• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MS Surface 32GB = 16GB

Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
2,416 (0.54/day)
Location
Oshawa, Ontario
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus
Memory GSkill 8GB Dual Channel DDR4-2800
Video Card(s) MSI GamingX RX580 4GB
Storage Kingston V300 240GB SSD + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) ACER K212HL 27" + Haier 55" + Lenovo Explorer Mixed Reality Headset
Case Enermax Ostrog (Red)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA B2 750W
Software Win10 64bit
One of the competitive advantages Microsoft's Surface RT tablet seemed to have over the full-sized iPad is that it offered twice as much storage at the same base $499 price point -- 32GB versus 16GB. But it turns out that advantage isn't quite as striking as it appears on the surface (pun fully intended).

Microsoft has posted a FAQ about Surface RT storage, and it reveals that out of the 32GB built into the tablet, only half of that amount is free for users to access. The total disk size thanks to the Windows binary systems is 29GB, and then Windows RT, the Microsoft Office apps, and other built-in apps total an additional 8GB. Throw in another 5GB for Windows recovery tools, and you're left with 16GB of free space right out of the box.
:shadedshu

http://www.zdnet.com/microsoft-surface-rt-32gb-tablet-reserves-nearly-half-its-storage-for-windows-office-apps-7000006974/
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,542 (4.83/day)
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
5,047 (1.31/day)
Location
Iberian Peninsula
Not really a problem as, contrary to other tablets, it has a full sice USB port.

I played with a Acer RT tablet at a shop and it is running smooooooth, at least a lot smoother that my Asus Android tablet. (Not that it matters, I will not buy a tablet untill this one died)
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2012
Messages
562 (0.20/day)
Location
Technical Tittery....
System Name "IBT 10x Maximum Stable"
Processor Intel i5 4690K @ 4.6GHz -> 100xx46 - 1.296v
Motherboard MSI MPower Z97
Cooling Corsair H100i + 2x Corsair "HP Edition" SP120's
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Vengence Pro 2400mhz @ 2400MHz 10-11-12-31-1T - 1.66v
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX970 4GB @ 1314 Core/1973 Mem/1515 Boost
Storage Kingston 3K 120GB SSD + Western Digital 'Green' 2TB + Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) Iiyama Prolite X2377HDS 23" IPS
Case Corsair Carbide 300R
Audio Device(s) Rotel RA-04/Cambridge Audio Azur 540R + B&W DM302/Cerwin Vega AT12 / Sony MDR-XB700 & FiiO E5
Power Supply EVGA NEX650G + Silverstone Extensions
Mouse Always failing me....
Keyboard Endlessly broken.....
Software Windoze 7 Pro 64-bit/Windoze 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I had some of these once upon a time? Old age has seen me misplace them....
Not really a problem as, contrary to other tablets, it has a full size USB port.

The idea of having a portable, 'small' device like this that it is just that, portable.

Having to have a flash drive poking out of this thing kinda defeats the point... it becomes pretty cumbersome due to the added risk of breaking the device/USB port or your flash drive by accidentally knocking it while its plugged in.

You can avoid that by using a micro flash drive but you shouldn't need to in be first place.

I guess its the old trick of "total space vs usable space" as usual.... pretty shady and I'm sure plenty of people will be left feeling cheated by this.

Not really useful for Microsoft when they will already struggle in this market segment as the competition has a strangle hold that'll be hard to break... :shadedshu
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
857 (0.21/day)
System Name Desktop | Laptop
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X | Intel Core i7 7700HQ
Motherboard X570 Phantom Gaming 4 | Neptune KLS HM175
Cooling Corsair H100x | Twin fan, fin stack & heat pipes
Memory 32GB G.Skill F4-3600C16-8GVK @ 3200MHz / 14-14-14-34-1T | 16GB DDR4 @ 2400MHz / 17-17-17-39-2T
Video Card(s) Galax GTX 1070 Ti EX | GTX 1050 Ti 4GB
Storage ADATA SX8200 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 EVO 1TB + ADATA GAMMIX S10 256GB | 970 Evo 500GB
Display(s) 28" Asus PB287Q 3840x2160p | 17" IPS 1920x1080P
Case Thermaltake Urban S41 | Aspire V Nitro BE
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 750W | 150W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma | Logitech MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Put MicroSD card in. Problem solved.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,713 (2.27/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified

Completely Bonkers

New Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
2,576 (0.52/day)
Processor Mysterious Engineering Prototype
Motherboard Intel 865
Cooling Custom block made in workshop
Memory Corsair XMS 2GB
Video Card(s) FireGL X3-256
Display(s) 1600x1200 SyncMaster x 2 = 3200x1200
Software Windows 2003
I think it is a valid discussion. The iPad's iOS, a relevant comparative, IRC uses about 2GB for iOS and scratchspace. So if you buy the 16GB or 32GB you get about 14GB or 30GB of usable space or thereabouts. It is approximately the advertised storage space. Let's use the 80:20 rule and allow for 20% disparity.

However, the Surface is quite different 32GB giving you circa 16GB usable space means 50% lost. This is a binary order of magnitude (2x factor). And a reason to be unhappy about the accuracy of the sales specs.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.30/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
5,047 (1.31/day)
Location
Iberian Peninsula
maybe some MS brainey arrived at the conclusion that solid disc space is obsolete, AS we have the cloud... :-/
 

STCNE

New Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
236 (0.06/day)
Location
Connecticut USA
System Name Lycanthropy
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ECS p67-h2a2
Memory 8GB Muskin Radioactive Series
Video Card(s) MSI R7770
Case Lancool K62
Audio Device(s) Ultra-Fi Dac41, Vintage Sherwood amp, STAX SR-5 Headphones
Power Supply XFX 850W
Software Win 7 64-Bit(Tried Win8 and never going back)
Benchmark Scores Reboots in 35 seconds flat, with a standard HDD. I'm a bit of an OCD tweaker. Using less than 100GB
Apps can't access the SD slot, just the main memory.
That's pretty bad. :shadedshu

Over the past few years I've managed to talk my friends out of buying Ipods for that exact reason... no SD slot/or in the case of the surface, gimped. Using a Sansa Fuze with a microSD card you'd have to try real hard to run out of space, and if you do you don't need to buy a whole new MP3 player.

Who in their right mind would pay the extra $100 or so to go from 16GB to 32 when for $15 you could pop a 32GB microSD in. That would be very bad for business for the tablet makers.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,580 (0.65/day)
System Name Ye Ole Gam3r
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 920 @ 2.8ghz
Motherboard ECS IC780M-A
Cooling Enermax ETS-N31
Memory 2x2gb and 2x1gb (6gb total ddr2 @800mhz)
Video Card(s) Pegatron AMD Radeon HD 7570 2GB GDDR3 650core/800mem
Storage 240GB Inland SSD 2.5
Display(s) Vizio 32in 1360x768 + AOC @ 1280*1024
Case Old Ultra branded case
Audio Device(s) nvidia via hdmi on GT 430
Power Supply 230watt SFF
Mouse Lenovo basic
Keyboard Logitech, the one slightly larger than the k120 (freebie)
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores ... It can play Half life 2
I thought the advertised space was for the total capacity... not how much of it is free... so in that case they didn't lie.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.36/day)
The total disk size thanks to the Windows binary systems is 29GB...
Windows despite the fact that they mark gibibytes as GB, they still calculate them right (with 1024 conversion unit). It's the storage mediums makers who take GB strictly, meaning 1000 bytes instead of 1024. Why no one complains over their lazy asses who are still ripping users off by using 1000 instead of 1024 !? Or change the units to Gibibytes now that its an ISO standard...
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel I7 4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte G1.Sniper Z87
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory Gskill Sniper 2x8GB 2400 MHZ
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 780Ti GHZ Edition
Storage Samsung 240 Pro 256 GB
Display(s) Asus PB287
Case NZXT Phantom 840
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core 3d on Motherboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Win 7 Pro
I thought the advertised space was for the total capacity... not how much of it is free... so in that case they didn't lie.
It is but in the case of the Surface its a bit more misleading than others. Win8 uses half the space of your 32GB surface leaving you about 16GB. Android and Ios tablets leave you about 30GB of your 32GB device after the OS.

I can see how people feel slighted when they find out that their surface has only half the space they saw advertised especially if they have used an android or ios tablet that had most of the space available.
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,092 (0.91/day)
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
Lol I love how company's still hold on to the 16GB or 32GB, I mean seriously you can easily fit triple that into these, heck you can buy SD cards with Read/write speeds of 90MB/s+ for $50

I don't see how anyone can sue Microsoft they say 32GB and it has that much! It's just being used. It's simple they don't know anything about computer, why don't people sue computer company's when they buy their new Desktop with a 500GB HD and it only has 430GB left from the OS and other stuff. The lawyer is mad because he can't fit all is porn on his tablet now.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
560 (0.11/day)
Location
Round Rock, TX
System Name Teh Beast
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus X570 Ultra
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB G.Skill Flare X @ 3200
Video Card(s) 2080 Super FE
Storage 970 Evo Plus 1TB + Samsung 960 Evo 1TB + Seagate 10TB
Display(s) Alienware 34"
Case Corsair Air 740
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Software WIndows 10 Pro
Apps CAN access the SD Slot.. it just takes a few extra steps.

In my surface i have a 32GB SD Card, went into disk management and mounted it to a folder i created on the C: Drive.. Problem solved.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,194 (1.44/day)
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Legally it only matters HOW they advertise that 32GB space, and if they don't actually CALL it "free" space, they are fully within their rights to say it's 32GB despite half being taken up by the built-in software. For that matter, it actually IS free if you wipe the drive and put what you choose to on it. No one is forcing you to use Office and those other built-in apps

The word "storage" doesn't automatically imply ALL of that space is free. This simply comes down to a matter of people assuming before checking the facts. Those complaining have no one to blame but themselves if they don't read up on what they buy.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,306 (5.03/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Apps can't access the SD slot, just the main memory.
Metro Apps can't access the SD Slot directly, however the SD card can be mapped to appear as a folder in the main memory with no special software or anything, which the apps can then access.
 
Top