• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Motherboard problem...PLEASE help!

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.19/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#1
Hey everyone,

I got a big problem with my mobo. Firstly, its a GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP. The comp specs are on the side under my name (its exactly the same specs, just a GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP as mobo, not Foxconn 661-M03).

Now, here is the problem. I just put the board in and connected everything up. I push the power button on my comp, all the fans work, everything lights up, except absolutely nothing happens. Like, no writing or anything, just a blank screen (monitor dusnt even do nothing). After about 20-30 seconds, the computer just powers off again, without me touching anything. In the 20-30 seconds, the cd drives come out if u push the button and everything, it just doesnt do anything.

All help is GREATLY appreciated!

Cheers :toast:
Pinchy
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.65/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#2
check all connections \ fittings, make sure cmos jumper isnt set to the "clear" position, remove cmos battery and power cord, push power button in and hold for a few seconds (do this 2-3 times) leave a few mins then put cmos battery and power cord back in, try booting again.
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.19/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#3
Hey,
Thanks for such a quick reply!!!

Ok, i dont really know what the CMOS jumper is/where the battery is located (im a n00b when it comes to mobo's)

Everything is connected fine, except im not sure about the Hard disk and CD drives. I got the hard disks in IDE-1, and CD drives in IDE-2...if thats right.

Thanks again for the quick reply!!

Cheers :toast:
Pinchy

Edit: I located the battery and did what you said (still nothing), but i dont know what the CMOS jumper is

Forgot to mention: Its a prescott processor, if that makes a diff.
 
Last edited:

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.65/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#4
have you tried your X800 in another puter? to find the cmos jumper, just check the mobo manual and make sure the jumper is in the right position. also check the memory is in the right dimm slots, some puters wont do anything if the modules arent inserted in dimm slots of the same colour.
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.19/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#5
Hey Ketxxx,
Again thanks for the quick reply.
The whole comp is working fine as i just took it all out from the Foxconn mobo and put it all onto the Gigabyte mobo. Also, each stick of RAM is on the orange DIMM's, which is what its meant to be on.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.65/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#6
erm..the monitor is plugged in, turned on, and connected properly to the graphics card, right? :p
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.19/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#7
LOL yep, sure is....the problem is that i dont even get a beep from the motherboard when you initially start the comp up...and it turns off after like 20 secs- 1 minute (like just powers itself off)

Could the actual motherboard be gone? Like, i dont get how everything works (fans/lights/cd drives/CPU fan, etc) if the motherboard is gone.

Also, i dont think this could be a problem (because it should still get to BIOS) but i didnt actually wipe my hard drive when i installed the mobo. I did this thing with Sysprep (http://forums.anandtech.com/messageview.aspx?catid=34&threadid=1688660&enterthread=y) as it says it is a way of getting around the hard drive format...but again, i dont think that has anything to do with it as it should still get to BIOS.
 
Last edited:

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.65/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#8
hmm, reseat cpu and hsf, making sure its put on the right way and the fan is connected to the cpu fan header on the mobo, not any other.
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.19/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#9
Reseated CPU, heatsink...the lot...still same prob. Also, i noticed, without the DPS module installed on the mobo the computer doesnt power off...weird.

Just reposting:
Could the actual motherboard be gone? Like, i dont get how everything works (fans/lights/cd drives/CPU fan, etc) if the motherboard is gone.

Also, i dont think this could be a problem (because it should still get to BIOS) but i didnt actually wipe my hard drive when i installed the mobo. I did this thing with Sysprep (http://forums.anandtech.com/messageview.aspx?catid=34&threadid=1688660&enterthread=y) as it says it is a way of getting around the hard drive format...but again, i dont think that has anything to do with it as it should still get to BIOS.
 
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
997 (0.23/day)
Likes
13
Location
Kentucky
System Name Sony Vaio - VGNFW390-CTO
Processor Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T9550 (2.66GHz)
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB DDR2-SDRAM (DDR2-800, 2GBx2)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 3650 with 512MB vRAM (pitiful card)
Storage 320GB SATA Hard Disk Drive [7200 rpm]
Display(s) LCD 16.4" (XBRITE-FullHD™)
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX
Software Windows 7
#10
Go ahead and look in your mobo manual to find the CMOS jumper and see if it's installed the way it should be. If all else fails, after other advice is given, you might want to try and format your hard drive just in case (as annoying as that may be).
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.65/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#11
yeah, have you actually checked your mobo manual to check the jumper like i told you to? if not, then do it :p
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.19/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#12
After looking through the manual and searching the net, i have found out that there is no CMOS jumper.
From an article on the net:
The only thing I can complain about is Gigabyte not including a clear CMOS jumper. Instead when you run into trouble you must short two solder points which can be very irritating and difficult to do once the board is installed. Other then that though the board is near perfect.

Any suggestions? Oh yeah, i took the battery out for like 10 mins just to make sure, still no luck. Could the battery be dead? Or could the whole mobo be dead?

Thanks again for all the help.
 
Last edited:

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.12/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#13
After looking through the manual and searching the net, i have found out that there is no CMOS jumper.
From an article on the net:
The only thing I can complain about is Gigabyte not including a clear CMOS jumper. Instead when you run into trouble you must short two solder points which can be very irritating and difficult to do once the board is installed. Other then that though the board is near perfect.

Any suggestions? Oh yeah, i took the battery out for like 10 mins just to make sure, still no luck. Could the battery be dead? Or could the whole mobo be dead?

Thanks again for all the help.
You have to shorten the pads after taking of the battery...you can also short the two solder points which is identical to the clear CMOS jumper.

After clearing the CMOS try to run with speaker and only the CPU installed...if it beeps for memory...try to start with the memory installed...and finally if everything is OK reseat the video.
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.19/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#14
How do i 'shorten the pads' or 'short the two solder points'? (sorry, im a newbie)

Also, the mobo doesnt have a VGA slot or monitor slot on it, so i can only plug the monitor into the graphics card.

Thanks again for the help.
 

TripTop

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2006
Messages
17 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon XP 1700
Motherboard MSI K7N Delta 2 6570E ver 10c
Memory 3x 256 MB Twinmos PC3200 DDR
Video Card(s) XFX 6800 LE 128MB DDR VGA/DVI/S-Video Agp
Storage 160Gb WD
Software Windows XP Pro SP2
#15
Remove everything from your mobo and try booting up with just mb (no mem, no vid card, hd)
just plain mobo with pc speaker, on /off switch/erset connected. If it boots and you hear pc speaker beeping you know it still works.
1) add a mem module and boot, still beeping add vid card. with a vid card it shouldnt beep anymore and should display otherwise do steps below.



If it doesnt beep,turn off pc remove cmos battery, find cmos clear jumper (ussually named JBAT1), most mb you short pins 2 with 3 to clear, remove atx power connector from mb
While shorted , and power not connected to mb press turn on switch couple of times
Leave it like that a while. Then short pin 1 and 2 of cmos-clear jumper (check mobo manual), insert cmos battery, reconnect atx power to mb and try with above steps( booting up with nothing just keyboard and pc speaker. If it beeps add mem , then turn on if it beeps ad vid card. IF still doesnt work then i got no idea (guess mb is dead) ( or try withanother cpu/power spupply)
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.19/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#16
The speaker doesnt seem to work. I still dont know much about the shorting and stuff, so i havent done any of that....but i take out everything (except power on/off/reset, speaker, CPU) and i dont get beeps or anything. Even when i plug the power out of my gfx card, its 'meant' to give me warnings and beeps, but nothing happens.

Im not very sure, but i think the actual motherboard is gone...
 
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
1,153 (0.27/day)
Likes
108
System Name Alienware laptop
Processor intel i7-3610M @ 2,30Ghz
Motherboard dell?
Cooling 2 built in laptop cooling fans
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD Mobility Radeon HD 7970 2GB GDDR5 850/1200 No overclock yet
Storage 1TB hard drive 1.5TB external
Display(s) laptop screen 17.3" 1920x1080 + LG 22" inch LCD HD 1920 x 1200
Case My laptop back pack case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster
Power Supply laptop brick
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#17
hey i had the same prob you need to reformat the hard drive my come was not starting up and i reformated and its been running fine
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.19/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#18
Yeah, but what i dont get is that shouldnt i still get beeps or a "hard disk failure" if my hard disk isnt right or if my hard disk isnt plugged in? (i plugged the hard disk out and it still did nothing).

I can't really afford to format my hard disk at the moment cus i got a lot of stuff on it, so i only want to do it if its absolutely necessary.

Thanks again for all the help.

Cheers :toast:
Pinchy
 

g12rxz

New Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2006
Messages
293 (0.07/day)
Likes
0
Location
Illinois
Processor AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ @ 2.6ghz
Motherboard ECS KA3 MVP Crossfire 3200 Chipset
Cooling None to speak of.
Memory 2048MB DDR2 Patriot Memory 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) X1800GTO2 512MB soon I'll flash to an XT!
Storage 250GB 7200RPM 16MB Cache SATA Seagate
Display(s) 19 inch widescreen 4ms by AG Neovo
Case Gigabyte Poseidon Mid-Tower ( AWESOME CASE! )
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platinum -- 200 Watts to each Jamo Classic 10, powered by a Denon Class A amp
Power Supply Rosewill 600Watt w/ Active PFC and Dual +12v
Software Windows XP Professional SP2
#19
i suggest getting a friend to help you backup whats on your hard drive and formatting it, that way you can isolate the problem instead of 'i think the hard drive works' situation.
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.19/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#20
Well, i got a clean hard drive in, still no luck. Thankfully, i didnt have to format my HDD (my friend had a 20GB HDD lying around that we formatted and used :))...but still, the mobo aint working :(.

Thanks again for the help.
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.19/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#21
So you guys reckon the mobo is gone?
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#22
Pinchy,

Believe it or not, I experienced the EXACT same Problem with the EXACT same motherboard!!!!

I became hopeful when I saw your posting because I thought I had finally found a resource that would aid me in resolving this problem, but sadly, I do not see a solution posted.

Did you ever get your motherboard working again.

I have rev 1 of the Gigabyte GA-8KNXP
 

da_pimp20

New Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2006
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#23
hello everyone.... am new here.... can anyone help me with my pc.... i have a problem, what does is " no signal" means...... one of my friends says that with my graphic card redeon 9550 its 128mb....... i checked every single part of my computer... but nuthing...

i feel very sad and i didnt eat....... because of my computer...i take care for one year from now. it happened before. actully now i dont know...nowadays is not working.......

PLEASE SOMEONE HELP ME WHAT IS THE PROBLEM OF IT... I'LL BE GREATFULL..

PLEASE REPLY ME AS SOON AS POSSIBLE

BYE...
I'LL BE WAITING FOR IT..
 

bruins004

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
2,479 (0.55/day)
Likes
74
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939)
Motherboard MSI Neo K8n Neo4-F with Nforce 4
Cooling ThermalTake Venus12 + 3 case fans + PCI slot cooler for GPU
Memory 2x 512mb Kingston PC-3200
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7800GT
Storage Western Digital 160GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2025WM
Case Logisys Dracula Case (Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound, Logitech X-530 Surround Sound Speakers
Power Supply OCZ PowerStream 520W
Software Window XP Pro, Office Suite, Tons of Games
#24
As I said before,

Make sure your 24/20 pin motherboard connector is connected.
Also, check if your 4 pin CPU Power connector is connect (should be located near the CPU).

If that is not the problem,
Take everything out (RAM, Video Card, unplug all power except the 2 mentioned above and keep the CPU in as well as the heatsink).
If the motherboard DOES NOT BEEP it is most likely dead/dying.
If it does, put the RAM in and check if it makes a different beep...
If it does not then the RAM is bad.

Good luck all.
 

da_pimp20

New Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2006
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#25
thanks for replying..... well i did everything... but..... there is no beep or sound.... last 2 days i used it... but yesturday its not working..... what is ur advice i should buy new motherbaord or any new stuff........ what about the rest its all currupted... or only motherboard...