• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

MSI HD 2900XT Poses Nude

Bastieeeh

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
459 (0.09/day)
Likes
5
Location
Germany
Processor Dual Xeon 2.8GHz
Motherboard Asus PCH-DL
Cooling Alphacool NexXxoS XP and Dual Laing
Memory 4GB Samsung
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800XT
Storage 8x Hitachi 7K250 Raid 5 and 2x WD Raptor74GB Raid 0
Display(s) Eizo 21" FlexScan T966 CRT and S1910 LCD
Case Lian Li PC-V2100B
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Tagan 480W TG480-U01

Garb3

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
398 (0.10/day)
Likes
6
Location
Hartlepool, England
Processor AMD Athlon 5200+ x2 stock
Motherboard Abit KN9-S
Cooling zalman 9500 modded with 120mm fan + 3x120mm front, rear and side fans
Memory OCZ 5GB DDR2 PC2-6400 800MHz Gold GX XTC
Video Card(s) PowerColour Ati Radeon 3850 512Mb
Storage 220 gig
Display(s) LG Flatron L1730S
Case Termaltake VC2000 Mambo (Black)
Audio Device(s) Realtek AC 97 HD
Power Supply EYE-T POWER MAGNA 600W
Software Windows Vista 64bit
#2
all these new hd card look cool i might have to save up and get one like:D
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#3
You know, I gotta feeling if we see a HD 2900xtx it will require 8-pin PCIe 2.0 connection for standard clock. I wonder if the xtx may come with 2 8pin connectors :eek: ? After looking at those pics it's a bit of guess work of how you install the 6-pin into the 8-pin socket. Do you go to the far left or right? Oh well, that's what the instructions are for :rolleyes: I do like how the wording is no longer etched into the GPU. I had to sand down my WB because it embed itself (sort of speak) onto the copper. Now I don't have to worry about that. I also hope that the raised shim doesn't cause any problems for my WB. It looks as if the shim is flush with the GPU... Hmm, is that memory on the front and back of the card?



If this is memory then this configuration (memory on both front and back of the card) is usually 1 gig. However, I am not sure about this card. If this card does use 16 memory modules:
are they 32 megs each to make up 512Megs?
are they 64 megs each to make up 1 gig?
 
Last edited:

GJSNeptune

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
2,570 (0.66/day)
Likes
92
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120 (with Scythe SFF21E)
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 CAS4 DHX
Video Card(s) PALiT 9800GTX 512MB PCI-E
Storage WD2500AAKS, WD1600YS, WD1200JD, WD400EB
Display(s) LG L1920P, Viewsonic VA520
Case Lian-Li A05b (with two 120mm Yate Loon D12SM)
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Vista Business 32-bit/XP Pro 32-bit dual-boot
#4
The 8800 Ultra looks more slick, but I'm rooting for AMD to blow us away.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.70/day)
Likes
331
Location
Australia, Sydney
#5
Shit they all look impressive. Its the same size as my X1950PRO :D

Does anyone smell a VRM issue?

No the 8 pin is only used to add extra stability for overclocking, amd obviously wants to set world records, etc. U only need 2 6 pins and it will be more than enough.

The PCB is sorta thick-ish isnt it? Reminds me of DFI mobos.
 

new_rez

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
446 (0.11/day)
Likes
3
Location
United Kingdom
Processor Intel B2 conroe core 2 duo E6300 @ 3.3Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA965P DS4
Cooling Case = 5x80mm Thermaltake silent Fans, 2xDelta 80mm Fan, CPU = Thermalright Ultra-90 + 120mm fan
Memory 2 x 2GB OCZ gold
Video Card(s) HD6850 oc - 965gpu - 1100 mem
Storage 80Gb Seagate 7200rpm 8Mb Cache, 80Gb Maxtor 7200rpm 8Mb Cache
Display(s) Samsung SM205BW 20"
Case Thermaltake XaserIII
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeMusic!
Power Supply Hiper 580W HPU-4M580
Software Windows 7 64bit ultimate
#6
I really want one of these, it does look mint. Don't you have to buy a new PSU with the extra connectors, or can you buy some molex converters?! :(
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#7
I really want one of these, it does look mint. Don't you have to buy a new PSU with the extra connectors, or can you buy some molex converters?! :(
You are going to have to buy a new PSU if you want to OC. The 8-pin PCI-e cable outputs 150 Watts part of PCI-e 2.0. While the 6 pin PCI-e cable outputs only 75 watts. REGARDLESS of the amount of power the PSU can produce. You are going to have to wait for reviews to come out in order to know if 2 6-pin PCI-e cables are enough to provide the power needed during gaming, etc.
Although I am taking a guess, I would have 1, 6-pin PCI-e and 1, 8-pin PCI-e just to avoid any headaches.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 13, 2006
Messages
498 (0.12/day)
Likes
41
#8
Shit they all look impressive. Its the same size as my X1950PRO :D

Does anyone smell a VRM issue?


yeh and it stinks to high hell:( It looks like they stuck two ref x1950pro boards together and as some of us can attest they OCed like sh$t because of the PWM system. I guess AMD was happy with the low OCs using that settup.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#9
That is so sweet looking I about messed my pants. I am definately getting one of these and I dont care how much the wife barks at me.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.90/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#10
You are going to have to buy a new PSU if you want to OC. The 8-pin PCI-e cable outputs 150 Watts called PCI-e 2.0. While the 6 pin PCI-e cable outputs only 75 watts. REGARDLESS of the amount of power the PSU can produce. You are going to have to wait for reviews to come out in order to know if 2 6-pin PCI-e cables are enough to provide the power needed during gaming, etc.
Yea but can't you use two of them(6pin) and end up with 150 watts?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#11
Yea but can't you use two of them(6pin) and end up with 150 watts?
Actually you will get a total of 225 watts
75 watts from the 6 pin PCIe
75 watts from the 6-pin PCIe
75 watts from the PCIe video slot
----------------------------
225 watts of power available. How much power is needed to run this card at standard clocks? I seriously doubt its 225 watts because there is no headroom.

Now how much power does this video card need? By using the new 8-pin PCI-e cable (along with the other 6-pin and video slot) will have 300 watts of power available just to OC the HD 2900xt. That's the problem I am seeing here. No, I don't believe it will take 300 watts of power to OC it. But you do need to have it available. That's 75 watts of head room.
75 watts from the 6-pin PCIe
75 watts from the 8-pin PCIe
150 watts from the video slot
-------------------------------
300 watts of power available


Therefore, can you get away with using 2, 6-pin PCIe cables and get the MAXIMUM PERFORMANCE of standard clocks? We will have to wait until the reviews come out to verify this. However, until then, I would simply use what's required for the video card:
6-pin PCI-e
8-pin PCI-e
Even if you are running the card at standard clock, IMHO. I look at this no different then those who used 20-pin on a 24-pin MB to be honest. Sure they got away with it but the MB needs 24 pin PSU in order to get the full benefits from the MB.
 
Last edited:

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.90/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#12
This card is PCI-E 2.0 compatible as well right? Which would mean even more watts available over the bus.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#13
This card is PCI-E 2.0 compatible as well right? Which would mean even more watts available over the bus.
It's part of PCI-e 2.0 (I stand corrected). PCIe 2.0 spec will double the per-lane speed to 500MB/s, boosting a x16 link to 8GB/s and, doubling the bit rate to 5GT/s. With that comes higher power requirements. Thus the need for 8-pin PCI-e cable rated at 150 watts.
Look at question 11
If this video card is fully PCI-e 2.0 compliant then we haven't really tapped into it's full potential until we start seeing MBs that support PCI-e 2.0 (if a MB revision is required or just a bios update, not sure). But I've read no news if this video card is just using the extra power because it's power hungry or if the card is using the new standard. It's unclear at this time.
 
Last edited:

Bastieeeh

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
459 (0.09/day)
Likes
5
Location
Germany
Processor Dual Xeon 2.8GHz
Motherboard Asus PCH-DL
Cooling Alphacool NexXxoS XP and Dual Laing
Memory 4GB Samsung
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800XT
Storage 8x Hitachi 7K250 Raid 5 and 2x WD Raptor74GB Raid 0
Display(s) Eizo 21" FlexScan T966 CRT and S1910 LCD
Case Lian Li PC-V2100B
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Tagan 480W TG480-U01
#14
I also hope that the raised shim doesn't cause any problems for my WB. It looks as if the shim is flush with the GPU... Hmm, is that memory on the front and back of the card?
If this is memory then this configuration (memory on both front and back of the card) is usually 1 gig. However, I am not sure about this card. If this card does use 16 memory modules:
are they 32 megs each to make up 512Megs?
are they 64 megs each to make up 1 gig?
The card is a 512MB model and uses 16x32MB GDDR3 memory chips. So 1GB GDDR3 cards (not named XTX) will be possible.
The shim is not flush with the GPU and therefore many waterblocks won't be compatible.
 

BXtreme

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2007
Messages
1,324 (0.33/day)
Likes
1
Location
Kolkata, India
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 ghz|| Core2 T5250
Motherboard Asus P6N Platinum || 965GM
Cooling Air cooling
Memory Kingston 2x1gb DDR2 677mhz || 2x1gb 667mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 8800 GTS 640mb || Geforce 8600GT M
Storage Seagate 500GB Sata || 160gb
Display(s) Samsung 30" HD LCD || 15" lcd (laptop)
Case A not-so-known brand case w/ two fans and some blue lightings
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Mac OS X Leopard, Linux Mint 4.0, and all windoze...geez...
#15
OMG This 2900XT is a really beautiful card :D
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#16
The card is a 512MB model and uses 16x32MB GDDR3 memory chips. So 1GB GDDR3 cards (not named XTX) will be possible.
The shim is not flush with the GPU and therefore many waterblocks won't be compatible.
Are you saying that the gpu is lower :wtf: then the shim?
Edit: Wait, that can't be right take a look at this:

The GPU appears to be higher then the shim from the impression left in the HS base. And, there is nothing special about the width of the HS base. Am I missing something?
 

MaxBurn

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
#17
Are you saying that the gpu is lower :wtf: then the shim?
Edit: Wait, that can't be right take a look at this:

The GPU appears to be higher then the shim from the impression left in the HS base. And, there is nothing special about the width of the HS base. Am I missing something?
Yes, it appears that the area around where the thermal paste shown is machined out so the shim on the GPU can fit in there.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#18
Yes, it appears that the area around where the thermal paste shown is machined out so the shim on the GPU can fit in there.
I see, well only time will tell if the Maze4/5 will work as it has a similar setup to the HS.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
399 (0.10/day)
Likes
23
System Name Custom AMD FX
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4.62GHz (225MHz Bus Speed)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3P (1.0)
Cooling Corsair Seidon 240V in Push Pull
Memory 16 GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ Radeon RX 470 8GB
Storage 120GB ADATA SP550 + 1TB WD Black
Display(s) AOC I2369VM 23" 1920x1080
Case Phanteks Eclipse P400s Black & Red
Audio Device(s) Creative E-MU 0202 USB
Power Supply Corsair CX600M
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Perixx PX-1000
Software Windows 10 Pro N x64
#21
OOoo i want to replace my X1950XT with that!!!

Anyone want to buy me one? :p

Although it would be bottlenecked by my Athlon64 4000 @ 3ghz, will need serious cpu power to get out of bottlenecks.

But looks sweet, me wants !!!

:twitch:
 

m3lisk

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2006
Messages
632 (0.15/day)
Likes
12
Location
Okinawa, Japan
System Name Alice
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 Deneb Core @ 3.512ghz
Motherboard Asus AMD 785g
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 4x 2gb A-Data PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6870
Storage 2x 500gb Western Digital 7200
Display(s) 23" Samsung for gaming/ 19" Hanns-G for browsing and movies
Software Windows 7
#23
That is so sweet looking I about messed my pants. I am definately getting one of these and I dont care how much the wife barks at me.
:rockout:
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#24
ROFL. ::bows:: thank you thank you. My words will live on immortal in linkins sig. HAHAHAHA
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#25
I Think I'm in LOVE boy'o'boy next week .......:D :D