• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Movie Maker in Windows 7

Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
590 (0.17/day)
Location
Sacramento, Ca
System Name GFNmachine
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Cooling CooliT Vantage
Memory 4x 4 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 MHz DDR3 CL9
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 670
Storage 1TB WD Black + 200GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus VH242H 24'' @ 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM 690 (Painted black inside)
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit / Ubuntu 12.10
Hey folks. Im trying to compile a little movie using clips I took with FRAPS and it is stuttering and when I preview my movie its just awfully slow. That is fixed when I export it of course. I just want to know is there anything I can do to give it a boost?


*Please dont give me your critique on MM and how much it sucks and how much other software that I dont have or own are better. :)
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
439 (0.09/day)
When I use WMM it sometimes shows a bar filling up that says it's optimizing the file for preview. Could it be that you're trying to edit before this fills up completely?

That's the only time I have had stuttering in WMM. If not that, it might be you have missing codecs, but I'm far from sure of that.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
590 (0.17/day)
Location
Sacramento, Ca
System Name GFNmachine
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Cooling CooliT Vantage
Memory 4x 4 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 MHz DDR3 CL9
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 670
Storage 1TB WD Black + 200GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus VH242H 24'' @ 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM 690 (Painted black inside)
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit / Ubuntu 12.10
When I use WMM it sometimes shows a bar filling up that says it's optimizing the file for preview. Could it be that you're trying to edit before this fills up completely?

That's the only time I have had stuttering in WMM. If not that, it might be you have missing codecs, but I'm far from sure of that.
Not sure about which bar you are referring to. I have about 20-30 clips. I open my project, wait for all thumbnails to load. Still when I preview them, alot of stuttering and slow-mo playback.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,237 (2.42/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
actually i dunno on win 7 but when i run MM on xp it would several times not responding when i compile more than 3 clips or longer clips, so i have to save often or its gone
if after you compile that it could run without any error i guess (maybe) its kinda characteristic of MM
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
590 (0.17/day)
Location
Sacramento, Ca
System Name GFNmachine
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Cooling CooliT Vantage
Memory 4x 4 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 MHz DDR3 CL9
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 670
Storage 1TB WD Black + 200GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus VH242H 24'' @ 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM 690 (Painted black inside)
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit / Ubuntu 12.10
actually i dunno on win 7 but when i run MM on xp it would several times not responding when i compile more than 3 clips or longer clips, so i have to save often or its gone
if after you compile that it could run without any error i guess (maybe) its kinda characteristic of MM
Yeah but MM on windows 7 is very different from one on xp. I guess Microsoft just screwed up the support for 1080p content in MM which is frankly just sad...
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.04/day)
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
If you're tyring to edit 1080p video, you might want to see if you can change any media cache settings; try to setup a scratch disk on your other HDD. If you've got another drive around spare, set it as a dedicated pagefile disk.
Video editing is one thing - you can do it on almost any rig - but HD video editing is another ball game.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
590 (0.17/day)
Location
Sacramento, Ca
System Name GFNmachine
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Cooling CooliT Vantage
Memory 4x 4 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 MHz DDR3 CL9
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 670
Storage 1TB WD Black + 200GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus VH242H 24'' @ 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM 690 (Painted black inside)
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit / Ubuntu 12.10
If you're tyring to edit 1080p video, you might want to see if you can change any media cache settings; try to setup a scratch disk on your other HDD. If you've got another drive around spare, set it as a dedicated pagefile disk.
Video editing is one thing - you can do it on almost any rig - but HD video editing is another ball game.
I have a 40 gig laptop drive that is just sitting there that i can use. Would that help?
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.04/day)
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
I have a 40 gig laptop drive that is just sitting there that i can use. Would that help?
It just might.. what format is the file in? Not .mov I hope.

Does WMM have any media cache/preview settings?
If not, just put your original footage on a separate drive to your OS and pagefile (the lappy drive would be ok)
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
590 (0.17/day)
Location
Sacramento, Ca
System Name GFNmachine
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Cooling CooliT Vantage
Memory 4x 4 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 MHz DDR3 CL9
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 670
Storage 1TB WD Black + 200GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus VH242H 24'' @ 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM 690 (Painted black inside)
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit / Ubuntu 12.10
It just might.. what format is the file in? Not .mov I hope.

Does WMM have any media cache/preview settings?
If not, just put your original footage on a separate drive to your OS and pagefile (the lappy drive would be ok)
Nah, the video files are all recorded through FRAPS in avi. Thanks for the tip.
 
Top