• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

MSI Outs S30 Sleek 13.3-inch Notebook

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
MSI rolled out the S30 13.3-inch notebook, which misses Ultrabook fame by, well, a centimeter (thickness). Measuring 324 x 227 x 22.8 mm (LxWxH), it weighs 1.4 kg. Its 13.3-inch screen packs 1366 x 768 pixels resolution. Under its hood is an Intel Core i3/i5 "Ivy Bridge" dual-core processor (various options), up to 16 GB of dual-channel DDR3-1333 MHz memory (options), and Intel HD graphics. A 500 GB HDD is standard issue, but a 64 GB mSATA SSD can also be opted for. Connectivity includes USB 3.0, HD web-cam, THX TruStudio Pro audio, gigabit Ethernet, 802.11 b/g/n WLAN, Bluetooth 4.0, SD/MMC card reader, and HDMI display output. Windows 8 comes pre-installed. The S30 is expected to occupy a sub-$700 price-point.

Show full news post
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,151 (4.40/day)
Likes
5,309
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#2
had they slapped an Nvidia 620m or 630m graphics card in there, I would have definitely bought one straight away.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#3
I though 1600mhz ram was a standard now, I see Apple and alot of companies opting for 1066 and 1333 ram modules instead of 1600, which I personally would not buy anything below on a computer designed for a power user. Its like selling a Ferrari with three sports tyre and a single 10 inch pizza base for the third
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.96/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#4
Intel HD graphics oh dear.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
219 (0.07/day)
Likes
78
Processor Phenom II X4 965 BE @4 GHz | NB @2600 MHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 2x 8GB PC12800 @1600 MHz CL7 1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 7950
Storage 2 x 500 GB -- HD502HJ & WD5000AACS-00ZUB0
Display(s) Iiyama Prolite E2202WS_WVS
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2 w/ Z-5500
Power Supply Seasonic X-750
Mouse Logitech B100
Keyboard Logitech G15 (blue backlight)
Software Windows 7 - SP1 x64
#5
I though 1600mhz ram was a standard now, I see Apple and alot of companies opting for 1066 and 1333 ram modules instead of 1600, which I personally would not buy anything below on a computer designed for a power user. Its like selling a Ferrari with three sports tyre and a single 10 inch pizza base for the third
Should definitely be a standard on high end systems. Got a friend who owns a Macbook Pro that sports an i7 CPU, but that came with only 4 GB 1333 MHz. When he wanted to get 8 GB, I went for the 1600 MHz memory. Of course, Apple didn't list his model as compatible with the 1600 flavor...
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,404 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,482
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#6
Should definitely be a standard on high end systems. Got a friend who owns a Macbook Pro that sports an i7 CPU, but that came with only 4 GB 1333 MHz. When he wanted to get 8 GB, I went for the 1600 MHz memory. Of course, Apple didn't list his model as compatible with the 1600 flavor...
That's because Sandy Bridge Macs run 1333 out of the box because that is the default ram speed on the CPU for SB. SB-E and IVB increased that default to 1600 and any IVB Mac you buy will sport DDR3-1600. Not to say SB can't support 1600 (as your friend can find out,) but technically it's overclocking the IMC to do it and the only thing that really will benefit from the added memory speed is the iGPU.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
219 (0.07/day)
Likes
78
Processor Phenom II X4 965 BE @4 GHz | NB @2600 MHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 2x 8GB PC12800 @1600 MHz CL7 1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 7950
Storage 2 x 500 GB -- HD502HJ & WD5000AACS-00ZUB0
Display(s) Iiyama Prolite E2202WS_WVS
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2 w/ Z-5500
Power Supply Seasonic X-750
Mouse Logitech B100
Keyboard Logitech G15 (blue backlight)
Software Windows 7 - SP1 x64
#7
That's because Sandy Bridge Macs run 1333 out of the box because that is the default ram speed on the CPU for SB. SB-E and IVB increased that default to 1600 and any IVB Mac you buy will sport DDR3-1600. Not to say SB can't support 1600 (as your friend can find out,) but technically it's overclocking the IMC to do it and the only thing that really will benefit from the added memory speed is the iGPU.
Everything you said is correct. Forget what I said: my friend's laptop got a dedicated GPU anyway. :p