• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

MSI introduces R5770-PMD1G Graphics Card with Over Voltage Feature

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
Global leading motherboard and graphics card brand-manufacturer, MSI, today unveils R5770-PMD1G graphics card with over voltage function of GPU after introducing hot selling R5770 series graphics cards. MSI R5770-PMD1G adopts 40nm manufacturing process Radeon HD 5770 GPU, 800 units of stream processors, and high speed GDDR5 1GB memory. Also, it supports DirectX11 and ATI Eyefinity three-screen output technology, so that users can enjoy the latest DX11 games and use multi monitors to enlarge the view in games. MSI R5770-PMD1G is bundled with MSI overclocking utility "Afterburner" which supports over voltage function of GPU and tuning the fan speed based on different temperature triggers, becoming one of the most attractive HD 5770 cards in the market.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,402 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,924
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#2
I wonder if there is some kind of fail safe that protects amateurs from over volting to high. It would be awesome if they started making this stuff with fuses. :rockout:
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.03/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#3
I wonder if there is some kind of fail safe that protects amateurs from over volting to high. It would be awesome if they started making this stuff with fuses. :rockout:
You can only go to a certain voltage which i'm sure is still in the "safe" zone for them

My xfx flashed to asus, only lets me set it to 1.35v in Afterburner
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,402 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,924
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#4
You can only go to a certain voltage which i'm sure is still in the "safe" zone for them

My xfx flashed to asus, only lets me set it to 1.35v in Afterburner
I still think a low voltage fuse would be a better way to go. I don't trust software voltage adjustments unless its a bios.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,243 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,823
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#5
this looks better than the asus product
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
693 (0.17/day)
Likes
166
Location
Atlanta, GA, USA
Processor Intel 6700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Impact
Cooling Noctua NH-L9x65
Memory 2 x 16 GB G.Skill TridentZ @ 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 Mini
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F1
Power Supply SilverStone 600w SFX
#6
MSI is kicking some serious ass in the graphics card department. I'm glad to see them being so aggressive with the overclocking features :)

I wonder if there is some kind of fail safe that protects amateurs from over volting to high. It would be awesome if they started making this stuff with fuses. :rockout:
Hopefully hitting a heat wall will help a bit :cool:

I still think a low voltage fuse would be a better way to go. I don't trust software voltage adjustments unless its a bios.
What's the difference? BIOS is still software, just not on the fly, not really any other difference :toast:


You can only go to a certain voltage which i'm sure is still in the "safe" zone for them

My xfx flashed to asus, only lets me set it to 1.35v in Afterburner
Afterburner lets me go as high as I want on my GTX 275 Lightning. Don't know if it's a Lightning thing or what, but don't expect them to implement a 'safe' voltage limit. Maybe a safe 'recommended' limit.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Sunny Florida
#7
I've have a lot of experience as an electrical design engineer and they design these cards to operate within limits so that you really can't damage the card unless you really tried to.

Sure they allow you to set the voltage limit but it is more for marketing purposes because it sounds much cooler than having 3 settings... slow, medium, and fast.

The only true drawback is that it does produce more heat which could damage the board if there wasn't proper ventilation.

They typically don't use fuses anymore either and instead use over-voltage protection circuits that will adjust the card automatically and even shut down if it gets too hot. They build in a lot of protection.

It makes sense too because the last thing they want is for people requesting warranty refunds and replacements because they screwed their own card up.

But I do agree... these graphics cards are becoming amazing. Funny to think that graphics cards today have more processing power than old super-computers. Ha!

-Mike