• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

MSI Problems

Joined
Nov 10, 2004
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
My computer will freeze at the screen that says platnium. It is the first screen that comes up when booting.When I hit the reset button it will boot normal. It only happens a few times 2 time in 3 weeks.
I have run memtest on the memory. 23 passes and no errors. I have reinstalled drivers twice and installed windows xp 2 times.
What will cause the computer to freezes at this screen?
Will flashing the BIOS help or updating the drivers help?
Is it better to use the drivers from MSI website or NVIDIA website?

Thank you

steve


MSI K8N Neo Platinum
AMD 64 3000
Sapphire 9550 256 MB
Corsair value select CAS2.5 512 x 2
SATA 200 gig seagate harddrive
400 watt thermaltake power supply
Windows xp media center
Plextor 712 DVD burner
sony floppy
 

ReconCX

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
400 (0.08/day)
Likes
1
Location
California
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1100T
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws 16GB (4x4GB) 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 480
Storage Intel 330 Series 180GB SSD x2
Display(s) ASUS VH242H 23.6"
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Trooper
Power Supply COOLER MASTER Silent Pro 700W
Software Microsoft® Windows 8 Professional
#2
reflash the BIOS, make sure everything is configured correctly. It may be your PSU
 
N

nightelf84

Guest
#3
Is your BIOS up-to-date? Updating your BIOS might help. If it is up-to-date, reflash it. Your PSU's more than enough to power your hardware. Check the voltages on your +12v, +5v and +3.3v rails to make sure they are within +/-5% to eliminate possible PSU problem.

Is your system overclocked? If it is, try lowering any overclocked settings or just set all to fail-safe. You could also increase voltage to compensate for the 'instability' if you want to.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2004
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
When I turn the computer on it stops at the MSI Platinum screen.
When I hit the reset button the computer reboots into windows. (Most of the times)
I am not over clocking.
I have loaded the defaults in the BIOS.
I have flashed the BIOS, updated all motherboard drivers, and video drivers.
I have run memtest 23 passes and no errors.
I have a thermaltake power supply 400 watts.
There are no beeps codes at post. The case didn't come with a speaker.
I have installed windows xp media center twice. Both times were clean installs
Could this just be an unresolved Bios issue or a bad board?
The computer runs great except for the startup problem.
Any suggestion would be helpful.

12 volt rail = 12.14
3.3 volt = 3.26
5 volt = 5
vcore 1.5 = 1.48 - 1.52

Temps:

cpu = 38 - 41c
case =21c
All the rails are within the limits.
CPU fan spinning at 3258

Here is a complete rundown of system specs

Thermaltake tsunami with 400-watt thermaltake power supply
K8N Neo Platinum MSI Motherboard
SAPHIRE9550 256MB catalyst 4.11
AMD 64 3000
DDR Corsair 512MB X 2 pc 3200 value select memory 2.5,3,3,6
HD 200GB SEAGATE SATA
DVD+/-RW PLEXTORPX-712A
SAMSUNG FLOPPY DRIVE
Windows xp media center
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.10/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#5
I would also say flash the bios.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.10/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#7
bad board
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.10/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#9
C&C Freak 2K said:
Cases don't ship with speakers. Motherboards do. After all, its the motherboards that generate the codes, not the case, right?
Most motherboards have speaker connections, to connect to a speaker in a case. I have heard of but never seen a mobo with built in speaker.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2004
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
I contacted MSI tech support via phone
They said to raise the agp voltage a little (1.6)
Tech support said with some cards like the 9600 pro the voltage needed to be raised. If that didn't help it is probably a bad board
Has anyone had to raise the agp voltage to get stability.
I have an abit NF7-s and I have read that abit board undervolt the vcore. Is this true with MSI boards or just this board.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2004
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
florida
#12
wazzledoozle said:
Most motherboards have speaker connections, to connect to a speaker in a case. I have heard of but never seen a mobo with built in speaker.
lmao most new boards do... myne does 0.o
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.10/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#13
joyandsorrow said:
lmao most new boards do... myne does 0.o
Ive never seen a new motherboard with a speaker, though my old Pentium II 400 mhz motherboard has an intergrated speaker.