• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Motherboard Vendors Confirm Phenom II X3 Core Unlock, Luck Needed

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,491 (9.19/day)
Likes
17,517
Location
Hyderabad, India
#1
The ability to unlock the disabled core on Phenom II X3 processor draws parallels with the days when one could soft-mod a NV40-based GeForce 6800 XT to higher models. An article by Korean website Playwares made waves on the internet yesterday, which suggested a very easy method to unlock the disabled core on Phenom II X3. Several users have been able to verify and confirm the method works. While Playwares used a Biostar-made motherboard, people with ACC-supportive motherboards from several makes have been able to get the mod to work. Motherboard vendors performed their own testing to confirm this method, and have had some success so far.

The success of this mod however, depends on a few factors:
  • The disabled core AMD notes to be "unstable", should be fit-enough to be at least enabled and working
  • The motherboard should support the Advanced Clock Calibration feature, which currently only motherboards with AMD's SB750 southbridge chip support
  • The Phenom II X3 processor should belong to the 0904 manufacturing batch, these should be some of the initial batches of the processor, and may still be found with retailers

Considering AMD doesn't have an AM3-socket CPU featuring 6 MB of L3 cache out in the market yet, this opens up a good opportunity to get a taste of Phenom II X4 AM3 chips at a lesser price, but then again, you might need some luck to get the chip belonging to the right batch.



Source: VR-Zone
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
47 (0.01/day)
Likes
21
Location
Portugal
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Pro Gen3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Kingston HyperX 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X + Morpheus + 2xP12
Storage Kingston SSDNow V+200 240GB
Display(s) Asus PA238Q IPS
Case Lian-Li PC-A10B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro Series
Power Supply Antec TruePower New 750
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Logitech G19s
#2
"draws parallels with the days when one could soft-mod a NV40-based GeForce 6800 XT to higher models"

How about the king of them all... the gold mine of softmods... ATi 9500 to 9700 "pipemania"? Those were the days...
Maybe the "softmod fever" is back, this time in cpu style... and AMD really could use this type of advantage to close the gap.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.17/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#3
This is so awesome. People who bought Phenom II X3's got a really good deal!
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#4
One core can bring the remaining down.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,526 (0.73/day)
Likes
507
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#5
He did not unlock the core I don`t think it is even lock. He just put in the board and as most things in bios ACC was set to auto. And boom x4. And why is this possible only on crappy boards :D
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,526 (0.73/day)
Likes
507
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#6
One core can bring the remaining down.
It is not a war scenario :roll:
If it not working properly you just set ACC to disable and again three core party.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
632 (0.18/day)
Likes
64
Location
Australia
System Name _Speedforce_ (Successor to Strike-X, 4LI3NBR33D-H, Core-iH7 & Nemesis-H)
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X (Lapped) @ 4.9Ghz With XSPC Raystorm (Lapped)
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe (XSPC Watercooled) - Custom Heatsinks
Cooling XSPC Custom Water Cooling + Custom Air Cooling (From Delta 120's TFB1212GHE to Spal 30101504&5)
Memory 8x 8Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum 3400MHz @ 3667Mhz (CMU32GX4M4C3466C16)
Video Card(s) 3x Asus GTX1080 Ti (Lapped) With Customised EK Waterblock (Lapped) + Custom heatsinks (Lapped)
Storage 5x Samsung 960 Pro 1Tb M.2 2280 (Hyper M.2 x16 Card), 1x Samsung 850 Pro 1Tb, 6x Samsung EVO 850 4Tb
Display(s) 6x Asus ROG Swift PG27AQ
Case Aerocool Strike X (Modified)
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 & Aurvana XFi Headphones
Power Supply 2x Corsair AX1500i With Custom Sheilding, Custom Switching Unit. Braided Cables.
Mouse Razer Copperhead + R.A.T 9
Keyboard Ideazon Zboard + Optimus Maximus. Logitech G13.
Software w10 Pro x64.
Benchmark Scores pppft, gotta see it to believe it. . .
#8
Excellent news for those able.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2,482 (0.63/day)
Likes
340
Location
Your house.
System Name Jupiter-2
Processor Intel i3-6100
Motherboard H170I-PLUS D3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Mushkin DDR3L-1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage 512GB Corsair SSD
Display(s) BENQ 24in
Case Lian Li PC-Q01B Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 450W
Mouse Logitech Trackball
Keyboard Custom bamboo job
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Finished Super PI on legendary mode in only 13 hours.
#9
Maybe it's just the conspiracy theorist in me, but could this possibly have been... *gasp* not a complete secret to AMD?

I mean, anything that gets hype and buzz surrounding their new processors is good for them, and considering since the amount of people that will actually be able to unlock that fourth core and get more for their money is going to be very small, AMD isn't really losing much.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.60/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#10
OK, does anyone know how to mess with bios code? I was thinking maybe if you change the device ID or whatever in the bios to read Kuma's, Tolimen and these PII 700's as having 4 cores, making them think they are Agena and Deneb.
I will upload my bios and test this out if anyone wants to help.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#11
It is not a war scenario :roll:
If it not working properly you just set ACC to disable and again three core party.
Lets say that the promblem with the third core is overheating or voltage leakages. Guess it depends on the batch.
 

Tau

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
821 (0.21/day)
Likes
92
#12
This is so awesome. People who bought Phenom II X3's got a really good deal!
How would this be a good thing?

This is bad news, i mean its bad news if you own a tripple core, but wanting to re enable the defective core.... what part of that says good idea?

:shadedshu

AMD needs to get their ducks in a row IMO.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,491 (9.19/day)
Likes
17,517
Location
Hyderabad, India
#13
This is bad news, i mean its bad news if you own a tripple core, but wanting to re enable the defective core.... what part of that says good idea?
The part where you're getting a $220 chip for $170.

The disabled core needn't necessarily be defective. AMD can convert normal Deneb dice to Heka, if its demand is good enough. The modded quad-core X3 at ~3.2 GHz (fixed multiplier) was found to be Prime95 stable.
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2005
Messages
517 (0.11/day)
Likes
52
Location
Germany,Hannover
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-3570K
Motherboard Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Scythe Ninja 3 Rev. B
Memory Patriot DIMM 8 GB DDR3-1866 Kit (PV38G186C9KRD, Viper 3 Venom Red)
Video Card(s) Palit 650GTX 1GB DDR5
Storage 1TB SATA 600 Hitachi HDS721010DLE630
Display(s) 23" LCD TN-Film from Asus with Tilt/Pivot
Case Zaria A20 !!!THANK YOU TECHPOWERUP.COM!!!
Audio Device(s) onboard Sound
Power Supply BeQuiet 720W, cable management..
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#14
how much is it in total?

Board + CPU (wich was used here) ? i may consider that
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,573 (1.41/day)
Likes
1,173
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#15
The part where you're getting a $220 chip for $170.

The disabled core needn't necessarily be defective. AMD can convert normal Deneb dice to Heka, if its demand is good enough. The modded quad-core X3 at ~3.2 GHz (fixed multiplier) was found to be Prime95 stable.
One more thing, it might be stable with Prime95 but not always stable with all the programs and scenarios, thats the reason AMD might have disabled one core. Thorough testing will show this. Again its pure luck.

anyway this is fun.

Like Overclocking now OverCoring :rockout:

Thanks bta for posting new updates. Keep it coming.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,573 (1.41/day)
Likes
1,173
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#16
T

TechnicalFreak

Guest
#17
A question, must the CPU also be an "ES"/Engineering Sample aswell?
I might have found someone in Sweden who has one for sale in that case (and he doesn't know anything of this!!!).
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,417 (3.13/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#18
Lets say that the promblem with the third core is overheating or voltage leakages. Guess it depends on the batch.
4th core you mean? Either way if thats the problem you turn it off. A proc overheating to the point of turning off the comp once isn't going to kill the entire proc. And thats what temp monitoring is for, if your trying to enable a core that was disabled from the factory and your not using all the monitoring software you can, then thats your fault.