages
1,357 (0.88/day)
Likes
637
Location
Canada
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 - 3.00/6M/1333
Motherboard AsRock G31M-GS R2.0
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex 752 - Black
Memory 4 Go (2x2) Kingston ValueRam DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Asus EN8600GT/HTDP/512M
Storage WD 3200AAKS
Display(s) 32" Irico E320GV-FHD
Case Aerocool Qx-2000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax NoiseTaker 2 - 465w
Mouse Logitech Wave MK550 combo (M510)
Keyboard Logitech Wave MK550 combo (K350)
Software Win_7_Pro-French
Benchmark Scores Windows index : 6.5 / 6.5 / 5.6 / 6.3 / 5.9
#5
As long as the voltage and farah are correct it shouldn't matter how physically large the cap is. Of course as long as it doesn't interfere with anything else on the motherboard.
The physical size does not matter and one of them...volt or farah can be changed without problems. Just dont remember which one.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#6
volts can be higher (it indicates how much the cap can bear not how much it needs). Farahs also have a little wiggle room (plus-minus 5% should be fine).

Capacitors in parallel add their capacitance.

Size, any will do as long as they have the space.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,311 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,718
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#7
I believe it's volts that can be changed although better keep to spec unless the you think a higher volt cap would work better. Check the replacement cap too for lifetime as some are as low as 1000hrs. Samsung are terrible with caps and did some checking on my Sammy 204b and hold and behold 3 bad caps which you replace and shit works again. When i got the LCD it had a 3 month warranty and the caps were rated 3000hrs which failed just after 3 years lol.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#8
You never mentioned whether each is electrolytic or solid state. Solid state ones are often smaller, but run cooler and last longer.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
832 (0.46/day)
Likes
138
Location
California
System Name Primary/Secondary/HTPC/Server
Processor i5-4590/i3-3220/A4-5300 APU/Pentium G3258
Motherboard MSI Z97S Krait/Biostar TH67+/ASRock FM2A75Pro4-M/MSI Z87M-G43
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S/Stock Intel/Stock AMD/Stock Intel
Memory 16GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/10GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX760 2GB/Radeon HD5870 1GB/Radeon HD7480D/Intel
Storage 480GB SSD+ 3TB HDD/240GB SSD/60GB SSD/2x 2TB HDD Intel RAID1
Display(s) 3x Samsung 23" 1080P/Acer 24" 1080P/LG TV 32" 720P
Case Fractal Design/Corsair (it was free)/Silverstone ML03/Antec VSK3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W/Cougar 550W/Antec 380W/In Win 350W
Mouse it moves the pointer, clicks, and scrolls
Keyboard CM Storm MX Blue/Logitech/Logitech
Software Win7 Pro/Win7 Pro/Win10 Pro/Win7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Buy American - Choose Chevrolet/GMC Trucks!
#9
Also keep in mind that you also need to match up the ESR and ripple rating. Usually a bigger capacitor can withstand more ripple.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2013
Messages
1,357 (0.88/day)
Likes
637
Location
Canada
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 - 3.00/6M/1333
Motherboard AsRock G31M-GS R2.0
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex 752 - Black
Memory 4 Go (2x2) Kingston ValueRam DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Asus EN8600GT/HTDP/512M
Storage WD 3200AAKS
Display(s) 32" Irico E320GV-FHD
Case Aerocool Qx-2000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax NoiseTaker 2 - 465w
Mouse Logitech Wave MK550 combo (M510)
Keyboard Logitech Wave MK550 combo (K350)
Software Win_7_Pro-French
Benchmark Scores Windows index : 6.5 / 6.5 / 5.6 / 6.3 / 5.9
#10
It to recap à 775mobo and a 478.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,878 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#11
You have to measure the distance between the pins too (I forget what that is called in english) for proper fitting.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,982 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,551
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#12
Pitch, and some caps are electrolytic ie directional some are not mobo caps normally are directional ie have a defined positive and negative cathode
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,442 (1.00/day)
Likes
1,866
#13
Wow, somebody has no idea what they are talking about. Go to the asterix if you don't care about why, and only want to know what you can do.

First, a capacitor can be simply thought of as two plates, separated by a dielectric. The dielectric has two purposes, it prevents the potential from each plate from traveling, and it serves to keep plate distances relatively constant.

With this simple model, the voltage rating is how much potential can be applied, before the charged plates will discharge through the dielectric. The Farad (what in Hades a Farah is eludes me) rating is how much charge can be developed. For the beginner again, one Farad is one Coulomb with one volt potential difference. The distance the plates are from one another determines how many Farads a capacitor can develop at a given voltage.

Now, the plate capacitor isn't reality. You've got film capacitors (very close to the plate, but rolled up), ceramic, metallic, and super capacitors. The later two types generally have very specific usage, so you're unlikely to see them. Unfortunately, the first two are insanely common. The next step boils down to capacitance and cost. Ceramic capacitors take a good deal more money to produce, so generally are limited to smaller voltages and capacitances. Film capacitors are easier to make when larger, so find their primary use in through-hole applications and where large capacitance values or voltages are in use.


*
Bringing it all back around, make sure to choose the appropriate capacitor type first. You should be able to tell the type visually, as film capacitors will be large canisters while ceramic capacitors are oddly shaped.

Next, choose a capacitor with the right capacitance values. This value has to be accurate, as too much or two little will fundamentally change how the circuit works.

Finally, choose the voltage. You ideally want to be as close as possible here (to the original values), but choosing one with a slightly higher voltage rating won't hurt too much. The concern is that if you choose one too much higher the increase in plate spacing of dielectric will force the capacitance lower. Thinking about it as a hyperbole, the ISS and any metal object it orbits over are technically a capacitor. The spacing is so huge that the capacitance value approaches 0, and the potential needed to produce this capacitance is gigantic (think lightning on crack levels of insanely powerful).
 

Bucho

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2014
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
12
#14
Back to school I say! Hehe ... no offense.

To the topics question: size does not really matter here
Capacitors with the same electrical specifications are manufactured in different dimensions since they sometimes need to be as low as possible because the case is low, or they have to be thin (a small diameter) since a lot of them have to fit next to each other and so on.
In general it is true that (assumed you always want to replace the same type, lilhasselhoffer named a few) you want the same capacitance, and the same (or if you have to - a little higher) voltage.
In addition to that you should know that there are some other values you might want to check. There is the temperature range (most common for radial ones up to 85°C and 105°C on electrolyt capacitors but there are way more), the ESR value, the tolerance and many more.
These may be importand depending on the usage of the capacitor. On a mainboard with lots of ICs and low voltages (<=12V down to ~ 1V) some of these specs are important since any other values may lead to a unstable system.

So for a mainboard you want to use 105°C since they degrade slower than the 85°C ones at higher temps (that usually appear in a computer). And you want to check for LowESR values, but sometimes it is hard to find out the values of the old ones and the new ones.

So the best bet is to find exactly the same ones (maybe a different brand since sometimes manufacturers used cheap ones), same capacity, same voltage, same temperature range, same size, same ESR.

I repaired a lot of mainboards, PSUs, monitors, satellite receivers ... over the past 15 years since I first had a Pentium III mainboard with the problem of bad capacitors. Sometimes it was hard to find the same capacitors (size) but I never had any problems.
Oh and don't think that "better" capacitors or these with higher voltages always are better, it really depends on the usage. There was a test with a computer PSU once where they exchanged the "cheap" capacitors with quality ones, that also had slightly different values (not voltage, capacitance and the major other values) and the general performance of the PSU got worse! Ripple noise went up. Sometimes circuits use underrated capacitors, that's true but most of the times you can't just simply modify the circuit without exact knowledge of the whole system.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2013
Messages
1,357 (0.88/day)
Likes
637
Location
Canada
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 - 3.00/6M/1333
Motherboard AsRock G31M-GS R2.0
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex 752 - Black
Memory 4 Go (2x2) Kingston ValueRam DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Asus EN8600GT/HTDP/512M
Storage WD 3200AAKS
Display(s) 32" Irico E320GV-FHD
Case Aerocool Qx-2000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax NoiseTaker 2 - 465w
Mouse Logitech Wave MK550 combo (M510)
Keyboard Logitech Wave MK550 combo (K350)
Software Win_7_Pro-French
Benchmark Scores Windows index : 6.5 / 6.5 / 5.6 / 6.3 / 5.9
#15
Found it on eBay. 15 capacitors to repair both motherboards 5$. 105degrees. Unknown brand but Im not sure the 478 still work so i did not to pay extra for nothing
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,982 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,551
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#16
Happy days and good luck with it..
Let us know how you get on.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,311 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,718
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#17
Cool, sound like 1000h ones.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2013
Messages
1,357 (0.88/day)
Likes
637
Location
Canada
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 - 3.00/6M/1333
Motherboard AsRock G31M-GS R2.0
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex 752 - Black
Memory 4 Go (2x2) Kingston ValueRam DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Asus EN8600GT/HTDP/512M
Storage WD 3200AAKS
Display(s) 32" Irico E320GV-FHD
Case Aerocool Qx-2000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax NoiseTaker 2 - 465w
Mouse Logitech Wave MK550 combo (M510)
Keyboard Logitech Wave MK550 combo (K350)
Software Win_7_Pro-French
Benchmark Scores Windows index : 6.5 / 6.5 / 5.6 / 6.3 / 5.9
#18
It will be my first time to repair a motherboard so I prefered to go cheap. :)