• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Motherboard/CPU power inquiries!

Owker

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
I just wanted to ask, does the motherboard and cpu have a certain voltage input?For example 110V or 220v etc.?Because I am going to get my parts from Amazon.com(motherboard and cpu) and it's an american website and all the products on there are from the US as far as I know, and the voltage there is 110V whereas the voltage where I live here is 220v and I bought the powersupply from here, so will there be an issue?
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,791 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,783
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#2
As far as I know, the ATX standard (which comes from your power supply) is 12v 5v and 3.3v, no matter where you live.

Your power supply is responsible for converting the A/C wall voltage from 110 or 220 to the ATX voltages the motherboard needs.

So, if you have the proper power supply for your wall voltage, any ATX standard motherboard should work with it.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,373 (2.73/day)
Likes
13,012
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#3
Also, I could be wrong, don't most PSU have a switch for 110 or 220? I haven't actually checked recently, but they used to.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,791 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,783
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#4
Also, I could be wrong, don't most PSU have a switch for 110 or 220? I haven't actually checked recently, but they used to.
I have seen that too.
 

Owker

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#5
I have the Thermaltake TPX-1275 Toughpower Power Supply and I don't see any 110/220 volt switch at all,i really just wanna make sure..im gonna pay over 700$ for stuff internationally,so if they dont work its gonna be really really hard and annoying to send them back and get a refund
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,373 (2.73/day)
Likes
13,012
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#6
According to this line from their website:
- Auto switching circuitry for universal AC input from 90-264V.

http://www.thermaltake.com/products-model.aspx?id=C_00001810

You should be good!

And this:

requirements.
Output Specification
AC INPUT
Input Voltage: 100V-240V
Input Current: 115Vac / 13A max.
Frequency: 47Hz - 63Hz
DC OUTPUT +3.3V +5V +12V1 +12V2 -12V +5VSB
Max Output Current 25A 25A 45A 65A 0.8A 3.5A
Max Output Power 150W 540W 780W 9.6W 20W
Continuous Power
1275W
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,399 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,480
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#7
Many active PFC PSUs will switch automatically depending on the voltage. You're all set in this case, it will sense the different voltage and adjust accordingly as long as you're still using one hot and one neutral and not split-phase service.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,791 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,783
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#9
According to this line from their website:
- Auto switching circuitry for universal AC input from 90-264V.

http://www.thermaltake.com/products-model.aspx?id=C_00001810

You should be good!

And this:

requirements.
Output Specification
AC INPUT
Input Voltage: 100V-240V
Input Current: 115Vac / 13A max.
Frequency: 47Hz - 63Hz
DC OUTPUT +3.3V +5V +12V1 +12V2 -12V +5VSB
Max Output Current 25A 25A 45A 65A 0.8A 3.5A
Max Output Power 150W 540W 780W 9.6W 20W
Continuous Power
1275W
You know, I think it was Gillette or Remington that first devised the universal power supply (for electric travel razors).
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,373 (2.73/day)
Likes
13,012
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#10
You know, I think it was Gillette or Remington that first devised the universal power supply (for electric travel razors).
You've now inspired me to go do some reading and learn further about this topic!
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,791 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,783
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#11
You've now inspired me to go do some reading and learn further about this topic!
I was looking quickly and came up dry, hope you can find something. I remember reading that years and years ago.
 

Owker

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#12
you know one more thing just came to mind,can the PSU regulate 220v and 110v at the same time?since some of the stuff I have like the GPU and SSd's are from here(supposedly 220v) and the motherboard and CPU will be 110v
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,791 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,783
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#13
you know one more thing just came to mind,can the PSU regulate 220v and 110v at the same time?since some of the stuff I have like the GPU and SSd's are from here(supposedly 220v) and the motherboard and CPU will be 110v
The motherboard and CPU will never see the wall voltage (110v or 220v). The power supply is there to convert it to 12v 5v and 3.3v.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,373 (2.73/day)
Likes
13,012
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#14
they all get their power from the PSU, so they will all be fine. The PSU converts and regulates.

Sorry @Sasqui, we typed at same time apparently.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#15
My question is where are you from???
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
849 (0.63/day)
Likes
266
Location
Grunn, Holland
System Name Indis the Fair
Processor i7 4790k Delid 4.7@1.28
Motherboard Asus Z97I-PLUS
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory Kingston HyperX 2x8GB 1866MHz C10
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 670 FTW
Storage MX100 256GB, WD Red 3TB, and other stuff
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T, LG 24 inch LED IPS thing
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Behringer Xenyx Q1002USB, ATH-M50x
Power Supply Seasonic 860w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70 (MX Blues, dying blue lights)
Software Win7 x64/Ubuntu
#16
You just have to make sure that your PSU takes 220v. Most are capable of running at both 100-120 and 220-240v.
 
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
615 (0.47/day)
Likes
120
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
#17
Also, I could be wrong, don't most PSU have a switch for 110 or 220? I haven't actually checked recently, but they used to.
not for years lol. they are auto switching these days. dont even need the switch.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,373 (2.73/day)
Likes
13,012
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#18
not for years lol. they are auto switching these days. dont even need the switch.
yeah thanks, found that out right after Sasqui and i mentioned that, lol. I've never even looked since years ago. If i buy it here, i assume it's set up for 110, so haven' had to think about it.