• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Makes More Motherboards AM3 Ready

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.12/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
Global motherboard and graphics card producer Micro-Star International (MSI) announced today that thirty one of its Socket AM2/AM2+ ready motherboards are now fully compatible with AMD's latest AM3 processors. These motherboards are based on both AMD and NVIDIA chipsets. Customers of the listed models only need to update their BIOS with the latest version, and don't have to purchase any new hardware. For more information about suitable motherboard SKUs and BIOS versions click here, or read the full story.




Source: MSI
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.37/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 7700K
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 ti
Storage 1TB 960 Pro, 2TB Samsung 850 Pro, 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win10 Pro, Win7 x64 Professional
#2
Thats very good of them. I am tempted to build an AM3 build now. ;)

I have only had good luck with MSI despite even using their cheapest boards in a few builds.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,583 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,195
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#3
phew, I thought this was going to be about more x58 boards.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2008
Messages
297 (0.09/day)
Likes
36
Location
Serbia, Nis
System Name Fedora-bluesky
Processor Intel P4 531+ @ 3.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P5LD2-VM/C
Memory Kingston 2x512MB 667MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte NV8600GT 256MB
Storage WD 640GB
Display(s) ViewSonic 22"
Case Codegen 403
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek 882
Software Ubuntu, Fedora, Open Source Software...
#4
Uhmmm, what?
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,874 (0.38/day)
Likes
256
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#5
Thats very good of them. I am tempted to build an AM3 build now. ;)

I have only had good luck with MSI despite even using their cheapest boards in a few builds.
if you want to make a AM3 system then BUY a DDR3 supported board and a AM3 cpu
AM3 = Phenom II AM3 + DDR3
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.37/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 7700K
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 ti
Storage 1TB 960 Pro, 2TB Samsung 850 Pro, 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win10 Pro, Win7 x64 Professional
#6
if you want to make a AM3 system then BUY a DDR3 supported board and a AM3 cpu
AM3 = Phenom II AM3 + DDR3
Yeah but current AM3 DDR3 boards have problems with using more than two RAM slots at high speeds and then BSODs frequently. If I grab something new I don't want to pay alot for something that has crippled OC'ing. I would have bought a regular Phenom if I wanted crippled OC'ing and errata rearing its head. It was a shame because the X2 series by AMD was so revolutionary for its time and then the regular Phenom was like it was a Via product.

Its the fault of the current Phenom II's and not the mobo, but you get what I mean.

So with the current situation I would like to stick with DDR2 if I am using Phenom II.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Taipei, Taiwan
#7
Yeah but current AM3 DDR3 boards have problems with using more than two RAM slots at high speeds and then BSODs frequently. If I grab something new I don't want to pay alot for something that has crippled OC'ing. I would have bought a regular Phenom if I wanted crippled OC'ing and errata rearing its head. It was a shame because the X2 series by AMD was so revolutionary for its time and then the regular Phenom was like it was a Via product.

Its the fault of the current Phenom II's and not the mobo, but you get what I mean.

So with the current situation I would like to stick with DDR2 if I am using Phenom II.
You are right.
AM3 CPU + DDR2 performs better than AM3 CPU + DDR3.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2008
Messages
226 (0.06/day)
Likes
39
Location
Toronto, ON, Canada
System Name Titan
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2670v2
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth X79
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon R9 290 DirectCU II
Storage Mushkin Reactor 1TB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2713HM
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic X-750
Software Windows 10 Pro
#8
You are right.
AM3 CPU + DDR2 performs better than AM3 CPU + DDR3.
Not really. DDR3 seems to perform on par with DDR2 systems not to mention they can also clock higher which will give them a bigger boost. In real world performance though, you probably won't see much difference. What is clear about this comparison though is that an AM3 + DDR2 system costs less than AM3 + DDR3 so it makes more sense money-wise to go with the former.
 

Polarman

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
1,626 (0.46/day)
Likes
290
Location
Rimouski
System Name Polar's Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II 975BE
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD65 (Bios 18.7)
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 Led
Memory Gskill 8GB DDR3-1333 (8,8,8,21)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6870 Hawk
Storage WD Raptor 250 - WD RE4 500GB
Display(s) Samsung T240 (1920 X1200)
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750 (Red)
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit + SP1
#9
Quite a list. Good for those that prefer holding on to their older boards for a while longer.