• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

motherboard repair

Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
103 (0.05/day)
Likes
13
System Name Dad
Processor AMD FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V formula
Cooling CPU- Phanteks PHTC14CS GPU-Arctic accelero 7970
Memory 16GB ( 2x8GB) Gskil DDR3 F2 2400C10-8GTX
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6950 2GB
Storage Sandisk 120GB extreme, seagate baracuda 1TB 7200.14
Display(s) Samsung 2333 23" LCD
Case Dragon rider
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W 80+ bronze
Software Windows x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Wei Proccessor 7.8 ( just got it ) Ram 7.8 Graphics 7.9 Disk drive 7.9
#1
Hi
I recently acquired a "new" motherboard, however when I installed it , No fans or POST, no sound just the green stby power LED. I paid via paypal so I opened a case. To my amazement , I was given a full refund and told I could keep the board.
So I am on the lookout for another 990FX board bargain. ( recently saw a gigabyte UD-7 go for sub £100 )
My question
Has anybody attempted repairing a Sabertooth 990FX Rev 2.0 ?
Before I consign it to the wheelie bin, I wanted to check there wasn't a regulator chip , that may have acted as a "fuse"
I am an electronics engineer so have the skills to repair motherboards ( not BGA )
but any help gratefully accepted.

thanks
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
301 (0.16/day)
Likes
112
Processor Core I7-2600k @4,8GHZ @1,4V
Motherboard Asus p8-Z68 V Gen3
Cooling 2x1080 Custom loop
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws x 16gb 1866 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti
Storage Raid 0 2 x Sasmsung 850 EVo
Display(s) ASUS Swift
Case Test Bench
Power Supply Be quiet! 850 P10
Mouse G5
Keyboard Old USB Dell Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#2
Rest the bios, Take out the battery....look at the jumpers on the board if they are corectly and none missing. (if it has any)
If that dosn´t help you may make an Asus support ticket with the serial number you hopefully have and try to get it replaced.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#3
It could be a grounding problem. Pull the board out of the case and build the system on the motherboard box. Sometimes there is a standoff grounding or a wire to the case power/reset button. building it outside take grounding issue out of the equation. Good Luck.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,612 (0.83/day)
Likes
647
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#4
If the BIOS is corrupt, it might exhibit these symptoms, since it would have no POST routine instructions. I assume you did a CMOS reset, and I assume you tried to re-flash the BIOS (Asus USB Flashback requires only standby power to the naked board). If you tried all that to no avail, it could still be a bad BIOS chip. That board uses a socketed BIOS chip, which can be had for $10-$15 on eBay or from Asus.
Just a thought, might be a long shot, but worth a try if it's not a lot of trouble
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#5
If the BIOS is corrupt, it might exhibit these symptoms, since it would have no POST routine instructions. I assume you did a CMOS reset, and I assume you tried to re-flash the BIOS (Asus USB Flashback requires only standby power to the naked board). If you tried all that to no avail, it could still be a bad BIOS chip. That board uses a socketed BIOS chip, which can be had for $10-$15 on eBay or from Asus.
Just a thought, might be a long shot, but worth a try if it's not a lot of trouble
The bios is NOT corrupt. It is a new board and won't boot. He can't flash the bios if it don't boot.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
750 (0.40/day)
Likes
430
System Name Chaos
Processor Intel Core i5 4590K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower MAX AC
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 + MX4
Memory 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400 GT/s CL11
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor X, 800/1400 @ 1.075V/1.45V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 1 TB WD Green (Idle timer off) + 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Dell U2515H
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-380GB
Mouse CM Storm Recon
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro (MX Red)
#6
So the board is receiving +5VSB successfully, and is resting in stand-by, but won't "pull up" to S0 (on-state)?

You know, I has an Asus M2N-E a while ago that had the same symptoms. So I took out a DMM and screwed around with checking for fused FETs, open chokes, failed caps etc, I even brought in a scope with who-knows-what in mind...

Then I just stopped for a minute and thought I'd force it on. I took a large flat-head screwdriver and shorted pins 16-17 (PS_ON and GND), held it like that for about 10 seconds (while the CPU fan spun at full speed), and it turned off after I removed the short.

Amazingly, after turning the board over, shorting the power button pins on the front panel pinout, the board booted normally! To this day I don't have a reasonable explanation, but the board still works (in a friend's PC).

Perhaps it's not such a bad last-ditch effort...
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,612 (0.83/day)
Likes
647
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#7
The bios is NOT corrupt. It is a new board and won't boot. He can't flash the bios if it don't boot.
Asus USB Flashback will flash the BIOS without RAM, CPU, or anything else installed, using only +5v standby power. This very useful feature is included on most Asus boards since late 2011 (including the Sabertooth 990FX). It saved my ass a couple of times on my P8Z77-V board after failed overclocks.
Also, the OP stated that this was a "new" board (new in quotes), by which I assume he meant "used but new to me" since it appears to have been bought on eBay - they gave him a complete refund, but let him keep the board - that doesn't sound like brand new, it sounds like the seller knew the board was bad.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,162 (3.48/day)
Likes
6,798
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#8
Try different memory. I had two boards that the memory that should have worked didnt.

Also buy a new bios and replace the chip. You can get one from E bay for $10. Its worth a try. Maybe its just a dead BIOS and you cant flash that.

If the BIOS has been erased it will not post and wont flash
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#9
Hi
I recently acquired a "new" motherboard, however when I installed it , No fans or POST, no sound just the green stby power LED. I paid via paypal so I opened a case. To my amazement , I was given a full refund and told I could keep the board.
So I am on the lookout for another 990FX board bargain. ( recently saw a gigabyte UD-7 go for sub £100 )
My question
Has anybody attempted repairing a Sabertooth 990FX Rev 2.0 ?
Before I consign it to the wheelie bin, I wanted to check there wasn't a regulator chip , that may have acted as a "fuse"
I am an electronics engineer so have the skills to repair motherboards ( not BGA )
but any help gratefully accepted.

thanks
Just RMA to asus, they go by serial number so I would assume a 990FX would be under warranty
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#10
Try different memory. I had two boards that the memory that should have worked didnt.

Also buy a new bios and replace the chip. You can get one from E bay for $10. Its worth a try. Maybe its just a dead BIOS and you cant flash that.

If the BIOS has been erased it will not post and wont flash
Very good! It may be a memory compatability issue. Never thought of that! OP post all the system specs........
 

gmastra100

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
103 (0.05/day)
Likes
13
System Name Dad
Processor AMD FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V formula
Cooling CPU- Phanteks PHTC14CS GPU-Arctic accelero 7970
Memory 16GB ( 2x8GB) Gskil DDR3 F2 2400C10-8GTX
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6950 2GB
Storage Sandisk 120GB extreme, seagate baracuda 1TB 7200.14
Display(s) Samsung 2333 23" LCD
Case Dragon rider
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W 80+ bronze
Software Windows x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Wei Proccessor 7.8 ( just got it ) Ram 7.8 Graphics 7.9 Disk drive 7.9
#11
Hi Thanks for the quick reply,
I removed the battery and reset the bios chip, changed CPU, RAM
Checked the board over for obvious burnt tracks/ components but the board looks good.
Not sure if I can re flash the bios chip as nothing happens.
Do you think I can RMA the board as it was from an auction site with no info. just the board.
I have the serial number 60A*****AC0F.
I have found a bios chip on ebay that I can buy, what are the chances it works ? As I fixed a friends computer that had a bios chip issue, but at least the fans were on.

If I go the RMA route, where are the forms?. On the asus web page I could only see the RMA for notebook form?
https://eu-rma.asus.com/pick_eu/uk/
( if someone could provide me a link it would be great)
 

gmastra100

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
103 (0.05/day)
Likes
13
System Name Dad
Processor AMD FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V formula
Cooling CPU- Phanteks PHTC14CS GPU-Arctic accelero 7970
Memory 16GB ( 2x8GB) Gskil DDR3 F2 2400C10-8GTX
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6950 2GB
Storage Sandisk 120GB extreme, seagate baracuda 1TB 7200.14
Display(s) Samsung 2333 23" LCD
Case Dragon rider
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W 80+ bronze
Software Windows x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Wei Proccessor 7.8 ( just got it ) Ram 7.8 Graphics 7.9 Disk drive 7.9
#12
looks like I was reading the wrong s/n
If I do not have box , can I( get it from the board ?
 

gmastra100

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
103 (0.05/day)
Likes
13
System Name Dad
Processor AMD FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V formula
Cooling CPU- Phanteks PHTC14CS GPU-Arctic accelero 7970
Memory 16GB ( 2x8GB) Gskil DDR3 F2 2400C10-8GTX
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6950 2GB
Storage Sandisk 120GB extreme, seagate baracuda 1TB 7200.14
Display(s) Samsung 2333 23" LCD
Case Dragon rider
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W 80+ bronze
Software Windows x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Wei Proccessor 7.8 ( just got it ) Ram 7.8 Graphics 7.9 Disk drive 7.9
#14
Hi
the only numbers resembling a s/n are near the dram
0****8-01626-MB0CT0-A)C which is not being accepted as a s/n if I try to register the board
and the 60A number with a barcode on a printed label on the power connector.
I thought this was the S/n but again its apparently not the correct format
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,612 (0.83/day)
Likes
647
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#15
Did you try re-flashing the BIOS, specifically using Asus USB Flashback? This is a new utility that only requires +5v standby power, but I think it's only available on R2.0 versions of this board. If you have the original board version it's not possible to do it this way.
 

gmastra100

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
103 (0.05/day)
Likes
13
System Name Dad
Processor AMD FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V formula
Cooling CPU- Phanteks PHTC14CS GPU-Arctic accelero 7970
Memory 16GB ( 2x8GB) Gskil DDR3 F2 2400C10-8GTX
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6950 2GB
Storage Sandisk 120GB extreme, seagate baracuda 1TB 7200.14
Display(s) Samsung 2333 23" LCD
Case Dragon rider
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W 80+ bronze
Software Windows x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Wei Proccessor 7.8 ( just got it ) Ram 7.8 Graphics 7.9 Disk drive 7.9
#16
Hi I have a rev 2.0 board, I have downloaded the manual and cannot see how to flash bios with stby power only.
I have ordered a new bios chip which should arrive in the next week.
Assuming tha bios is corrupt I am still puzzled why there are no fas running on power up.
I keep thinking that with all these fancy vrm chips and power saving modes, there is a hardware fault in a regulator chip .
Will keep you updated
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,612 (0.83/day)
Likes
647
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#17
Hi I have a rev 2.0 board, I have downloaded the manual and cannot see how to flash bios with stby power only.
I have ordered a new bios chip which should arrive in the next week.
Assuming tha bios is corrupt I am still puzzled why there are no fas running on power up.
I keep thinking that with all these fancy vrm chips and power saving modes, there is a hardware fault in a regulator chip .
Will keep you updated
Sorry, I was misled by this photo, it has in large letters "USB BIOS Flashback" next to the first RAM slot. On my Asus P8Z77-V, USB BIOS Flashback is a utility which uses a dedicated button on the board and a dedicated USB port to flash the BIOS using only standby power, no CPU or RAM needs to be installed and you don't have to boot into the BIOS, so you can flash even an apparently dead board (if the green power LED will light). On your board it seems to mean just that you can use a thumb drive to load the BIOS from Windows or from a BIOS utility. But it's worded the exact same way on both boards. http://rog.asus.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/sabertooth-990fx-r2-overview1.jpg
 
Last edited:

gmastra100

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
103 (0.05/day)
Likes
13
System Name Dad
Processor AMD FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V formula
Cooling CPU- Phanteks PHTC14CS GPU-Arctic accelero 7970
Memory 16GB ( 2x8GB) Gskil DDR3 F2 2400C10-8GTX
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6950 2GB
Storage Sandisk 120GB extreme, seagate baracuda 1TB 7200.14
Display(s) Samsung 2333 23" LCD
Case Dragon rider
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W 80+ bronze
Software Windows x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Wei Proccessor 7.8 ( just got it ) Ram 7.8 Graphics 7.9 Disk drive 7.9
#18
No probs,
I have ordered a new chip. So will see if BIOS is issue next week
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.48/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#19
Its not a BIOS issue. Had it been, it would have powered on and fans would spin. Disconnect the CPU voltage connector(2*2 or 2*4 pin) connector and start the board. If fans spin(obviously, it will not POST), then you have got a short circuited VRM which is easy to fix. Also if you don't mount the CPU properly, then some board won't start too thinking there is no CPU.
 

gmastra100

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
103 (0.05/day)
Likes
13
System Name Dad
Processor AMD FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V formula
Cooling CPU- Phanteks PHTC14CS GPU-Arctic accelero 7970
Memory 16GB ( 2x8GB) Gskil DDR3 F2 2400C10-8GTX
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6950 2GB
Storage Sandisk 120GB extreme, seagate baracuda 1TB 7200.14
Display(s) Samsung 2333 23" LCD
Case Dragon rider
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W 80+ bronze
Software Windows x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Wei Proccessor 7.8 ( just got it ) Ram 7.8 Graphics 7.9 Disk drive 7.9
#20
Hi,
what do you meant the " CPU voltage connector(2*2 or 2*4 pin) connector " are they the
12V ( I have 2* 4pin)

I was going to try it with not CPU/Ram or graphics card as I read that it should still post.
My son is using his old comp, so will wait until I get the chip, ( so I don't dismantal his computer several times)
But will try what you suggest first.
thank you
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.48/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#21
Hi,
what do you meant the " CPU voltage connector(2*2 or 2*4 pin) connector " are they the
12V ( I have 2* 4pin)

I was going to try it with not CPU/Ram or graphics card as I read that it should still post.
My son is using his old comp, so will wait until I get the chip, ( so I don't dismantal his computer several times)
But will try what you suggest first.
thank you
Yes I meant that 12V connector. And do try it.
 

gmastra100

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
103 (0.05/day)
Likes
13
System Name Dad
Processor AMD FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V formula
Cooling CPU- Phanteks PHTC14CS GPU-Arctic accelero 7970
Memory 16GB ( 2x8GB) Gskil DDR3 F2 2400C10-8GTX
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6950 2GB
Storage Sandisk 120GB extreme, seagate baracuda 1TB 7200.14
Display(s) Samsung 2333 23" LCD
Case Dragon rider
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W 80+ bronze
Software Windows x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Wei Proccessor 7.8 ( just got it ) Ram 7.8 Graphics 7.9 Disk drive 7.9
#22
Hi all,
quick update,
tried board without the 12V connectors , and CPU/RAM fitted and not fitted, but still no fans.
I am waiting for the bios chip as my last hope.
Re-checked the board for signs of cracks and heat distortion on motherboard but looks new.
All chips , caps OK, even battery was 3V
Have not removed North and south bridhe heatsinks to check components under them. Will wait for new bios chip.
Please keep giving me ideas to try, very much appreciated.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.48/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#23
After checking the BIOS chip, if it does not work then try the last resort. Force power on it. Just plug all connectors of the PSU to the board. Take a small wire and join the green wire of the PSU to any black wire. See what happens.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,509 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,593
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#24
Even if the BIOS is corrupted you should be able to use BIOS Flashback to flash it by using the flashback button by a particular USB port. I needed to flash the BIOS on my P9X79 Deluxe before it would even POST.

This might be useful to get started: http://event.asus.com/2012/mb/usb_bios_flashback_guide/
 

gmastra100

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
103 (0.05/day)
Likes
13
System Name Dad
Processor AMD FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V formula
Cooling CPU- Phanteks PHTC14CS GPU-Arctic accelero 7970
Memory 16GB ( 2x8GB) Gskil DDR3 F2 2400C10-8GTX
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6950 2GB
Storage Sandisk 120GB extreme, seagate baracuda 1TB 7200.14
Display(s) Samsung 2333 23" LCD
Case Dragon rider
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W 80+ bronze
Software Windows x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Wei Proccessor 7.8 ( just got it ) Ram 7.8 Graphics 7.9 Disk drive 7.9
#25
hi just an update.
Still waiting for bios chip expected next week, so I thought that I would try shorting the green wire to the black.
Whilst I shorted the wires, ( only temporarily) , the fans came on , the cpu led was on, So I think it may be the bios, any other things I should try ?
The 990fx boards don't have the flashback so cannot re-flash with just standby.
Thank you, any more thoughts appreciated.