• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI P55-GD80 review and overclocking results

Processor Intel 6700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Impact
Cooling Noctua NH-L9x65
Memory 2 x 16 GB G.Skill TridentZ @ 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 Mini
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F1
Power Supply SilverStone 600w SFX
I’d like to thank MSI for giving me the chance to test this motherboard.

The Board

When designing this board, MSI seems to have thought of everything. It has all the advanced options and components essential to extreme overclockers, but incorporates several features that make achieving a respectable performance increase easy for the absolute beginner, which I’ll discuss later.

The packaging for the P55-GD80 is not surprising. The box is nearly identical to that of several MSI boards I’ve received in the past.

Inside we find an almost overwhelming selection of accessories: User Manual, OC Genie guide, Quick Installation guide, HDD Backup guide, poster-size quick guide, Winki guide, driver disc, 3x SLI bridges, 1x Crossfire bridge, drive cables (SATA, e-SATA, PATA), IO Shield, 4x voltage read point connectors, and every quick connector you could want.

The board has an attractive blue/black color scheme, and a nice clean layout. Everything is labeled for easy identification so there’s no guessing or manual referencing needed. The socket area may be a little more difficult to insulate for subzero cooling, but nothing too hard to handle. I would list all of the cool board features, but I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves.