1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Afterburner 2.2.0 Beta 15 Out, Supports GTX 680 Tweaking

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 20, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,772 (9.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,509
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The latest version of MSI's Afterburner graphics card tweaking software, version 2.2.0 Beta 15, hit the web. The new version, among other things, features support for NVIDIA Kepler series graphics cards, including the ability to monitor power-consumption on these new graphics cards. A bigger part of the feature-set that goes into guaranteeing functional Kepler support is offsets for core, and memory clocks; and voltages, for dynamic overclocking with Kepler family graphics cards.

    [​IMG]

    DOWNLOAD: MSI Afterburner 2.2.0 Beta 15

    The complete change-log follows.

    • Added NVIDIA Kepler graphics processors family support
    • Added GPU power consumption monitoring for NVIDIA Kepler series graphics cards
    • Added, core clock offset, memory clock offset and voltage offset support for dynamic overclocking on NVIDIA Kepler series graphic cards
    • Fixed issue preventing applying new settings from control shared memory
    • Fixed issue with video capture timer display, causing hours to be incremented erroneously after each 6 minutes of videorecording
    • Skin format reference guide has been updated to v1.5 to document new indicator types support
    • Added new "Force fan speed update on each period" option to the "Fan" tab. New option may improve compatibility of software automatic fan speed control mode with some bugged display drivers, overriding manually programmed fan speed under certain conditions
    Source: Guru3D
     
  2. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,647 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    994
    The force fan thing should be nice for AMD users. My friends 6950 and now 7950 have both had issues where fan speed jumps to 50%
     
  3. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,616 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Hopefully it's less buggy than the last version!
     
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,836 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    why do they keep releasing betas! Give us a real version that doesn expire every 2 months. its damn annoying
     
  5. Scatler

    Scatler

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    119 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Will this ever go out of beta? I want my final version, been waiting since the initial release of 2.2.0 :<
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2012
  6. Jurassic1024

    Jurassic1024

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    210 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    I still can't get Afterburner to allow me to go past the limits AMD imposed in Overdrive for my 6950 2GB, but it works with Trixx.

    Does Trixx work with nVIDIA cards?
     
  7. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,836 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    you have to go into the ini file of Afterburner and change some stuff and add a line of text. im not sure what it is though
     
  8. Jurassic1024

    Jurassic1024

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    210 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    That sucks, it should support that natively out of the box if its advertising itself as an nVIDIA and AMD overclocking tool.
     
  9. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,200 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    :shadedshu

    Learn how to use the app. Remember, this is a company selling those cards. They're not going to let you (a noob) just go, and jack up voltage ruining the card, if you can't even add a line in the cfg.
    Then, they'll start losing money b/c you RMA'd after killing it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2012
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  10. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Multidimensional
    Yaay my HD7970 fan keeps on jumping to 50% fan speed with the previous MSI afterburner beta right after Windows starts, was waiting for this :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2012
  11. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,200 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    I haven't had that problem with the 7950. It would rarely happen with the 6950s.

    Did you make sure Overdrive didn't turn itself on? It loves to do that.

    The problem I'm having, which, I think is driver related is that when adjusting the V it doesn't go back to .9 or w/e stock is. It stays stuck at .949 V.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2012
  12. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9,994 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22,734
    Location:
    Florida
    To enable uniffical overclocking, open the cfg file and add the line mentioned in this post in the link, starts with "I confirm that ...."
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=338906
    Then change the 0 to 1 for enabling unofficla overclocking right below that, if memory serves...

    I know that is old but it's the same line to be added in.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Multidimensional
    I should have worded my comment a bit better:D

    I was referring to the previous beta version of MSI Afterburner, it made my HD7970 fan jump up to 50% about 5mins after Windows starts up, figured it was software related of course:toast:

    Funny thing Overdrive ain't even working in the CCC, I click on it then go to accept some BS agreement:( then it just takes me back to desktop settings or something:confused: driver issue?
     
  14. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,200 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    Hmmm, last beta worked fine, here. Overdrive doesn't work, but it's useless any way :cool:
     
    Lionheart says thanks.
  15. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,671 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,135
    Hd7870
    y u no voltage support?

    T_T

    Edit: That awkward moment you realize powertune can go up to 50%...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)