• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Motherboard showing different cpu temp than cpu monitoring software

Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
474 (0.21/day)
Likes
100
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.4 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070, back up card MSI GTX 970
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit and Windows 7 64 bit ultimate (dual boot)
#1
I just built a new pc with an i7 2600k and asus p8p67 deluxe motherboard.

In the bios it shows the cpu is running between 40 and 50 degrees Celsius, however open hardware monitor, hwmonitor, speedfan and quick cpu are all showing 32 c idle and 60 c under a full load.

My cpu is overclocked to 4.4 ghz and everything is running stable.

Also my old cpu and board did the same thing which was an amd FX 8320 and an msi 970 43 g motherboard.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,073 (5.32/day)
Likes
12,508
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
The motherboard almost always uses a temp sensor on the motherboard itself, usually under or very near the CPU socket.

The software is probably reporting the temperature of the sensor built into the CPU itself.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,848 (5.99/day)
Likes
8,888
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#3
I just built a new pc with an i7 2600k and asus p8p67 deluxe motherboard.

In the bios it shows the cpu is running between 40 and 50 degrees Celsius, however open hardware monitor, hwmonitor, speedfan and quick cpu are all showing 32 c idle and 60 c under a full load.

My cpu is overclocked to 4.4 ghz and everything is running stable.

Also my old cpu and board did the same thing which was an amd FX 8320 and an msi 970 43 g motherboard.
Openhardware monitor, look at average temps in bios write them down, find them in programs after
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
149 (2.53/day)
Likes
154
System Name Goliath
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X @ 4.1GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Custom water
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 3200MHz C14 @ 3400 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA P2 1200w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
#4
The reason it shows you a different temperature is simply due to the fact that the BIOS reads the package temp. It's a different sensor to what you might see in other programs those typically read individual cores. HWiNFO is a great example that reads literally every temperature in your system.

I wouldn't worry about the differences... as long as you're not hitting the TjMax, you're fine.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,335 (0.34/day)
Likes
896
#5
The CPU is usually in the C0 state and is not using any of the low power C States when you are sitting in the bios. When you boot up into Windows, the CPU will have access to at least the low power C1 state. This will significantly drop power consumption and core temperatures when idle compared to the CPU sitting in the fully active C0 state.

Lower temps when idle in Windows is normal.

Edit - Here is a good example of how hot a CPU runs when it does not have access to C1 when idle and is forced to remain in the C0 state even when it is not really doing anything.

https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/...high-performance-settings.221607/post-3443265
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
474 (0.21/day)
Likes
100
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.4 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070, back up card MSI GTX 970
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit and Windows 7 64 bit ultimate (dual boot)
#6
Ok so I should be good? Everything has been smooth sailing so far.

I have been running benchmarks and stressing the cpu and no issues yet.

I also used the Asus tool to overclock my cpu and it set it to 4.4 ghz which I'm happy with.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
474 (0.21/day)
Likes
100
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.4 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070, back up card MSI GTX 970
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit and Windows 7 64 bit ultimate (dual boot)
#8
I'll check and get back to you. How should I need and what would be safe?
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
474 (0.21/day)
Likes
100
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.4 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070, back up card MSI GTX 970
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit and Windows 7 64 bit ultimate (dual boot)
#10
I would check it with CPU-Z. You can also use the built in benchmark to put a load on your CPU.
I am running this right now and it states 1.304 volts. Is that safe? Cpu clock speed according to cpu z is 4429 mghz.
cpu z.PNG
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
474 (0.21/day)
Likes
100
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.4 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070, back up card MSI GTX 970
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit and Windows 7 64 bit ultimate (dual boot)
#12
highest temps its hit so far is 62 degrees c and that was under a full stress test that was using 100 percent on all cores. So far its running like a beast, way faster than my old fx 8320 lol.

I just benchmarked crysis, old game I know but with my old fx 8320 I would average between 40 and 60 fps, with my 2600k i was averaging 90. I will be pairing with a gtx 1070. I should have that by Monday, I can't wait.
 
Top