• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Mozilla Firefox 3.5 Released

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,332 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,426
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
Mozilla today announced the newest stable version of Firefox, version 3.5, which has been available in various developer preview forms for months. The new version is a milestone release, unlike timely updates that Firefox receives on a near-monthly basis, and boasts of better performance. For instance, Firefox 3.5 outperforms its previous version (Firefox 3) by over 100% in the SunSpider benchmark.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.73/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#2
Been running the RC on the laptop, it's ok. Doesn't feel any more or less faster compared to my Desktop. So no idea where they are getting these figures from, unless it's for super specialist things that i dare not venture to.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#3
Just speed it up yourself then.

Go to "about:config" in your browser.

Look for these values:

network.http.pipelining > TRUE
network.http.pipelining.maxrequests > 30
network.http.proxy.pipelining > TRUE

Now right-click anywhere and select New > Integer. Name it "nglayout.initialpaintdelay" and its value to "0" and you should get a nice speed boost on any DSL or higher connection.

Going from 3.0 to 3.5 using these fixes in both, it's a tad quicker :)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,106 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,536
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
you know whats funny? i just updated systems to the RC3 here, less than 4 hours ago... sneaky bastards.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#5
I was going to download RC3 today as well, but now we get the actual release!
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
532 (0.15/day)
Likes
162
Location
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
System Name This PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Water Cooling - CPU Only
Memory 8GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 TI - EVGA FTW3 - Slave BIOS
Storage Corsair Force GT 128GB / Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB
Display(s) AOC AGON AG271QG - 165 Hz - AHVA
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec 1.2kW HCP
Mouse Logitech G403 - Wired
Keyboard Rosewill - MX Browns
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
I just ran that sunspider java benchmark, and I got it done in 594.8 ms! Go Firefox 3.5:)

 

dani31

New Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2008
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
Bucharest, RO
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 125W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-UD4H
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U12P
Memory 4 x 1GB DDR2 1066 Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) RADEON HD4870 1GB
Storage 2 x Seagate 320GB single platters
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W
Software Vista x64 Home Basic
#7
Looks like chrome is still the one to beat for speed.

 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,106 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,536
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#8
my PC blue screened in another thread while typing a reply (testing new ram).

Upon rebooting and starting FF 3.5 back up, it not only recovered my tabs... but everything i'd been typing in the reply box :) lost maybe two words of a whole, large reply.

FireFox FOREVER!

(a download in progress when FF crashed also auto resumed when it came back.... :love: )
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2,481 (0.63/day)
Likes
340
Location
Your house.
System Name Jupiter-2
Processor Intel i3-6100
Motherboard H170I-PLUS D3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Mushkin DDR3L-1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage 512GB Corsair SSD
Display(s) BENQ 24in
Case Lian Li PC-Q01B Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 450W
Mouse Logitech Trackball
Keyboard Custom bamboo job
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Finished Super PI on legendary mode in only 13 hours.
#9
Looks like chrome is still the one to beat for speed.

http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/2028/45734453.png
No one's doubting that. :laugh: Chrome's a damn fast browser.

Been using Firefox 3.5 for a few months now in various beta and RC forms, and I have to say -- after developing in it heavily, keeping it open all day, opening up 20+ javascript-heavy tabs all while using 10 different developer extensions -- the memory-hogging problems seem to be fixed!

I can do this with Firefox 3.5 all day and it's barely using over 250mb of memory. Firefox 3.0 would be taking up 500 or more by that point.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,106 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,536
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#10
^ mine hangs at 250MB or less all the time now too. i noticed that. old one used to reach upto 2.5GB if i tried hard :D
 

Weer

New Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2007
Messages
1,417 (0.38/day)
Likes
93
Location
New York / Israel
System Name //////////////////////////////////////Crunching/Folding Builds\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
Processor Q8400@ 4.0Ghz | Q6600 @ 3.6Ghz | E7300 @ 3.8Ghz | E5300 @ 4.3Ghz | E5300 @ 3.9Ghz | E2180 @ 2.0Ghz |
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-E | Asus P5Q Pro | Gigabyte EG45-DS2H | Gigabyte EP35-DS3H | Gigabyte NV73 | E-Sonic P35-G
Cooling TRUE [Lapped] | TRUE | Thermalright SI-128 | Stock | Stock | Stock
Memory G.Skill 8192MB @ 1066Mhz | G.Skill 4096MB | OCZ 2048MB | G.Skill 2048MB | PNY 2048MB | OCZ 1024MB
Video Card(s) GTX 280 + 8800 GTS 512 | 9800 GX2 + 8800 GTS 512 | 6600 GT | 8800 GS | 9600 GSO 512
Storage G.Skill 64GB SSD (OS) | Segate 750GB [Downloads] | 5TB JBOD [Movies] | 3TB JBOD [Else] | 1.5TB [Ex]
Display(s) QUAD Monitors: Dell 2007FP [20"] + Dell 3007WFP-HC [30"] + Dell 2007FP [20"] | Dell 2407WFP-HC [24"]
Case Antec P190 | Antec Three-Hundred | Antec NSK2400 | Thermaltake Strike MX | HEC 6T10 | HEC 8K01
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer PCI + [Audiophile HD600] + [Creative G500 + Logitech X-530 = 10 speakers]
Power Supply OCZ 750w [62A] | OCZ 750w [62A] | Antec 380w [31A] | Antec 650w [54A] | OCZ 400w [33A] | GeN [20A]
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit + Windows XP 64-bit | Windows Vista SP2 64-bit | Windows 7 RTM 64-bit
Benchmark Scores ////////////////////////////////66,666 [Crunching] + 45,455 [Folding]\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
#11
^ mine hangs at 250MB or less all the time now too. i noticed that. old one used to reach upto 2.5GB if i tried hard :D
Why does it matter anymore? We both have 8GB of RAM.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
346 (0.10/day)
Likes
24
System Name Kincsem
Processor Core i7 3820
Motherboard GA-X79S-UP5-WIFI
Cooling Scythe Ashura
Memory Kingston 4×4GB 2133 cl11
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7970
Storage 96GB SSD +750+2000+1500
Display(s) Samsung 26" T260 + Dell 23" U2312HM
Case Cooler Master Centurion 590
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Windows7-64
Benchmark Scores http://valid.canardpc.com/rwh6sq https://www.dropbox.com/s/prcc36lhyxxw6j4/Intel%20i7%203820.png
#12
The fastest browser is chrome, the smartest is Opera
But FF is the best replacement for ex-Internet Explorer users for the first time :)
 

Kitkat

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
768 (0.24/day)
Likes
75
#13
its not faster , after i opera'ed once i didnt turn away has some kinks like other browsers but once your connection and computer are so fast like 1 /100th of a sec dosnt mater anymore lol. THEY ALL CRASH the same (if your a power user and dont go to the same 3 sites everyday) the internet is more the problem over the browers. websites with HORIBLE code no where near standard.

my PC blue screened in another thread while typing a reply (testing new ram).

Upon rebooting and starting FF 3.5 back up, it not only recovered my tabs... but everything i'd been typing in the reply box :) lost maybe two words of a whole, large reply.

FireFox FOREVER!

(a download in progress when FF crashed also auto resumed when it came back.... :love: )
opera will rec all tabs and what u type too ie now also. + there is ALWAYS an update for firefox, thats the main thing i hate about it lol. Other than that its ok, i still like operas setup and coming with everything already for me.
 
Last edited:
B

Beny-Nvidia

Guest
#14
Just speed it up yourself then.

Go to "about:config" in your browser.

Look for these values:

network.http.pipelining > TRUE
network.http.pipelining.maxrequests > 30
network.http.proxy.pipelining > TRUE

Now right-click anywhere and select New > Integer. Name it "nglayout.initialpaintdelay" and its value to "0" and you should get a nice speed boost on any DSL or higher connection.

Going from 3.0 to 3.5 using these fixes in both, it's a tad quicker :)
tested ...

its my result ... have a see ...
here is it : compare link No Change ...

its too slow than tests ive seen in other sites ..
maybe its cause of my addons ...
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#15
Wow FF3.5 is quite nippy. Four as fast as IE in the sunspider test.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
1,334 (0.41/day)
Likes
163
#16
As usual, Mozilla said Fuck You then fixed things that aren't broken and you have to waste time and resources to "UN-FIX" them: 3.5 ignores your group policy concerning zone.identifier(need three fucking settings in about:config to disable), closes window with last tab by default(have to go into a:c again) and does not have a close button on the last tab(userchrome.css or Stylish+styles).
There might be more, but those three are the most retarded ones I've encountered.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
4,250 (1.29/day)
Likes
2,801
Location
S.Cali
System Name Freeman's Box (HL2 mod)
Processor Intel core i7 860 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling ApogeeXT/EK pump/ 140 rad x2
Memory Kingston HyperX 2166 8Gb
Video Card(s) Evga SSC GTX 970 4Gb
Storage SSD 840 250Gb, WD 640Gb
Display(s) 32" Samsung SyncMaster
Case NZXT Tempest Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SupremeFX
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer Tarantula
Software Win.7 Home Prem. x64
Benchmark Scores Good enough ;)
#17
Just got the 3.5 release and I like the new little features it has. :)
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
3,170 (0.84/day)
Likes
527
Location
Florida, US
System Name bits and pieces
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1230V3
Motherboard Gigabyte H97
Cooling stock
Memory 16GB for now
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage 256GB SSD + 3x 2TB WDs (storage)
Display(s) 2x BENQ GW2250 + ViewSonic 24"
Case Cooler Master Centurion 5 :P
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD --- JBL 4412 Studio Monitors / Polk PSW505
Power Supply Antec 550W
Mouse Corsair M65 pro
Keyboard MS Sidewinder
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#18
This version fixed the problem with capping upload at 3Mb/s
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
318 (0.10/day)
Likes
28
Location
New York, NY
System Name The Baconator
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790FX
Cooling Zalman 9900 CPU Cooler
Memory 16Gb DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 5870
Storage OS: WD 300Gb @ 10,000rpm. Storage: 2 x 1Tb @ 7,200rpm
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED 1080p Monitor
Case Cooler Master Sniper Medium Tower
Audio Device(s) MoBo Integrated
Power Supply Corsair PSU 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#19
I'm hating it so far. The Aero Fox theme I was using is incompatible, and my Edit, View and Help menus disappeared. Anyone knows how can I get them back? o_O
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.74/day)
Likes
379
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
#20
after developing in it heavily, keeping it open all day, opening up 20+ javascript-heavy tabs all while using 10 different developer extensions -- the memory-hogging problems seem to be fixed!

I can do this with Firefox 3.5 all day and it's barely using over 250mb of memory. Firefox 3.0 would be taking up 500 or more by that point.
^ mine hangs at 250MB or less all the time now too. i noticed that. old one used to reach upto 2.5GB if i tried hard :D
Nice! 3.0.5 or something about there started to leak memory and it's just gotten worse and no fix yet. I'm on 3.0.11 with 6 tabs now open and 643MB used..

Why does it matter anymore? We both have 8GB of RAM.
I have 4GB and no it wouldn't matter, but it does, as it also gets slower and slower the more memory it hogs.

Will be upgrading to 3.5 right after this post, it can't be worse than 3. I don't like restarting the browser constantly, just the free up the memory. btw. while writing this post the memory usage went up to 644MB, 1MB for just sitting there, no wonder the memory usage builds up if I have the browser open for couple days.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
231 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
System Name Uh, my build?
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz (3.9GHz turbo)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H (F8 BIOS)
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD7970 3GB 1GHz Core/5.5GHz Memory
Storage SanDisk Extreme Pro 960GB & 2TB WD Black & 1TB WD Green
Display(s) 1x Samsung 23" Syncmaster P2350 1x LG 23"
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard now since store didn't RMA properly
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W
Software Win 10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 - P8456 - http://3dmark.com/3dm11/3372758
#22
I find it takes forever to open up 3.5.... It also seems slower. Memory Usage seems the same as before too...
Did I do something wrong by just updating straight from 3?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,106 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,536
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#23
I find it takes forever to open up 3.5.... It also seems slower. Memory Usage seems the same as before too...
Did I do something wrong by just updating straight from 3?
maybe its a plugin or addon? uninstall and reinstalling would fix that.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2,481 (0.63/day)
Likes
340
Location
Your house.
System Name Jupiter-2
Processor Intel i3-6100
Motherboard H170I-PLUS D3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Mushkin DDR3L-1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage 512GB Corsair SSD
Display(s) BENQ 24in
Case Lian Li PC-Q01B Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 450W
Mouse Logitech Trackball
Keyboard Custom bamboo job
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Finished Super PI on legendary mode in only 13 hours.
#24
As usual, Mozilla said Fuck You then fixed things that aren't broken and you have to waste time and resources to "UN-FIX" them: 3.5 ignores your group policy concerning zone.identifier(need three fucking settings in about:config to disable), closes window with last tab by default(have to go into a:c again) and does not have a close button on the last tab(userchrome.css or Stylish+styles).
There might be more, but those three are the most retarded ones I've encountered.
I'm pretty sure closing the window on the closing of the last tab is standard behaviour now -- Chrome does it the same way.

Plus -- and this is the beauty of Firefox -- don't like the way the tab behaviour works? Get an extension to fix it. :D

This beta build of the famous TabMixPlus extension works with Firefox 3.5: http://tmp.garyr.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9864&start=0

I'm hating it so far. The Aero Fox theme I was using is incompatible, and my Edit, View and Help menus disappeared. Anyone knows how can I get them back? o_O
Open up a command line, and type "firefox -safe-mode". Then turn off your extensions, and test them one by one.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
1,334 (0.41/day)
Likes
163
#25
I'm pretty sure closing the window on the closing of the last tab is standard behaviour now -- Chrome does it the same way.

Plus -- and this is the beauty of Firefox -- don't like the way the tab behaviour works? Get an extension to fix it. :D

1. standard behavior? BS. ONLY Chrome does that and that's because every tab in chrome is a separate process. it's not in Firefox.
2. The close button on the last tab was there in 3.0.x. there's nothing wrong with it.
1 and 2 happened because some moron submitted a bug and it got "FIXED" even though many people were/are opposing it.

3. Firefox started giving a f about Windows security zones in 3.0. now 3.5 stopped giving a f about group policy - SO WHAT IS THE POINT OF IT?
 
Last edited by a moderator: