• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

mSATA SSD required for laptop.

Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
54 (0.02/day)
Likes
9
Location
On Earth...
System Name Prototype I || Prototype II
Processor Core i7 2670QM @ 2.2Ghz || Core i7 4790K @ Stock
Motherboard Lenovo Base Board || Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling Stock Cooler || Corsair H100i
Memory 8GB Corsair DDR3 (1066Mhz) || G.Skills Ripjaws X 8GB DDR3 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 7670M || Asus GTX 980 Poseidon
Storage Samsung Evo Pro 250GB || Crucial MX100 512GBx2
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 24" - U2414H
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze 620W
Software Windows 10 64bit
#1
I am looking to bump up my Lenovo's Y470 laptop's speed which is bottle necked by its 750GB HDD @ 5400rpm. Loading time is turning me nuts. I searched and found out that i can hook up an SSD which has mSATA connector. Well i am totally confused with all the SSD terminologies. Can't a normal SSD work with my system? Whats the difference between the normal SSD and mSATA SSD's? I need a system drive of 60-120GB which can boost my system performance.
Running Windows 7 on core i7 2670QM, 8GB RAM, AMD 7670 1GB.
 

lindy

New Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2012
Messages
81 (0.04/day)
Likes
24
Location
45° 59' 55.57” N 86° 09' 20.10” W
System Name Infernal Contraption
Processor AMD FX 8150
Motherboard Gigabyte 990XA-UD3
Cooling Antec Kuhler H20 620
Memory 16 gig. Corsair Vengance DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Galaxy/Nvidia GTX 560 2gb
Storage OCZ 60g. SSD/Seagate 2Tb. 7200rpm
Display(s) Asus
Case Lian Li PC-60FN
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Seasonic X750
Software Win. 7 Ult. 64/ SUSE 12.1 64
#2
Here's some info on SATA... Click Here
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
54 (0.02/day)
Likes
9
Location
On Earth...
System Name Prototype I || Prototype II
Processor Core i7 2670QM @ 2.2Ghz || Core i7 4790K @ Stock
Motherboard Lenovo Base Board || Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling Stock Cooler || Corsair H100i
Memory 8GB Corsair DDR3 (1066Mhz) || G.Skills Ripjaws X 8GB DDR3 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 7670M || Asus GTX 980 Poseidon
Storage Samsung Evo Pro 250GB || Crucial MX100 512GBx2
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 24" - U2414H
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze 620W
Software Windows 10 64bit
#3
Thank you for the information regarding the "SATA" connectors. So now which drive is best?
 

lindy

New Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2012
Messages
81 (0.04/day)
Likes
24
Location
45° 59' 55.57” N 86° 09' 20.10” W
System Name Infernal Contraption
Processor AMD FX 8150
Motherboard Gigabyte 990XA-UD3
Cooling Antec Kuhler H20 620
Memory 16 gig. Corsair Vengance DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Galaxy/Nvidia GTX 560 2gb
Storage OCZ 60g. SSD/Seagate 2Tb. 7200rpm
Display(s) Asus
Case Lian Li PC-60FN
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Seasonic X750
Software Win. 7 Ult. 64/ SUSE 12.1 64
#4
"Best" can be a lot of things... Price, speed, capacity, ect. Obviously you're going to have to shop for one that will fit your connector, and fit in the physical space in your laptop. What type of connection does your mechanical HDD use? I'll hazard a guess and say it's a regular SATA connection with the mSATA slot being for an additional drive. In which case you could get a small mSATA drive and use it as a boot drive, and have your mechanical HDD for mass storage. Or you could straight out replace your existing HDD with a hybrid drive like the Seagate Momentus XT which has a 8Gb SSD built into it as a cache drive. Slower than a pure SSD, but faster than a regular HDD. Or lastly you could replace your mechanical HDD with an SSD, capacity being dependent on the size of your wallet.:laugh:
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,203 (3.48/day)
Likes
6,853
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#5
Replacing your HDD with a SSD would be best. An msata is a smaller SSD that plugs into a small mini PCIe like slot that accepts a SSD to act as a cache for commonly used programs to assist load times for the platter drive. It would also help but when you power down it erases so start up are the same
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
713 (0.16/day)
Likes
157
Location
Austin, TX
System Name WAZAAM!
Processor Intel i5-2500k - 4.4GHz @ 1.3v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z (z68)
Cooling HSF:: Noctua NH-D14 || CASE:: 2x Intake: Noctua NF-P12-1300 | 2x Exhaust: Noctua NF-S12B
Memory G.Skill RipJaws 16GB (4x4GB) @ 1866MHz | 10-10-10-28-2T @ 1.35v
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB SC
Storage Crucial 1.4TB P420m PCIe (boot & steam) | 4x Ultrastar 2TB in Storage Spaces Parity (Media)
Display(s) 3x1 nVidia Surround | Three Dell U2412m - 24" e-IPS 1920x1200
Case Antec P183 - Custom Interior Paint Job
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Bose Companion 2 Speakers
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series HX850
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Server -- Inte 4c Atom C2550D -- 2x4GB G.Skill 1866MHz DDR3 -- 100GB OS SSD -- 4x 2TB 5400 RAID5
#6
It would also help but when you power down it erases so start up are the same
This part is wrong. As it is a standard ssd it will retain data between boots. If it's Intel's SRT cache it works incredibly well.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,203 (3.48/day)
Likes
6,853
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#7
This part is wrong. As it is a standard ssd it will retain data between boots. If it's Intel's SRT cache it works incredibly well.
Didn't know that I must have read it wrong. Thanks
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
54 (0.02/day)
Likes
9
Location
On Earth...
System Name Prototype I || Prototype II
Processor Core i7 2670QM @ 2.2Ghz || Core i7 4790K @ Stock
Motherboard Lenovo Base Board || Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling Stock Cooler || Corsair H100i
Memory 8GB Corsair DDR3 (1066Mhz) || G.Skills Ripjaws X 8GB DDR3 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 7670M || Asus GTX 980 Poseidon
Storage Samsung Evo Pro 250GB || Crucial MX100 512GBx2
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 24" - U2414H
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze 620W
Software Windows 10 64bit
#8
I need 60 or 120 gigs keeping the budget in mind of $150. At least this will boost the performance i need which is bottle necked by my current HDD @ 5400 rpm.
 

lindy

New Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2012
Messages
81 (0.04/day)
Likes
24
Location
45° 59' 55.57” N 86° 09' 20.10” W
System Name Infernal Contraption
Processor AMD FX 8150
Motherboard Gigabyte 990XA-UD3
Cooling Antec Kuhler H20 620
Memory 16 gig. Corsair Vengance DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Galaxy/Nvidia GTX 560 2gb
Storage OCZ 60g. SSD/Seagate 2Tb. 7200rpm
Display(s) Asus
Case Lian Li PC-60FN
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Seasonic X750
Software Win. 7 Ult. 64/ SUSE 12.1 64
#9
I use a 60Gb. SSD as a boot drive and it's more than enough for that purpose. NewEgg.com has some mSATA drives that ought to fill the bill with regards to your budget.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
62 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Somewhere in California...
System Name The Green Fox
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K @ 4.0GHz (100MHz x 40)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3
Cooling XSPC RASA 750 RS360
Memory 16GB (4x4GB) of G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 1600 Gaming Memory
Video Card(s) 2X Sapphire Radeon HD 6950s running in Crossfire
Storage Two 60GB OCZ Solid III SSDs in RAID 0, and Two Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM HDDs (one 750GB drive, and
Display(s) 2X Sceptre X226W-1920 22" Monitors
Case Cooler Master HAF-X
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Sunbeam 750 Watt 80 Plus Power Supply
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit SP1
#10
I'm just wondering...can you plug in an mSata SSD in any mini PCIe slot on a laptop motherboard? My ASUS G72GX has two I belive...One is already being occupied by the Wifi card. I want to know if I can plug in an mSata SSD into the other. Thanks!