• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Motherboard wont post on reboot

Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
574 (0.28/day)
Likes
220
Location
Australia
Processor Intel® Core i5 6600
Motherboard Asus H170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB DDR4 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 960 G1 4GB Gaming
Storage 256GB Intel SSD 525 Series
Display(s) 24" LG LED Monitor
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Power Supply Seasonic MK12II 620W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64
#1
Ok,

So new question! =)

http://www.msi.com/product/mb/P4M890M-L-IL.html#/?div=Overview

That is the motherboard.
Cpu is a dual core 2.3ghz, with an ati 9600gt, 2gb RAM

Problem: Turn the PC on - post fine. Use to button to reboot on the face of the machine posts fine, if i use restart in windows to reboot, shuts down then upon reboot it doesnt post?!
Then I just hit restart button on my box and it reboots and posts again?!

So it only doesnt post when i use restart in windows. Even like after windows update, and hit "restart now" it shuts down then doesnt post when it reboots until i do a hard reset via the button on the front..

ideas..?!

Bios is latest version, updated all drivers. Cleared cmos..googled it with no luck so far..So im at a loose end.


Cheers guys :)

:toast:
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#2
Hi

What ram is it? brand and model number

nb: option 1 could try this, power down; remove ram; clean the blades with coffee filter and isopropyl alcohol; use air duster on DIMM slots [or skip to option 2] and then option 2 *reseat the memory modules

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
574 (0.28/day)
Likes
220
Location
Australia
Processor Intel® Core i5 6600
Motherboard Asus H170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB DDR4 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 960 G1 4GB Gaming
Storage 256GB Intel SSD 525 Series
Display(s) 24" LG LED Monitor
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Power Supply Seasonic MK12II 620W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64
#3
Hi

What ram is it? brand and model number

nb: option 1 could try this, power down; remove ram; clean the blades with coffee filter and isopropyl alcohol; use air duster on DIMM slots [or skip to option 2] and then option 2 *reseat the memory modules

atb (all the best)

Law-II
Note sure on the model of the ram, I will check when i get home from work ;)
I have already cleaned the ram and all other components for that reason. and I have already reseated the modules.. =\

I am at a loose end!Cant find an answer?!Any other ideas anyone...?:confused:
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#4
Note sure on the model of the ram, I will check when i get home from work ;)
I have already cleaned the ram and all other components for that reason. and I have already reseated the modules.. =\

I am at a loose end!Cant find an answer?!Any other ideas anyone...?:confused:
Hi

You could try - If you havent already; run scandisk on your hdd and swap the hdd cable out

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
574 (0.28/day)
Likes
220
Location
Australia
Processor Intel® Core i5 6600
Motherboard Asus H170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB DDR4 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 960 G1 4GB Gaming
Storage 256GB Intel SSD 525 Series
Display(s) 24" LG LED Monitor
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Power Supply Seasonic MK12II 620W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64
#5
Hi

You could try - If you havent already; run scandisk on your hdd and swap the hdd cable out

atb

Law-II
You think that could stop it posting on reboot..? I havent done that but I am open to all suggestions.I will try that and report back tonight :toast:
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#6
You think that could stop it posting on reboot..? I havent done that but I am open to all suggestions.I will try that and report back tonight :toast:


Yes, that happened to me but did you do a fresh install of windows?
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
Messages
666 (0.27/day)
Likes
268
Location
coventry UK
System Name Gwafwar
Processor i5 2500K @ 4.6Ghz
Motherboard Msi p67a gd45
Cooling EK H30 HF240
Memory 16Gb Hyper X 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX970
Storage 840 250Gb 6TB on 3 drives
Display(s) 3x 27" 1080p Lg's
Case Coolermaster 690 II pure black
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 80+bronze 800W
Mouse Saitek X65-f HOTAS
Software Win7 ultimate 64,
#7
Might be the PSU not cycling fast enough for the software reboot.

Hardware reboot, Hit the button, caps drain, Hit the power on button. (true power cycling).

Software reboot, Windows dies and the motherboard instantly restarts before the caps have drained. Effect the motherboard sends the signal to the PSU, but the PSU is not ready to respond. It could equally be the SMPS circuits on the PSU playing up.

You could test it with a different PSU and see if the problem vanishes. Or put that PSU in another machine and see if you can recreate the problem.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
574 (0.28/day)
Likes
220
Location
Australia
Processor Intel® Core i5 6600
Motherboard Asus H170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB DDR4 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 960 G1 4GB Gaming
Storage 256GB Intel SSD 525 Series
Display(s) 24" LG LED Monitor
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Power Supply Seasonic MK12II 620W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64
#8
Yes, that happened to me but did you do a fresh install of windows?
Really..?Yes It is a brand new fresh install with the problem.

Might be the PSU not cycling fast enough for the software reboot.

Hardware reboot, Hit the button, caps drain, Hit the power on button.

Software reboot, Windows dies and the motherboard instantly restarts before the caps have drained. Effect the motherboard sends the signal to the PSU, but the PSU is not ready to respond.

You could test it with a different PSU and see if the problem vanishes.
And I have already tried different psu and gpu. =\

There has to be a logical explanation as to why this computer does this?! :confused::confused:

:cry:
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
574 (0.28/day)
Likes
220
Location
Australia
Processor Intel® Core i5 6600
Motherboard Asus H170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB DDR4 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 960 G1 4GB Gaming
Storage 256GB Intel SSD 525 Series
Display(s) 24" LG LED Monitor
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Power Supply Seasonic MK12II 620W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64
#9
Might be the PSU not cycling fast enough for the software reboot.

Hardware reboot, Hit the button, caps drain, Hit the power on button. (true power cycling).

Software reboot, Windows dies and the motherboard instantly restarts before the caps have drained. Effect the motherboard sends the signal to the PSU, but the PSU is not ready to respond. It could equally be the SMPS circuits on the PSU playing up.

You could test it with a different PSU and see if the problem vanishes. Or put that PSU in another machine and see if you can recreate the problem.
I havent tried that psu in a different system. But have swapped psu's in that system and the problem remains.I have a feeling it is something to do with the motherboard.I havent swapped the ram because I dont have any to replace it with - because its old.But have swapped psu's and gpu's, I have re-seated the ram modules, done a fresh install of windows..sooo lost! :cry:
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
Messages
666 (0.27/day)
Likes
268
Location
coventry UK
System Name Gwafwar
Processor i5 2500K @ 4.6Ghz
Motherboard Msi p67a gd45
Cooling EK H30 HF240
Memory 16Gb Hyper X 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX970
Storage 840 250Gb 6TB on 3 drives
Display(s) 3x 27" 1080p Lg's
Case Coolermaster 690 II pure black
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 80+bronze 800W
Mouse Saitek X65-f HOTAS
Software Win7 ultimate 64,
#10
If you've already done all of the above and your still having problems you might want to start thinking about a full strip down and rebuild.

When you do the rebuild make sure everything is 100%, all motherboard risers in place (might be a slow grounding issue), CPU clean, New TIM, Backplate properly in place, Sata connectors in solid, ect ect.


If it still presents a problem after that the only solution I can think of is always doing a cold shutdown instead of restarts. The pc is running so it's not something that's overly bad, just annoying.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
574 (0.28/day)
Likes
220
Location
Australia
Processor Intel® Core i5 6600
Motherboard Asus H170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB DDR4 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 960 G1 4GB Gaming
Storage 256GB Intel SSD 525 Series
Display(s) 24" LG LED Monitor
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Power Supply Seasonic MK12II 620W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64
#11
If you've already done all of the above and your still having problems you might want to start thinking about a full strip down and rebuild.

When you do the rebuild make sure everything is 100%, all motherboard risers in place (might be a slow grounding issue), CPU clean, New TIM, Backplate properly in place, Sata connectors in solid, ect ect.


If it still presents a problem after that the only solution I can think of is always doing a cold shutdown instead of restarts. The pc is running so it's not something that's overly bad, just annoying.
Yea I think thats probably worth doing.

That is right though, it isnt a major issue.It just is frutrating.lol!


Cheers :toast:
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#12
Try a friends hard drive
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
574 (0.28/day)
Likes
220
Location
Australia
Processor Intel® Core i5 6600
Motherboard Asus H170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB DDR4 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 960 G1 4GB Gaming
Storage 256GB Intel SSD 525 Series
Display(s) 24" LG LED Monitor
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Power Supply Seasonic MK12II 620W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64
#13
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#14
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.48/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#15
Your CPU may be overheating. I had this problem once on my Pentium 4. I mounted the cooler incorrectly causing it to operate at 90 degree C. If I restarted from Windows, it wont POST. I suspect to be the cache memory not clearing up fully due to high temperature. Check temps. Use HWMonitor.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
574 (0.28/day)
Likes
220
Location
Australia
Processor Intel® Core i5 6600
Motherboard Asus H170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB DDR4 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 960 G1 4GB Gaming
Storage 256GB Intel SSD 525 Series
Display(s) 24" LG LED Monitor
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Power Supply Seasonic MK12II 620W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64
#16
This will elimnate if the drive is bad.
Ok will check.

Your CPU may be overheating. I had this problem once on my Pentium 4. I mounted the cooler incorrectly causing it to operate at 90 degree C. If I restarted from Windows, it wont POST. I suspect to be the cache memory not clearing up fully due to high temperature. Check temps. Use HWMonitor.
And thanks, I had already had that exact thought and checked my temps.And all is fine.. :banghead: