• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

MSI HD 4890 Cyclone SOC

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,961
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#1
MSI's HD 4890 Cyclone SOC is the fastest model of the Cyclone Series. It comes with clocks of 1000 MHz / 1000 MHz out of the box and uses a huge heatpipe cooler to keep the card cool. As an extra feature a native HDMI connector has been added in case you want to connect the card to your big TV screen.

Show full review
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
#2
Powercolor is the mentioned manufacturer instead of MSI when talking about the chosen voltage controller...Nice review regardless. :)
 

suvi

New Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Hey first of all nice review :)

Im owning 2 of the normal oc editions that work on 895/975 in crossfire coz one wont go higher than that and since there is no software voltage control i was wondering if anyone or you Wizz have the bios of this soc edition since i guess its higher voltage than the 1.31 that i have on my cards.

Tbh i know there is no chance that my card will run at soc speeds but i would be happy with 950/1000 since 1 of my cards can do that on default voltage.

Thx in advance
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.61/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#4
Huge fail from MSI if it's really supposed to be running at 1.5V.
 

Meusi

New Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
You are right.

There is no software control of the voltage regulators of MSI Cyclone series. I also own the 4890 cyclone oc, stable at 925/1100. I think with voltage control the card can reach 1k GPU without a problem. I tried with ATT, Rivatuner, voltagefactory, CCC. These tools can handle voltera 1165 o.s. but not the voltage regulators on non-standard pcb. If anyone nows a tool for software-regulation, PLEASE post here...

Greets,

Meusi
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2006
Messages
95 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
Location
Paraguay
#6
I'm kind of disagree to give bad points in a review in the "overclock capabilities" to a Video Card tha is an OC or SOC version, this means that the manufacturer has already made and effor to reach the higher stable OC, there for, the costumer aimed for this product shouldnt have the need to do any OC.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,334 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#7
I'm kind of disagree to give bad points in a review in the "overclock capabilities" to a Video Card tha is an OC or SOC version, this means that the manufacturer has already made and effor to reach the higher stable OC, there for, the costumer aimed for this product shouldnt have the need to do any OC.
Uh no. The general idea behind an OC version is to overclock better, not to consume a base-model's natural headroom to label it as "OC". To cite an example, "Amp!" versions of Zotac's cards overclock way beyond the already overclocked speeds.
 
Joined
May 31, 2005
Messages
252 (0.06/day)
Likes
21
#8
The OC version is overclocked. The point of it is to bring overclocking to people who don't want to do it themselves, and to try to raise the profit margin on the product by charging for that "added value". If you want to blow your card up with voltmods, feel free, but that's not necessarily the intent of an overclocked edition card.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,334 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#9
And that definition doesn't explain the premium. Afterall, the 'feature' isn't worth a dime extra (just a few greater numbers when writing the BIOS). Again, OC versions have high clock speeds out of the box, and overclock better than base-models. This doesn't.
 
Joined
May 31, 2005
Messages
252 (0.06/day)
Likes
21
#10
It is worth a dime though. I guarantee that seeing "overclocked" plastered on a box gets noobs excited. It makes that edition of the card seem better than the stock-clock version. And so the overclocked version potentially becomes more "valuable" to them.

Now, if it's the overclocker edition, that's different. Unless it's just some non-english-speaker getting confused with the wording. I'd still be suspicious about whether or not the company actually made the product more expensive to build, in an effort to create some extra quality, though. That's not the goal of the companies selling these cards.

Besides you're not expecting RV790 to go much higher than 1GHz are ya?
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,334 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#11
Bench-stable Speed record for HD 4890 stands on 1250/1200 MHz (core/memory), so yes. At least 1050 MHz (core) is possible on a good HD 4890 OC card on air-cooling. This card fizzles out at 1000. So it tells you that this isn't an OC card by common standards. They just ate into the natural overclocking headroom of MSI R4890 Cyclone (base-model), which caps out at 1000 MHz.
 

Meusi

New Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
This is all about marketing strategies. My question was a technical one :). MSI must not integrate a special kind of voltage regulator, no question. But they can offer some codes in someway to overclock by overvolting. I loose my guarantee, also no question. But why can you overvolt today every mainboard?

Still searching for some tool...

Greets from Austria, a land with non standard language :)...

Meusi
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.61/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#13
Meusi,
I gather you have this card?
Do you have multimeter?
-> Could you measure the vGPU voltage? Is it ~1.5V during load on your card?
Look here for the vGPU measuring point (measure between red dot and any ground).
 

Meusi

New Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
Very interesting...maybe it is already overvolted. I will measure Tomorrow with my Multimeter with CPU oclocked and Running furmark. Then i will post my results asap. Thanks for your Input!!!
Meusi
 
Last edited:

Meusi

New Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
Hei!

System:
P5Q SE Plus
Q8200/2,33@3,16@450Mhz FSB Air
MSI 4890 Cyclone oc 880/975@925/1100
2GB DDR2/800 Corsair DHX @4-4-4-15
Be quiet 420W
Chieftec Lanboy

Idle:
Total Power Consumption: 228 W
Voltage between ground and measuring point posted before: 1,35V constantly with digital Multimeter

Load:
Total Power Consumption: 375 W
Voltage between ground and measuring point posted before: 1,35V constantly with digital Multimeter
Temperature after 600sec furmark stabilitytest: 92° with open case

what do you think?

with 1.4V overvolted are 1000 Mhz no prob for every Cyclone oc!

any ideas to tweak the voltage?

Meusi