• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MS IE Vulnerability patch failure

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,489 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,148
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#1
Well, I arrived home to find that MS has discovered an urgent vulnerability in all versions of IE, fixed by patch KB2964358. Which would be nice if it actually would install on Windows 8.1.

Yes, it's up to date, with all patches from "Patch Tuesday." Yes I downloaded it manually, saving once and running the installer, and just letting it run instead of installing. Fail, Fail, Fail. Failed 5 times in MS update, and twice each of the other ways.

Has anyone met any resistance to this patch?

EDIT: well, so far I have tested it on two W7 computers, both running IE 11, and both have been successful. The problem is with W8.1 in my signature.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,750 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,163
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
do you have an Antivirus Running? If you do that can cause random issues, Especially Avast, Ive seen Malwarebytes Fail to update due to Avast. Also Read up on that KB article to see if you have to remove another update in order to get that one to install, (Yes Ive had an issue before because of another update that needed to be removed and then installed with the latest one)
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,573 (1.41/day)
Likes
1,173
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#3
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2964358


Known issues with this security update

  • Internet Explorer will crash if you try to install this security update on a Windows 7-based system that does not already have security update 2929437 installed. To avoid this issue, take either of the following actions:
    • Install security update 2929437, and then install security update 2964358. For more information about security update 2929437, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
      2929437
      (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2929437/ )
      Description of the security update for Internet Explorer 11 on Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2: April 8, 2014
    • Install security update 2964444 instead of security update 2964358. Security update 2964444 is intended for systems that do not have security update 2929437 installed.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,489 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,148
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#4
do you have an Antivirus Running? If you do that can cause random issues, Especially Avast, Ive seen Malwarebytes Fail to update due to Avast. Also Read up on that KB article to see if you have to remove another update in order to get that one to install, (Yes Ive had an issue before because of another update that needed to be removed and then installed with the latest one)
Thanks for the reply. No, I don't need to uninstall another update. It asks that KB2919355 be installed first, or it will fail. That update is in fact successfully installed since Patch Tuesday. I do have Avast running.....the same Avast that couldn't care less on the W7 computers. I've always had trouble with W8 updates. It was the same before on a previous install with 2 different antiviruses. I will try turning Avast off though, just to be sure.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,750 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,163
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#5
im on W7 32 and sometimes Avast does cause the updates to not install or download fully (Laptop)

Still waiting to get rest of parts for my Sig Rig
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,489 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,148
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#6
no dice. Avast allowed the update on my W7 systems running IE11. It still failed even with Avast turned off.

nothing else is awaiting any kind of install or update A scan by Malwarebytes and Avast both yielded zero results, just in case that was the trouble.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,750 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,163
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#7
ugh the hate (H8) of Wait (W8)

im not sure what else can be the issue but

Go to the far bottom of this article for your specific setup too, it might help aim you in the right direction

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2964358


my 7 machine got the update aswell, no issue- how odd, must be a flaw in W8 or the file itself...
 
Last edited:

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,489 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,148
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#8
OK, I followed the help links, even downloaded the Windows Update Diagnostic Utility. It's still not fixed. It's very odd that this on OC/OS consistently has had problems with updates, while my W7 PC's never have an issue. And if I did not make it clear before, I had issues with Windows Update on a previous install of W8 on entirely different hardware. Installed 8 on this new build earlier this year, then immediately installed 8.1. I've been fine on updates until today.

Previously I would wait a few days, try again, and download manually, and eventually they would take. The reason I have an issue with this is because I shouldn't have to wait, and it shouldn't only affect one OS, should it?

EDIT: I might add, the Windows Update Diagnostic failed to fix everything. It made some registry fixes (so it said), stopped and restarted BITS, supposedly repaired the Update utility, but had the red triangle next to failed update, stating it failed to fix that.

Something I noticed: On my W7 PC's, a Restore Point was created. On this W8.1 system, it did not say it was creating a restore point, which it normally does for updates that require it. Is this a crucial bit of information?
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,750 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,163
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#9
that could very well be the issue, Im definitely Skipping Windows 8.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,489 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,148
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#10
System Restore settings appear to be working, and I just created a manual Restore Point. Hmmm...I'm going with sfc /scannow, and see what happens.

EDIT: No luck with that, any of the Fixits I downloaded, or in restarting Volume Shadow Copy Service. I'm going to shelve this and hope W8 PC doesn't get hooked by this vulnerability until I can try again in a couple days. Or tomorrow, LOL, because I am sure I won't be able to let this go.
 
Last edited:

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,489 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,148
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#12
Just installed this update on w 8.1u1 with no problems.

Try to run sfc and then try to reset updates
sfc found zero errors. that was followed twice by using the fixit on your link, with no success. :-(

But, I shall try again tonight. I may end up doing the manual fix listed after that. It was a little lengthy for me to get into last night, because it was getting late when I got to it, and I was already in a foul mood from the update failing 16 times.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.59/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#13
sfc found zero errors. that was followed twice by using the fixit on your link, with no success. :-(

But, I shall try again tonight. I may end up doing the manual fix listed after that. It was a little lengthy for me to get into last night, because it was getting late when I got to it, and I was already in a foul mood from the update failing.
No issues installing the update on my work or home machine running Windows 8.1

Maybe try a DISM /repair-health?
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,489 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,148
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#14
No issues installing the update on my work or home machine running Windows 8.1

Maybe try a DISM /repair-health?
??ummm....do what? I'm not familiar with that term.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.59/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#15
??ummm....do what? I'm not familiar with that term.
Or to repair an online image using some of your own sources instead of Windows Update, type:



Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth /Source:c:\test\mount\windows /LimitAccess

If you do not specify a /Source for the repair files, the default location for Features on Demand is used. For more information, see Configure a Windows Repair Source. If you specify more than one /Source, the files are copied from the first location where they are found and the rest of the locations are ignored. You can use /LimitAccess to prevent the DISM tool from using Windows Update as a repair source or as a backup repair source for online images.
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh824869.aspx

Leave out /Source and /LimitAccess to use Windows Update or Configuring a Repair Source
 
Last edited:

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#16
I'm sorry this may not be productive but the fix for IE is to not use IE. God only knows whatever bugs they will find...
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.59/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#17
I'm sorry this may not be productive but the fix for IE is to not use IE. God only knows whatever bugs they will find...
If only it weren't required for certain sites/applications.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,489 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,148
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#18
@FX-GMC: I will give this a go tonight. Although, All the previous updates on this current install have been fine. How would the image suddenly be corrupt so as to not take one update? I do think it interesting on the previous install it also had many many problems with updates. So, perhaps there is something corrup on the disc image itself, which could explain things.

Anyway, I appreciate the link to the technet article. Keeping my fingers crossed for tonight...
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,489 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,148
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#19
I'm sorry this may not be productive but the fix for IE is to not use IE. God only knows whatever bugs they will find...
If I'm not mistaken, an unpatched IE can still be a security hazard, even if another browser is exclusively used?
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#20
If only it weren't required for certain sites/applications.
True. We have some apps that say they only support IE 10 but we have had better luck with an up to date Firefox or Chrome using it.

If I'm not mistaken, an unpatched IE can still be a security hazard, even if another browser is exclusively used?
Not for this specific bug. You have to hit certain compromised websites for it to be an issue.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-9590 || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LPDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#21
Worked fine on Win8.1 update one and the latest version of windows server for me.

Also,
I'm sorry this may not be productive but the fix for IE is to not use IE. God only knows whatever bugs they will find...
This is 2014, a couple of years ago I suppose I would've agreed but not anymore.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,489 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,148
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#22

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,489 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,148
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#23
Well, interesting development. This evening i tried again, as Windows Update still shows KB2964358 needs to be installed. Multiple times I tried, and it would revert to a green field saying "Not needed" and "already installed". Update history however does not show it installed, only multiple fails.

Can windows update report incorrect results? I've never seen that.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,750 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,163
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#24
Yes it can. Ive had it happen in past, where i tried to install a specific update and it would fail