• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI MS-7100 K8N Diamond/Platinum SLI & MS-7125 K8N Neo4 Platinum Bios and Tools

//mAr

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
188 (0.03/day)
Location
near Stuttgart, Germany
Processor AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+
Motherboard DFI Lanparty nF4 SLI-DR Expert
Cooling watercooling
Memory 2x1024mb Mushkin Redlines XP4000
Video Card(s) PoV 7900GT
Storage 2x74GB Raptor; 2x160GB 7k250 Hitachi
Display(s) Viewsonic VX912
Case LianLi PC70
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI XtremeMusic
Power Supply OCZ520W
Software Windows XP Pro SP2
Last edited:
R

Raz0r-X

Guest
onboard soudnblaster - msi k8n diamond

:\>epci.exe /w:MSI_01.DAT

Creative Eeprom PCI programming utility for MSI
Version 5.10.MSI
-----------------------------------------
Alice2 chip found !
Bus :0 Device: 0 Function :0
P17 not detected. Program abort

* * * Result: FAILED! * * *

what does this mean ?!


Why cant i get this working ??
 

//mAr

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
188 (0.03/day)
Location
near Stuttgart, Germany
Processor AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+
Motherboard DFI Lanparty nF4 SLI-DR Expert
Cooling watercooling
Memory 2x1024mb Mushkin Redlines XP4000
Video Card(s) PoV 7900GT
Storage 2x74GB Raptor; 2x160GB 7k250 Hitachi
Display(s) Viewsonic VX912
Case LianLi PC70
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI XtremeMusic
Power Supply OCZ520W
Software Windows XP Pro SP2
try again, or use extra soundcard like audigy or sth.
new bios:








but no vcore advantages ...
 

//mAr

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
188 (0.03/day)
Location
near Stuttgart, Germany
Processor AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+
Motherboard DFI Lanparty nF4 SLI-DR Expert
Cooling watercooling
Memory 2x1024mb Mushkin Redlines XP4000
Video Card(s) PoV 7900GT
Storage 2x74GB Raptor; 2x160GB 7k250 Hitachi
Display(s) Viewsonic VX912
Case LianLi PC70
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI XtremeMusic
Power Supply OCZ520W
Software Windows XP Pro SP2
added ms 7125 non sli ;)
 

//mAr

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
188 (0.03/day)
Location
near Stuttgart, Germany
Processor AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+
Motherboard DFI Lanparty nF4 SLI-DR Expert
Cooling watercooling
Memory 2x1024mb Mushkin Redlines XP4000
Video Card(s) PoV 7900GT
Storage 2x74GB Raptor; 2x160GB 7k250 Hitachi
Display(s) Viewsonic VX912
Case LianLi PC70
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI XtremeMusic
Power Supply OCZ520W
Software Windows XP Pro SP2
v5.0 Beta 2 W7100NMS V5.0B2 021405 21:23:33
changes so far:
2.5 - 3,1v vdimm
new cpu voltage control.
 
U

Unregistered

Guest
''v5.0 Beta 2 W7100NMS V5.0B2 021405 21:23:33
changes so far:
2.5 - 3,1v vdimm
new cpu voltage control.''
i install this bios and
i choose 1.450 and 12..v cpu voltaj:1.63
but in windows vcore is 1.55v
this bios not work
 

h017ah

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2005
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
I've got the MSI K8N nForce4 without SLI (BIOS version 1.1), and I can't seem to get the FSB over 219 no matter what I do... the temperatures are good too, and I've tried booting with 1,55V on CPU ...

It works fine on 219 but not on 220 or more. I've got some Crucial TWINX PC4000 3-4-4-8 RAM too...
But when I try to boot with FSB at 220, I just get a black screen, and I have to reset CMOS...

Since it isn't the temperatures (they are below 40 C), what am I doing wrong?

CPU is Winchester 3500+
 

Pk007

New Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2005
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Make Sure CPU Spread Spectrum is off before any FSB changes....also....try hit the reset button after a failed boot - most times works after that

Only managed 241 FSB though. Which BIOS is best for overclocking ? Running good watercooling and getting sub 40 degrees at full load with 1.7volts

Wierd though is the fact that I boot clean with 240 FSB, mem set to 150, HTT 5 or 4 no difference and the PC won't boot first time after being left cold for a while....

Pk
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2005
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Location
USA, Texas
Pk007 said:
Make Sure CPU Spread Spectrum is off before any FSB changes....also....try hit the reset button after a failed boot - most times works after that

Only managed 241 FSB though. Which BIOS is best for overclocking ? Running good watercooling and getting sub 40 degrees at full load with 1.7volts

Wierd though is the fact that I boot clean with 240 FSB, mem set to 150, HTT 5 or 4 no difference and the PC won't boot first time after being left cold for a while....

Pk
You have a Winchester?
 

Pk007

New Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2005
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Yep, D0 Week 52 Winnie, can handle up to 1,7volts with no shutdown. 3200+ @ 2gigs (duh ;P) the manufacturing code is the same as my buddies who runs @ 260FSB/1.45V aircooled....Power Supply is Enermax 600W SLI with 35Amp 12volt rail, ONE 6800 GT also watercooled so I doubt it's a power issue.

The Ram is Geil UltraX 3200, i've set it down to 3:4 ratio to take that out of the equation.I thought it's a BIOS/Motherboard issue, but i'm going to try some other RAM first to see what happens.

Pk
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2005
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Location
USA, Texas
v5.0 Beta 2 W7100NMS

//mAr said:
v5.0 Beta 2 W7100NMS V5.0B2 021405 21:23:33
changes so far:
2.5 - 3,1v vdimm
new cpu voltage control.
v5.0 Beta 2 W7100NMS V5.0B2 021405 21:23:33

Anyone tried this on a Diamond?
 
U

Unregistered

Guest
HT multiplier

Decrease HT multipliex down to 1x. MSI Neo4 Platinum BIOS sets this multiplier wrong so if you set it 1x it will be at about 3~3.5x. It will help You.
 
R

robowang

Guest
5.04 beta bios

Can anyone get this bios? New one on the Diamond club forum. I cannot get above 1.53-1.55 vcore with any bios so far. Hoping this one will work. I have a Platinium SLI.
 
U

Unregistered

Guest
I got the same problem.
I reach up to 2550 MHZ under
Tips: if you want to improve a little bit theFSB frequency, try to change the DDR slots 1&2 -> 3&4.
I get up to 229 MHz FSB but not higher... so bad

or if you are focused on your fsb frequency try to lower the multiplicator it will allow your to rise a little
 
U

Unregistered

Guest
on my Platinium (bios v1.2)... not Diamond.
RAM : 2 x CORSAIR XMS 3200 XL.

For your information, I read in a french forum, that someone who had exactly the same problem, changed his CPU (A64 3000 -> A64 3500) and his problem disapeared. that's very mysterious. Tomorrow, I'll come to the shop where I bought my mobo and my CPU and ask them for a piece of advice.
 
U

Unregistered

Guest
I've found THE SOLUTION !!!!! YOUPI

The last thing I would have thought to be the limitant factor : THE HTT
YES it's the HTT. no doubt about it.
I put it to 1 and now I can reach 290MHz and probably higher. Indeed this time I was limited by my RAM.

I'm very happy. I hope it won't have too much impact on the performances.

Now I'm very tired and I'm going to bed !!! (half past zero in France)
Good luck in your overclocking. I'll come back in few days. Bye
 

uglyvamp

New Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Location
Singapore
downloaded the latest beta bios for MSI K8N SLI NF4.

here's the only add on that fascinate me. Vdimm up from 2.85v default max to 3.1v.

however in CoreCell, i see memory voltage as 2.5v :confused: this i'm confused.

besides, i'm not getting memory tweak performance gain.

i've 2 pairs of ram.

1) 2x 512mb samsung tcb3 default @ DDR33.

before mod, able to push DDR 406 @ DDR400, 2.5,3,3,7 @ 2.85V
after mod, it won't run stable at that above speed.

2) 2x Twinmoss Speed premium UTT chips default @ DDR400

before mod & after same result, around DDR 460, 2.5, 3, 3, 7
but i notice system more stable at that speed, at least i could loop test memory for couple of hours.


 

uglyvamp

New Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Location
Singapore
oh !! no wonder ... i keep having the same feeling it isn't going anywhere ...

thanks for the link man ... trying it later :)

cheers..
 
U

Uglyvamp1

Guest
reflash & reset cmos.

vdimm still show 2.55v - 2.6v in windows :(

i've flash back to the earlier bios & o/c seems better.
 
Top