• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Motherboard issues need answer asap!

Sunmo

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I currently have an Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe but its been messing with me latetly, I got a new graphics card but it wont give me any picture, plugged into another computer it works great. So i got mad and figured i might need a new motherboard. I searched some trade sites and found a Gigabyte GA-MA770-UD3 that i can buy for 40 euro inc shipping from the owner, wich would cost about 5-10 euro. Should i go for it or try to fic my problem with the current motherboard? Money is an issue so i cant buy any brand new ^^

Processor is AMD Phenom X4 9850(?) BE, 2.5ghz 4 core.

The new graphic card is a Sapphire Radeon HD6870.

I used two 4850s before and worked greate, Ive tried plugging in both of them again, and only one of them again and that works, but when i use the 6870 i get no picture.

Though ive tested it on two other computers, one intel and one AMD and they both worked great.

Edit: Forgot to add, using Windows 7 ultimate. And the computer is an Alienware bought 2008 so it got some custom bios alienware I think.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#2
You have tried all available slots on the board? Your 4850's work ok on the Asus? Just confirming. No don't get the 770 board just yet.
 

Sunmo

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
the old cards work perfectly, well as good as they can when they have been abused and overclocked to hell in the past 4 years hehe
 
Joined
May 23, 2008
Messages
376 (0.11/day)
Likes
63
Location
South Jersey
#4
You have both PCIE power plugs inserted in the card?

Barring power issues the only answer I can see is an incompatability with the newer PCIE2.0 card (which should not be a problem honestly).
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#5
what power supply are you running in that machine...it could well be that the graphics card isnt being supplied enough juice. Power supplys lose power as they age so it could very well have run the crossfire a while ago and is not up to the task anymore
 

Sunmo

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Alienwares 750W, both power slots are connected, and CF still works perfectly on the old cards.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.95/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#7
have you checked the asus website and put the NEWEST bios on your asus board?? i remember some asus boards having problems with some cards back in the day. its worth a shot
 

Sunmo

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
I looked around but found nothing, but being an alienware could there be issues? note the alienware was bought before DELL.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#9
I have seen issues arise in the past with bios revisions. Check Alienware's website to see if you have a bios update available.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#11
Ok. Can you grab a BIOS string or post a CPU motherboard tab screenshot?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#13
WWW.cpuid.com
Get CPUZ and post a screenshot of the motherboard tab.
 

Sunmo

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
ah, I cant power up the computer just now, I'm at bparding school and got an extra monitor but the power cable for that is used in my other computer at the moment, where my friends are playing fear atm hehe
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#15
Ok if you can confirm its definitely not some sort of rehashed m3a32 MVP, try the latest BIOS available from Asus site.
 
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
374 (0.16/day)
Likes
131
Location
Netherlands
Processor Core i5 4690K @ 3.5 GHz \\ C2Q Q6600 @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3 SLI \\ Asus P5K Deluxe
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Performer \\ Xigmatek Dark Knight
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 2x 4GB \\ Corsair XMS2 2x 2 GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 970 G1 Gaming v1.1 (Hynix) \\ Sapphire HD 6850
Storage Kingston SV200, 3 TB Seagate 7200.14 \\ 2x 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) LG 24MP56HQ
Case Corsair Carbide 200R Windowed \\ CM 690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 \\ Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Adata HM850 \\ Corsair HX520
Mouse Logitech G602, SteelSeries Sensei Raw Frostblue, Corsair M65
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard Elite
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 \\ Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#16
I currently have an Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe but its been messing with me latetly, I got a new graphics card but it wont give me any picture, plugged into another computer it works great. So i got mad and figured i might need a new motherboard. I searched some trade sites and found a Gigabyte GA-MA770-UD3 that i can buy for 40 euro inc shipping from the owner, wich would cost about 5-10 euro. Should i go for it or try to fic my problem with the current motherboard? Money is an issue so i cant buy any brand new ^^

Processor is AMD Phenom X4 9850(?) BE, 2.5ghz 4 core.

The new graphic card is a Sapphire Radeon HD6870.

I used two 4850s before and worked greate, Ive tried plugging in both of them again, and only one of them again and that works, but when i use the 6870 i get no picture.

Though ive tested it on two other computers, one intel and one AMD and they both worked great.

Edit: Forgot to add, using Windows 7 ultimate. And the computer is an Alienware bought 2008 so it got some custom bios alienware I think.
Hi,

it seems that the M3A32-MVP Deluxe has issues with newer generation ATI-AMD videocards and it seems that you are having a similar(?) problem as this guy who has posted his problem with a HD5970 at Asus' forum. Someone else in that forum managed to boot up the HD5970 after upping the "GPP slot power limit" to 60W (default was 25W according to the manual). I don't know what value is safe to try; perhaps other people here at TechPowerUp can provide you more info about this "GPP slot power limit". On the other hand I thought the PCI-E slot can provide up to 75W to the videocard, then why limit it to 25W?
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
307 (0.12/day)
Likes
70
Location
mississauga, on, Canada
Processor 6600k,i3-6300,g4500,4790k, i3-4330, , 2x g3258
Motherboard Maximus VIII gene, msi m5-mortar,G1.sniperM5, z97m-d3h, sabertooth fx990,
Cooling corsaair H110i-gt, h105 GPU cooling,, kraken x61,x41, noctua fans, heatsinks...
Memory Gskill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ ddr4, f4-2800c16d-16f, f3-2400c10d-16gtx ddr3 ...many more ddr3,ddr2,ddr...
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX980AMP!extreme x2, AMP!GTX680+accel extreme, gt640v2, gtx660, gt630
Storage samsung 512Gb 950pro M.2, evo 1TB, Corsair gt90, intel530 180G, neutron 128.+ hdd's in junkyard...
Display(s) acer XB270hu, acer XB280hk, asus VG 278H, nec ea231WMi,
Case TT core V21, fractal 304, 804,design S, Inwin cases (itx size)
Audio Device(s) obs,
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2,ss380gb,corsair hx1000w, PSU's RIP seasonic x-760(DEAD),x-400(DEAD)
Mouse Microsoft wired, wireless gaming.
Keyboard steelcase gaming, apple keyboard
Software win10pro; win7x64, win8.1proX3, mythbuntu xenial x64
#17
i had the m3a32-mvp replaced it with a sabertooth 990fx (cause i wanted a bulldozer... but well that dream died lol) any ways, update to the latest BIOS... i know that a 4870,4890, 6850,6950, 560ti all work in the motherboard (no all at once buh dum bah close but not quite...lol) (m3a32-mvp)
 
Last edited: