• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

msi 970a-g46 and amd 8350 overclocking?

Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
704 (0.16/day)
Likes
30
Location
Chicago
System Name Woot
Processor AMD FX-9590
Motherboard ASUSTeK m5a99fxpro r2.0
Cooling Corsair H100i gtx
Memory 24GB G.SKILL PC3-12800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970GTX
Storage 2X 256GB SANDISK SSD 3X1TB MIXED HD
Display(s) 2x 32" Sony LCD
Case CoolerMaster Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) 5.1 Surround Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Junk
Keyboard Junk
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Anti-Gigabyte rig!
#1
the bios has a neat overclocking feature but i can only get the proccie up to 4.3ghz. any higher i put in, it still goes back to 4.3ghz.. im using pc3-12800 ram... what am i doing wrong?
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
172 (0.09/day)
Likes
38
Processor 4GHz intel i7 950
Motherboard GA X58-USB3 F5
Cooling Noctua C12P
Memory 48GB G.Skill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 480 873/1746/1848
Storage Intel 520 Series
Display(s) HP 2210m
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750
Software Windows 8 Pro
#2
You need to define what you mean. Do you mean there is a BIOS fault, OC failed, etc?
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
62 (0.03/day)
Likes
9
Location
(v)
#3
the bios has a neat overclocking feature but i can only get the proccie up to 4.3ghz. any higher i put in, it still goes back to 4.3ghz.. im using pc3-12800 ram... what am i doing wrong?
It could be that the bios has some kind of safety feature so that any cpu or ram overclocked beyond their safety margin (according to your motherboard/bios) gets downclocked to the point where it feels "safe".
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
704 (0.16/day)
Likes
30
Location
Chicago
System Name Woot
Processor AMD FX-9590
Motherboard ASUSTeK m5a99fxpro r2.0
Cooling Corsair H100i gtx
Memory 24GB G.SKILL PC3-12800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970GTX
Storage 2X 256GB SANDISK SSD 3X1TB MIXED HD
Display(s) 2x 32" Sony LCD
Case CoolerMaster Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) 5.1 Surround Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Junk
Keyboard Junk
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Anti-Gigabyte rig!
#4
You need to define what you mean. Do you mean there is a BIOS fault, OC failed, etc?
what i mean is, in the bios i overclock it to say, 4.8Ghz. It automatically adjusts the Ram speeds ect. when i restart and windows boots, its 4.3Ghz in cpuid. couple times when i oced, it would restart and hang before post.. but upon restart it goes to 4.3Ghz again.

It could be that the bios has some kind of safety feature so that any cpu or ram overclocked beyond their safety margin (according to your motherboard/bios) gets downclocked to the point where it feels "safe".
maybe.. =(
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,356 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#5
Did you turn off the auto-oc when you adjusted your OC-if yes I have no other ideas
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
704 (0.16/day)
Likes
30
Location
Chicago
System Name Woot
Processor AMD FX-9590
Motherboard ASUSTeK m5a99fxpro r2.0
Cooling Corsair H100i gtx
Memory 24GB G.SKILL PC3-12800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970GTX
Storage 2X 256GB SANDISK SSD 3X1TB MIXED HD
Display(s) 2x 32" Sony LCD
Case CoolerMaster Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) 5.1 Surround Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Junk
Keyboard Junk
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Anti-Gigabyte rig!
#6
thanks for the help! i figured it out. so far im running http://valid.canardpc.com/2690651
im kind of new to overclocking. just a silly question i have, i cant really fry anything doing this right? mostly ill get blue screens?
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,356 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#7
Yes you can....That board is designed for a 125 watt max cpu....which is what you have but you also have it over volted which means higher amp spikes
I have 2 MSI boards that only lasted about a year with a decent OC that took it over it's rating....
Both boards still work ~sort of...both take a minute to warm up likely because of leaks in the caps but once they start they run...just no cool and quiet..and after they get stressed they blue screen..

This is why I'm looking to upgrade right now..