• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSi 790FX-GD70 Overclock and memory Help Please

Joined
Feb 6, 2010
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Tampa, FL
System Name Master Chief
Processor AMD pII 965 BE
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling DuOrb CPU Cooler + 4 stock case fans
Memory 8GB Corsair XMS3 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) Asus 5870
Storage 1TB Samsung drive
Display(s) Hp 23" @ 1080p
Case Lancool (lian li) K62
Power Supply Corsair 650W
Software Windows 7 64 bit Ultimate Ed.
#1
Hi there, I am in need of help setting my memory to the correct speed (or maybe OC'ing) and enableing the OC Panel control on the motherboard itself.

Specs...

MSi 790FX-GD70 motherboard

AMD pII x4 965 BE - Stock

8 gigs of Corsair XMS3 1600

Here are the readings right now per CPUZ...

NB Frequency - 2000.1 Mhz
DRAM Frequency - 666.7 MHz
FSB: DRAM - 3:10
CAS# Latency (CL) - 9.0 clocks
RAS# to CAS# Delay (tRCD) - 9 clocks
RAS# Precharged (tRP) - 9 clocks
Cycle Time (tRAS) - 24 clocks
Bank Cycle Time (tRC) - 34 clocks
Command Rate (CR) - 1T


I was aware that the memory wouldnt be set to its "factory settings" by default and that I had to change this in the BIOS, but what I didnt account for was my inability to use the BIOS itself. I know what im looking at for most of the basic settings but once the sub menu's start popping up I get completely lost. Im looking to set the memory to factory setting or a little faster if it doesnt hurt anything.

I tried to change the settings myself but it gave me an error that wouldnt let windows boot even after going back and changeing what I did in the BIOS back to stock....so I had to restore (load a restore point) windows. (tried twice, same result)

If anybody has a layout, or knows there way around this BIOS could let Me know what I need to change/set It would be awesome because Im stuck.

As a secondary question I wanted to know how to unlock the OC panel controls on the motherboard itself, and if its even actually worth using at all. From what I understand you could use this to OC without messing with the BIOS settings. Any help or feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Spencer
 
Last edited:

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.54/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#2
Go into CPU-Z and read out the SPD. I can't tell what the profile of the memory is supposed to be at 1600 from what you said. That XMS3 could require 1.8 volts to run at 1600 with 9-9-9-24, if it's the proper kit I'm looking at. You may also need to notch up NB voltage and/or HT Link voltage a little bit as you've got all RAM slots in use.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2010
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Tampa, FL
System Name Master Chief
Processor AMD pII 965 BE
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling DuOrb CPU Cooler + 4 stock case fans
Memory 8GB Corsair XMS3 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) Asus 5870
Storage 1TB Samsung drive
Display(s) Hp 23" @ 1080p
Case Lancool (lian li) K62
Power Supply Corsair 650W
Software Windows 7 64 bit Ultimate Ed.
#3
for XMP-1600 its...

800mhz
8
8
8
24
41
2T

1.650 volts

hopefully thats what you were looking for...
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.54/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#4
Yep, match those values from the SPD to the BIOS if automatic doesn't work properly, or if you'd like to just tweak them.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2010
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Tampa, FL
System Name Master Chief
Processor AMD pII 965 BE
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling DuOrb CPU Cooler + 4 stock case fans
Memory 8GB Corsair XMS3 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) Asus 5870
Storage 1TB Samsung drive
Display(s) Hp 23" @ 1080p
Case Lancool (lian li) K62
Power Supply Corsair 650W
Software Windows 7 64 bit Ultimate Ed.
#5
Yep, match those values from the SPD to the BIOS if automatic doesn't work properly, or if you'd like to just tweak them.
thank you sir!...memory is now @ 1600 and everything booted normally:toast:


I also enabled the OC dial, but if I click the little button and turn the knob over to the right how will I know what im getting and when to stop?? Or should I just learn how to do it the proper way by tuning the frequency settings in the BIOS.
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.54/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#6
Good to know it worked :)