• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Motherboard PROBLEM

Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
System Name Yong's PC
Processor Intel (R) Core (TM) i7-7700K CPU @ 4.20GHz
Motherboard ASUS STRIX Z270F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig H7/Thermaltake Riing Fan RGB x5
Memory 2 X 16 GB G-Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti OC 11GB
Storage Crucial 275GB SSD + WD Blue 1 TB SSD + WD Black 1TB + WD Black 3TB
Display(s) Viewsonic XG2401
Case Thermaltake Versa C21
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850w
Mouse Razer Abyssus V2
Keyboard Dragon War Atomos Mechanical Keyboard
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
#1
Hello everyone, I have a question... Lately, my motherboard's having a headache and I don't even know why it happened. It only happened when I was listening to a music last night and then my screen becomes garbled unexpectedly. That's the first scenario.

In the second scenario, while I was editing my code in my program, my screen became garbled and my computer gets locked up. After I restarted my PC, I noticed that my keyboard stops working after booting into BIOS, afterwards, the countdown in windows error recovery GOES FAST, I don't even know why.

In the third scenario, I tried to use BurnInTest to see if my computer parts are defective, then during the stress test, my computer froze up lately and while I was able to move my mouse cursor, my keyboard stops responding, and tried to remove whatever devices I have in my front usb port. Afterwards, when I clicked my mouse (while the Stress Test is running), my computer locks up and freezes.

Any idea what's wrong with my Desktop PC? Maybe I need to replace my motherboard, since I have a similar experience in my past motherboard like it will freeze up unexpectedly and the screen gets garbled...

By the way, check the files below.

http://www.mediafire.com/?c7z3i64zwbj4m

3 Images, 2 Videos
 

moonlord

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
53 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
Location
Lovrin Romania
System Name M2
Processor AMD FX-8150
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Cooling AMD FX Water Cooler
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4X4 Gb @ 1866 Mhz
Video Card(s) PowerColor AX6950 2Gb
Storage 1x120 gb OCZ Vertex 3 1x1Tb Hitachi Deskstar
Display(s) Asus VE248H 24"
Case Corsair Carbide 500R
Power Supply OCZ Modxstream 700W
Software Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit
#2
Try to remove your graphic card and use your cpu's integrated graphics, if your system becomes stable maybe that is the problem or try a BIOS update.
 
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
System Name Yong's PC
Processor Intel (R) Core (TM) i7-7700K CPU @ 4.20GHz
Motherboard ASUS STRIX Z270F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig H7/Thermaltake Riing Fan RGB x5
Memory 2 X 16 GB G-Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti OC 11GB
Storage Crucial 275GB SSD + WD Blue 1 TB SSD + WD Black 1TB + WD Black 3TB
Display(s) Viewsonic XG2401
Case Thermaltake Versa C21
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850w
Mouse Razer Abyssus V2
Keyboard Dragon War Atomos Mechanical Keyboard
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
#3
I'll keep you updated after I removed my Graphics Card.
Updated my BIOS already, still the same.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,476 (0.54/day)
Likes
607
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#4
What specific steps have you taken to narrow the field of possible errors?

Have you run a memory diagnostic?

Have you unplugged all external devices?

Have you tried a second power supply?

Your question is too broad.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
1,625 (0.35/day)
Likes
552
Location
The Pico Mundo Grill
System Name Commercial towing vehicle Nostromo
Processor R7 1700X Base Clock @4.000.000.000 Hz
Motherboard Crosshair Hero VI (BIOS 1701)
Cooling Hydro H110i V2 High Performance
Memory 2x8 GB Dominator CMD16GX4M2B3200C16 v4.31
Video Card(s) 970 STRIX
Storage 960 EVO M2 500 GB w. EKWB EK-M.2 NVMe nickel heatsink / UV400 480 GB / Red PRO 4 TB
Display(s) VG248QE
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Onboard / JDS Labs O2 AMP / K550 headphones
Power Supply AX 860
Mouse KANA
Keyboard K60
Software Win 10 Pro x64 / KIS 2018
Benchmark Scores 2141 lightyears per hour.......
#5
Could be a virus.....have you scanned your computer recently?
 
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
System Name Yong's PC
Processor Intel (R) Core (TM) i7-7700K CPU @ 4.20GHz
Motherboard ASUS STRIX Z270F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig H7/Thermaltake Riing Fan RGB x5
Memory 2 X 16 GB G-Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti OC 11GB
Storage Crucial 275GB SSD + WD Blue 1 TB SSD + WD Black 1TB + WD Black 3TB
Display(s) Viewsonic XG2401
Case Thermaltake Versa C21
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850w
Mouse Razer Abyssus V2
Keyboard Dragon War Atomos Mechanical Keyboard
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
#6
What specific steps have you taken to narrow the field of possible errors?

Have you run a memory diagnostic?

Have you unplugged all external devices?

Have you tried a second power supply?

Your question is too broad.
Yeah, but except for the second power supply part, simply because I don't have an extra power supply to use for my current desktop.

Could be a virus.....have you scanned your computer recently?
Yeah, I'm sure Avast could have detected it already if that's the case.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,476 (0.54/day)
Likes
607
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#7
Are you running stock clock speeds and not overclocked?

Tried reinstalling Nvida software, selecting clean/fresh install option. (You didn't switch cards from ATI without cleaning out old drivers???)

AGAIN, what have you done???

List what you have tried.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
System Name Yong's PC
Processor Intel (R) Core (TM) i7-7700K CPU @ 4.20GHz
Motherboard ASUS STRIX Z270F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig H7/Thermaltake Riing Fan RGB x5
Memory 2 X 16 GB G-Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti OC 11GB
Storage Crucial 275GB SSD + WD Blue 1 TB SSD + WD Black 1TB + WD Black 3TB
Display(s) Viewsonic XG2401
Case Thermaltake Versa C21
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850w
Mouse Razer Abyssus V2
Keyboard Dragon War Atomos Mechanical Keyboard
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
#8
Are you running stock clock speeds and not overclocked?

Tried reinstalling Nvida software, selecting clean/fresh install option. (You didn't switch cards from ATI without cleaning out old drivers???)

AGAIN, what have you done???

List what you have tried.
I did not overclock, but I used the auto-tune from the AI Suite, (maybe I overclocked... a little bit?) but then my computer never locks up from the last 6 months that I bought my motherboard, btw this was the last settings that I used before my computer locked up:

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.ne...27411883687_577148686_8242481_821304249_n.jpg

First, I updated the Motherboard BIOS from the ASUS site after experiencing the computer lockup by using the AI Suite and even made a backup ROM out of it (but I don't really know where it's located.), afterwards I updated my Nvidia software without cleaning out the old drivers and then, the same problem still occured. I don't know why it happened but that's what I did these past few days.

I might need to try to use the motherboard's integrated graphics, if that's the case.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,641 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#9
have you tried resetting your bios?
or try simple thing like unplug your 24pins leave for a while then replug it and turn it on again
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,110 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,541
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#10
could be your powersupply too, a faulty PSU can cause every single part of your machine to malfunction.


the clock going too fast sounds like a CMOS battery error too, so you may need to replace that as a secondary minor problem.
 
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
System Name Yong's PC
Processor Intel (R) Core (TM) i7-7700K CPU @ 4.20GHz
Motherboard ASUS STRIX Z270F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig H7/Thermaltake Riing Fan RGB x5
Memory 2 X 16 GB G-Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti OC 11GB
Storage Crucial 275GB SSD + WD Blue 1 TB SSD + WD Black 1TB + WD Black 3TB
Display(s) Viewsonic XG2401
Case Thermaltake Versa C21
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850w
Mouse Razer Abyssus V2
Keyboard Dragon War Atomos Mechanical Keyboard
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
#11
have you tried resetting your bios?
or try simple thing like unplug your 24pins leave for a while then replug it and turn it on again
Nope not yet, haven't reset it yet. I'll do that once I get home. I'll try unplugging my 24 pins later.

could be your powersupply too, a faulty PSU can cause every single part of your machine to malfunction.


the clock going too fast sounds like a CMOS battery error too, so you may need to replace that as a secondary minor problem.
That's possible, because my power supply is around how many years already, around more than 3 years. By the way, my power supply is unbranded.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
System Name Yong's PC
Processor Intel (R) Core (TM) i7-7700K CPU @ 4.20GHz
Motherboard ASUS STRIX Z270F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig H7/Thermaltake Riing Fan RGB x5
Memory 2 X 16 GB G-Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti OC 11GB
Storage Crucial 275GB SSD + WD Blue 1 TB SSD + WD Black 1TB + WD Black 3TB
Display(s) Viewsonic XG2401
Case Thermaltake Versa C21
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850w
Mouse Razer Abyssus V2
Keyboard Dragon War Atomos Mechanical Keyboard
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
#12
Btw, I unplugged my 24pins already + currently using Integrated Graphics from the motherboard. I uninstalled all Nvidia drivers. I'm currently testing if my computer will freeze by using the integrated graphics. XD

I'll keep you updated.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,476 (0.54/day)
Likes
607
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#13
If you did not return the bios to "default" before flashing to new bios, then that may be the problem.

Check button cell battery with meter to rule out bad battery.

With the nvidia card removed and bios set to default, reflash the bios.

If the onboard graphics work ok, then adjust bios to turn off onboard graphics and install nvidia card again and see how it goes.

The AI-Suite has been known to cause issues sometimes, so disable it in the startup menu.


Also, check your nvidia graphics board maker ( GT440, not specified ) for a firmware update.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
System Name Yong's PC
Processor Intel (R) Core (TM) i7-7700K CPU @ 4.20GHz
Motherboard ASUS STRIX Z270F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig H7/Thermaltake Riing Fan RGB x5
Memory 2 X 16 GB G-Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti OC 11GB
Storage Crucial 275GB SSD + WD Blue 1 TB SSD + WD Black 1TB + WD Black 3TB
Display(s) Viewsonic XG2401
Case Thermaltake Versa C21
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850w
Mouse Razer Abyssus V2
Keyboard Dragon War Atomos Mechanical Keyboard
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
#14
If you did not return the bios to "default" before flashing to new bios, then that may be the problem.
I already set the bios to default (Load Optimized Settings) before I flash my bios to the latest version.

Check button cell battery with meter to rule out bad battery.
How?

With the nvidia card removed and bios set to default, reflash the bios.
By using the EZ Flash from the motherboard? Not in AI Suite?

If the onboard graphics work ok, then adjust bios to turn off onboard graphics and install nvidia card again and see how it goes.
I'll check, if I'll be able to completely disable the onboard graphics.

The AI-Suite has been known to cause issues sometimes, so disable it in the startup menu.
Alright, I'll take note of that. Thank you. Maybe it's best if I will update the BIOS by using the EZ Flash instead of using the AI Suite, right?

Also, check your nvidia graphics board maker ( GT440, not specified ) for a firmware update.
Inno3d. Just to clarify, how will I update my graphics card's firmware?
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,476 (0.54/day)
Likes
607
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#15
I'll check, if I'll be able to completely disable the onboard graphics.
I would think that your comment above indicates that you did not do this previously and that is why you have a corrupt image.

Check battery with digital multimeter. (good for checking all household batteries)

Buy one and have the store clerk show you how to check a battery.

Cheap Harbor Freight ones: http://www.harborfreight.com/catalogsearch/result?q=multimeter

Graphic card maker will supply utility if one is available, so go to their site and look, as you still do not indicate brand.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#16
What do you mean "editing my code in my program"
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#17
Corrupted image it can be only Graphic card if it is integrated gpu faulty ram memory could cause image corruption.
 

LGV

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
260 (0.10/day)
Likes
64
System Name outdated
Processor AM2 6400+ X2 black @stock
Motherboard MSI K9N SLI @ HOT (very, 65+)
Cooling air
Memory 4x2GB OCZ @stock
Video Card(s) 260 gtx
Storage Hitachi 650 / ssd corsair force 3//120
Display(s) 26''
Case Cooler Master Centurion
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX2/ Z5500 X2 :)
Power Supply Mushkin 1000W
Software Win7/64
#18
I would change thet PSU. Thets could effect your whole system , not just the GPU.
then see
 
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
System Name Yong's PC
Processor Intel (R) Core (TM) i7-7700K CPU @ 4.20GHz
Motherboard ASUS STRIX Z270F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig H7/Thermaltake Riing Fan RGB x5
Memory 2 X 16 GB G-Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti OC 11GB
Storage Crucial 275GB SSD + WD Blue 1 TB SSD + WD Black 1TB + WD Black 3TB
Display(s) Viewsonic XG2401
Case Thermaltake Versa C21
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850w
Mouse Razer Abyssus V2
Keyboard Dragon War Atomos Mechanical Keyboard
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
#19
I would think that your comment above indicates that you did not do this previously and that is why you have a corrupt image.
Sorry about that, by the way I already set my primary device to PEG instead of Automatic, thus disabling the onboard graphics.

What do you mean "editing my code in my program"
I was doing my java programming project few days ago lol :roll: :nutkick:

Corrupted image it can be only Graphic card if it is integrated gpu faulty ram memory could cause image corruption.
Yeah but when I swapped my power supply to the other power supply (take note: same power supply used by my family pc http://i44.tinypic.com/295xyx2.jpg), I made a clean install on my graphics card, tested my graphics card and the garbled screen did not appear. I stress tested it and it went fine.

I would change thet PSU. Thets could effect your whole system , not just the GPU.
then see
I agree, I think nothing's wrong with my graphics card, and yeah, since I observed that my cpu casing fan did not work unexpectedly then it will suddenly work, maybe it's the PSU's problem.
 

LGV

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
260 (0.10/day)
Likes
64
System Name outdated
Processor AM2 6400+ X2 black @stock
Motherboard MSI K9N SLI @ HOT (very, 65+)
Cooling air
Memory 4x2GB OCZ @stock
Video Card(s) 260 gtx
Storage Hitachi 650 / ssd corsair force 3//120
Display(s) 26''
Case Cooler Master Centurion
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX2/ Z5500 X2 :)
Power Supply Mushkin 1000W
Software Win7/64
#20
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
System Name Yong's PC
Processor Intel (R) Core (TM) i7-7700K CPU @ 4.20GHz
Motherboard ASUS STRIX Z270F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig H7/Thermaltake Riing Fan RGB x5
Memory 2 X 16 GB G-Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti OC 11GB
Storage Crucial 275GB SSD + WD Blue 1 TB SSD + WD Black 1TB + WD Black 3TB
Display(s) Viewsonic XG2401
Case Thermaltake Versa C21
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850w
Mouse Razer Abyssus V2
Keyboard Dragon War Atomos Mechanical Keyboard
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
#21
well. GO GET A NEW PSU! before its take your all parts.
Dont be cheapo on it tho.
I'm thinking about buying a Coolermaster extreme 500w sometime later or tomorrow. :cool:
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,110 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,541
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#22
I'm thinking about buying a Coolermaster extreme 500w sometime later or tomorrow. :cool:
oh god no, thats as bad/worse than what you have.



PLEASE list what PSU's are available to you, and let us choose for you. there is no point getting something worse than what you have, based on misleading marketing specs.
 
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
System Name Yong's PC
Processor Intel (R) Core (TM) i7-7700K CPU @ 4.20GHz
Motherboard ASUS STRIX Z270F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig H7/Thermaltake Riing Fan RGB x5
Memory 2 X 16 GB G-Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti OC 11GB
Storage Crucial 275GB SSD + WD Blue 1 TB SSD + WD Black 1TB + WD Black 3TB
Display(s) Viewsonic XG2401
Case Thermaltake Versa C21
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850w
Mouse Razer Abyssus V2
Keyboard Dragon War Atomos Mechanical Keyboard
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
#23
Basically, my budget is just limited, and my friend recommended me a 500w Power Supply that is branded, I'll just have to choose whether I'll go for Coolermaster or Thermaltake. Since I'm not a hardcore gamer, I think 500w is fine with me and I don't overclock my CPU in any way. My video card is just an entry level, that is, GT 440, that means, it doesn't draw too much power. However... my CPU is i5 so yeah... I think 500w is okay.
 
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
374 (0.16/day)
Likes
131
Location
Netherlands
Processor Core i5 4690K @ 3.5 GHz \\ C2Q Q6600 @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3 SLI \\ Asus P5K Deluxe
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Performer \\ Xigmatek Dark Knight
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 2x 4GB \\ Corsair XMS2 2x 2 GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 970 G1 Gaming v1.1 (Hynix) \\ Sapphire HD 6850
Storage Kingston SV200, 3 TB Seagate 7200.14 \\ 2x 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) LG 24MP56HQ
Case Corsair Carbide 200R Windowed \\ CM 690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 \\ Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Adata HM850 \\ Corsair HX520
Mouse Logitech G602, SteelSeries Sensei Raw Frostblue, Corsair M65
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard Elite
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 \\ Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#24
Basically, my budget is just limited, and my friend recommended me a 500w Power Supply that is branded, I'll just have to choose whether I'll go for Coolermaster or Thermaltake. Since I'm not a hardcore gamer, I think 500w is fine with me and I don't overclock my CPU in any way. My video card is just an entry level, that is, GT 440, that means, it doesn't draw too much power. However... my CPU is i5 so yeah... I think 500w is okay.
Hi,

If you have no choice but to choose Cooler Master or Thermaltake branded PSUs because of limited budget, then get at least a Cooler Master GX450 which has a better OEM (Enhance) than the eXtreme Power 500W* (or eXtreme Power Plus 500W*) with a lower-end Acbel Polytech OEM (or Seventeam OEM in the "Plus" edition).

As for the Thermaltake PSU, well, avoid the Purepower series (especially the cheap ones), because most of them are overrated 400W PSUs. But there are also exceptions, see if you can find a Thermaltake Litepower 500W or Litepower 450W (LP-500AH2NF W0294; FSP OEM).
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,110 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,541
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#25
Basically, my budget is just limited, and my friend recommended me a 500w Power Supply that is branded, I'll just have to choose whether I'll go for Coolermaster or Thermaltake. Since I'm not a hardcore gamer, I think 500w is fine with me and I don't overclock my CPU in any way. My video card is just an entry level, that is, GT 440, that means, it doesn't draw too much power. However... my CPU is i5 so yeah... I think 500w is okay.
the wattage means nothing, a 400W corsair would be superior to a thermaltake or coolermaster 600W.

as TCman said, what really matters is who made the internals of the unit, and what the amperage is on the 12V rails.