• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

MSI 6990 problems

Oliosis

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Alright, first and foremost I wanted to say hello to you all!

I registered here today because I'm at a complete loss.

I just bought an MSI 6990 video card to replace my HD5770.
I've installed it, and it runs fine for the most part, however, the temps idle are around 53c and when I play a game (dragon age 2, RIFT, etc) the video card will shut off after a bit, but the comp stays on.

I have a 700 watt power supply, I beleive I have everything set up correctly but I don't know what else to do!

Any help would be very much appreciated.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Messages
678 (0.17/day)
Likes
191
Processor i7 4790k @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1
Cooling Raystorm, D5 Vario, 480 x2 Rads, EK blocks
Memory 16gb G.Skill DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 FE SLI @2k core 8k mem
Storage Crucial M4 256gb, Samsung EVO 250gb, Mushkin Reactor 1TB, Seagate 3TB, WD Red 6TB x2
Display(s) Acer xb270hu 144hz 2560x1440
Case Enthoo Primo
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro Halo --> Yamaha Vx375 --> ATHW1000x/Energy 5.1
Power Supply EVGA 1300w G2
Mouse Logitech g400
Keyboard Tesoro Ultimate
Software W7 64 bit
#2
Welcome to TPU :cheers:

What are your temps reaching while you are gaming? For each core? 53c idle seems kind of high.

Ambient temps?

Fan speed %?

How long do you play a game before it happens?

Is it specific to those games or any 3d rendering?
 

Oliosis

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
I have no idea when I'm gaming, I haven't had the time to check (I got into dragon age 2, loaded my save, ran about 3 steps and the card shut off)

Ambient temps as in room temps, or something else?

fan speeds I've been playing with since I've posted using Afterburner, at current I have it running at 55% and temps are still 51c

kind of sad my hd5770 could do whatever I wanted no issues, but this one just craps out constantly. Any ideas? I really don't want to RMA the card, lol
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#4
What model is the powersupply?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Messages
678 (0.17/day)
Likes
191
Processor i7 4790k @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1
Cooling Raystorm, D5 Vario, 480 x2 Rads, EK blocks
Memory 16gb G.Skill DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 FE SLI @2k core 8k mem
Storage Crucial M4 256gb, Samsung EVO 250gb, Mushkin Reactor 1TB, Seagate 3TB, WD Red 6TB x2
Display(s) Acer xb270hu 144hz 2560x1440
Case Enthoo Primo
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro Halo --> Yamaha Vx375 --> ATHW1000x/Energy 5.1
Power Supply EVGA 1300w G2
Mouse Logitech g400
Keyboard Tesoro Ultimate
Software W7 64 bit
#5
So every time you try to play it goes black almost immediately?

Yes, what is your room temp?

Try running the fan at 100% and play. Also, I'd recommend filling out your system specs so others with similar set ups can give better advice.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/4209/amds-radeon-hd-6990-the-new-single-card-king/18
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/Radeon_HD_6990/20.html

Wizzard does recommend an 800w PSU for this card, but it does depend on the rest of your system and the brand and quality of your PSU.

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/Radeon_HD_6990/25.html

It seems your idle temps aren't off the norm. Your PSU might be the culprit.
 

Oliosis

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Processor:
3.30 gigahertz AMD Phenom II X6 1100T
768 kilobyte primary memory cache
3072 kilobyte secondary memory cache
6144 kilobyte tertiary memory cache
64-bit ready
Multi-core (6 total)
Not hyper-threaded

Motherboard:
Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. M4N68T-M-V2 Rev X.0x
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz

OS:
Windows 7 Home Premium (x64)

Memory:
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)

power supply I haven't looked at yet, I'll edit this post when I do, or just reply, what power supply would you suggest ?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#7
Does your PSU have the two 8 pin connectors for the card?
 

Oliosis

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
Sadly no, the card came with an adaptor from 6 to 8 pins, I know I should have figured that would be an issue right there. I'm not as computer literate as I used to be, haha, its been years.

Turns out my other comp that fried has an 850 in it, so I guess I'll be switching. cross your fingers! lol
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#9
The brand and the amps on the 12v line are what I'd look at.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
1,453 (0.51/day)
Likes
227
System Name 2K Gamer
Processor AMD 8370 @ 4.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Pro Gaming / Aura 970
Cooling Corsair H60 AIO
Memory 16GB G. Skill RipJaw @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Zotac AMP! GTX 1070
Storage Samsung 600 Gig HDD (Raid 0 @ 7,500) / WD 1TB Blue @ 7,200 / PNY 128 GB SSD For Linux
Display(s) 27'' ASUS 144MHZ G-SYNC Read 1400p Gaming Monitor / 23'' LG LCD Flatron W2361VG 1080p @ 50,000:1
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 HD Realtek
Power Supply 750w Corsair HX
Mouse Cougar Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse
Software Windows 10 64bit Education Edition
#10
Make sure your 12v rail is giving it enough juice. Also, airflow within your case is very important


I high recommend getting MSI Afterburner, HW Monitor, and Speedfan. You can google them. Every PC tech uses these program(s)
 

Oliosis

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
I'm using Afterburner, and the PSU I have is an 850 watt Antec, think it will be good enough?
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#12
Thought it was 700w? Well a 850watt antec should be capable of running it.
 

Oliosis

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
Sorry, the PSU I pulled out of my other pc that died haha, I'll pop it in and see what happens I guess :)
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
1,453 (0.51/day)
Likes
227
System Name 2K Gamer
Processor AMD 8370 @ 4.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Pro Gaming / Aura 970
Cooling Corsair H60 AIO
Memory 16GB G. Skill RipJaw @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Zotac AMP! GTX 1070
Storage Samsung 600 Gig HDD (Raid 0 @ 7,500) / WD 1TB Blue @ 7,200 / PNY 128 GB SSD For Linux
Display(s) 27'' ASUS 144MHZ G-SYNC Read 1400p Gaming Monitor / 23'' LG LCD Flatron W2361VG 1080p @ 50,000:1
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 HD Realtek
Power Supply 750w Corsair HX
Mouse Cougar Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse
Software Windows 10 64bit Education Edition
#14
yes, go into CCC and check your fan speed and see if your clocks are unlocked
 

Oliosis

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
Much better thus far, idle it is sitting at 45c instead of the 51-53c I was getting.

I have afterburner controlling the speeds of the fan as per what I had found on a different forum trying to figure out the issue.

Going to try some gaming and see if the card dies or not.

So far you have been a great help!
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
710 (0.15/day)
Likes
658
Location
NYC
#16
Probly better to invest on good high power PSU that can hold the load of your 6990
 

Oliosis

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#17
the 850 Antec is working like a champ. 59c after playing Dragon age 2 for quite a while.

Thanks for your help guys :)
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Spring, TX
System Name Fish Tank
Processor i7-3920k
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Extreme IV
Cooling XSPC Raystorm, TFC X240, MCR120, Bitspower Dual D5 pump top
Memory 16GB Corsair Vegeance 2133MHz 11-11-11-27-1T
Video Card(s) Diamond 6970
Storage OCZ Revo3 240GB-OS, OCZ Vertex 60G-Linux Mint 13,OCZ x2 Vertex 60G RAID 0
Display(s) Asus VW266
Case DD Water Box Plus FE
Audio Device(s) Creative X- FI
Power Supply AX1200
Software Win7 64bit/ Linux Mint 13
Benchmark Scores http://www.wprime.net/Scores/?action=searchScores&test=11&vendor=Intel&platform=Desktop&series=Core+
#18
I was having problems with afterburner when trying to manually set the fan speed to 100%
Afterburner would always lower itself every time I selected apply.
I have mine in OC mode 880MHz 100% fan speed manually set in CCC
overdrive settings. Stays around 54C BFBC2 under load.