• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI R6950 Twin Frozr III flashing

Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#51
Well, here's my story: I tried to flash the new MSI BIOS. It bricked the card. Nada. Black screen. So I switched to the backup BIOS and found this site. Tried the simple update from here. Box poped up saying I had successfully updated the card to the same firmware it already had on it. Rebooted. Nothing. Still a brick. Tried to reflash the stock firm. Nope. Brick.

I don't get it. The flasher says it was a good flash. It is the correct card. Correct firmware.
The card seems dead but only with the switch in position #1. Works fine in #2, just not as fast as I'd like it.
I did the same but found a way to restore it :) (I know I'm late on the topic, but someone might read this and find it useful)

1st, you will need a "dos bootable usb drive" (google it, it usually uses files from win98..)
2nd, copy the files from msi to this usb drive (http://www.vortez.net/articles_pages/msi_r6950_twin_froz_iii_power_edition_unlocking,1.html) -- click "download the BIOS here"
3rd, set the bios switch to 2 (backup that works)
4th, boot computer from usb drive
5th, change bios switch to 1 (the bricked one)
6th, follow the two steps from MSI (cd\ati389, then, atiflash -p -f 0 r6950pex.bin)
7th UNBRICKED :) restart computer

Sadly, this only means your card was lasercut and you can't unlock the shaders. On the other hand, in doing this you have successfully unlocked the max clocks, you can now boost it up to 1300MHz gpu and 1600 for the memory (though I don't really recommend it!)
4th,
 
Joined
May 21, 2012
Messages
70 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Noctua NH-C14
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 16gb DDR3 @ 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2 XFX R9 280x Xfire
Storage Boot: 256gb Samsung 840 Pro, Files: 512gb Crucial MX100
Display(s) LG 27MC67-B
Case Corsair Obisian 750d w/ 6 140mm fans
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs SB X-fi Titanim Pci-Express
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 760w Platinum
Mouse Razer Deathadder 2013
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70R
Software Win 10 Pro 64-bit
#52
Den Sorte Los, thank you very much for the script. it worked like a charm. I was very hesitant about unlocking my card because it was a gift of mine by my gf back in december. i wanted performance but dont want to buy a new card. I actually, accidently flashed my card. i was reading this post and the instructions and i clicked the flash to 6970 bat.file. then it said to press any button to quit, so i did then it just started to flash. i was freaking out because i dont want a bricked card and my gf would flip out. but it works! i got the 1536 shaders and the whole 6970 specs, except for the speeds. My card was made in sept. 2011 thanks again Den Sorte Los:)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 21, 2015
Messages
29 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
Argentina
System Name Kernel Panik
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 rev 1.1
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX F3-12800CL9D-4BXL
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5770
Storage Intel 320 40GB & WD CB 1002FAEX
Display(s) Acer S232HL Abid
Case Corsair Carbide 400R
Power Supply Corsair TX850M
Software Windows 7 64bits
#53
Hello, hopefully someone can help me with my issue;
After flashing and unlocking my MSI R6950 Twin Frozr III Power Edition/OC successfully I launch MSI Afterburner, unlock the voltage control as "extended MSI" set the "graphics processor type" to 1150mv, power Limit is at +20, configure the clocks to what a 6970 would be; 880/1375 and is stable while gaming and on Heaven Benchmark.

Now the problem is that any core clock higher then 880MHz becomes unstable (video drivers resets/game locks up ) and also I can't increase the voltage (I will not bother to play with the memory clock until I get a stable core clock).
So I do the logical thing and raise the core voltage to 1.200v and set the core clock to 900MHz and is still unstable.
I was about to give up hope to overclocking the GPU when by checking with AIDA64/HWMONITOR/HWINFO/OHM notice that the core voltage on load/performance NEVER changes from 1.150v even when is set to 1.300v on Afterburner and it the voltage monitor in AF is does show 1.300v (Using the Catalyst 15.7.1)

Things I have tried:
Changed back to "silent mode" with the BIOS switch of the GPU (which is the stock bios, not unlocked) and I have the same problem as described above.
AMD Uninstaller and do a clean install of all drivers.
Uninstall and Reinstall MSI Afterburner and changing around every single option in AF, nothing works.
Even went as far as doing a clean install of Windows 7 to no avail, the same problem persist. (Same drivers)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,696 (5.11/day)
Likes
5,110
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#54
@Tatty_One, @cdawall, @Law-II

It's possible the voltage controller is not programmable or not able to step up and down in volts.
 
Last edited:

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,824 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,103
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#55
@Tatty_One, @cdawall, @Law-II

It's possible the voltage controller is not programmable or not able to step up and down in volts.
If the option for voltage control is enabled in MSI AB that's normally an indicator that it is programmable. It could be something at the Bios level preventing the Op for holding the voltage, the only thing I can think of that could help is modding the 3D voltage in RBE and trying a flash...... obviously there is a risk there BUT if the Op chooses to go down that route please do not at the same time raise the 3D clocks because if the voltage won't hold the higher base clock will cause the card to brick, try voltage first and if it holds then raise core clock in AB.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,696 (5.11/day)
Likes
5,110
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#56
If the option for voltage control is enabled in MSI AB that's normally an indicator that it is programmable. It could be something at the Bios level preventing the Op for holding the voltage
That's what I meant by programmable or not. Yeah RBE could be used hopefully.

Definitely back up the bios before modding anything and keep it in a safe spot lol
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2015
Messages
29 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
Argentina
System Name Kernel Panik
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 rev 1.1
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX F3-12800CL9D-4BXL
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5770
Storage Intel 320 40GB & WD CB 1002FAEX
Display(s) Acer S232HL Abid
Case Corsair Carbide 400R
Power Supply Corsair TX850M
Software Windows 7 64bits
#57
Hi, thanks for your replies.
I have "experience" with modding BIOS's with RBE, I modified the clocks and voltages and flashed my 5770 a lot of times without any issues. I have no problem doing it now since this card has a dual BIOS with a switch (already test it).
What really ticks me off is that if its unlocked in AB and being a custom overclocking card from MSI... why the heck does it not work? :S
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2015
Messages
29 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
Argentina
System Name Kernel Panik
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 rev 1.1
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX F3-12800CL9D-4BXL
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5770
Storage Intel 320 40GB & WD CB 1002FAEX
Display(s) Acer S232HL Abid
Case Corsair Carbide 400R
Power Supply Corsair TX850M
Software Windows 7 64bits
#58
Also, with AB not running (and voltages not unlocked) I get this readings from GPU-Z:

And with AB running (and unlocked voltage) i get this readings:


Could it be a driver issue?
Would it help if I give you a screenshot of the bios as shown in RBE?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,696 (5.11/day)
Likes
5,110
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#59
Also, with AB not running (and voltages not unlocked) I get this readings from GPU-Z:

And with AB running (and unlocked voltage) i get this readings:


Could it be a driver issue?
Would it help if I give you a screenshot of the bios as shown in RBE?
You could try asking the afterburner engineers at MSI on that even.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,824 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,103
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#60
Maybe it is holding, if I remember rightly, once I unlocked my old 6950 she became very intolerant of any decent overclocks, MSI may have cut down the PCB and/or phases for the lower power draw 6950 and those extra shaders are maybe taking their toll, voltage or not.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2015
Messages
29 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
Argentina
System Name Kernel Panik
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 rev 1.1
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX F3-12800CL9D-4BXL
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5770
Storage Intel 320 40GB & WD CB 1002FAEX
Display(s) Acer S232HL Abid
Case Corsair Carbide 400R
Power Supply Corsair TX850M
Software Windows 7 64bits
#61
Maybe it is holding, if I remember rightly, once I unlocked my old 6950 she became very intolerant of any decent overclocks, MSI may have cut down the PCB and/or phases for the lower power draw 6950 and those extra shaders are maybe taking their toll, voltage or not.
That could be it, yes... but I double-checked and have the same problem with the stock ROM.

So, short of modding the BIOS with RBE I'm out of luck?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,824 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,103
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#62
Unless you can find on the interweb others with the same card and issues who managed to solve it, at least you have more performance out of the card with the extra shaders.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2015
Messages
29 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
Argentina
System Name Kernel Panik
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 rev 1.1
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX F3-12800CL9D-4BXL
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5770
Storage Intel 320 40GB & WD CB 1002FAEX
Display(s) Acer S232HL Abid
Case Corsair Carbide 400R
Power Supply Corsair TX850M
Software Windows 7 64bits
#63
Modding the BIOS (tired around 4) is pointless too, dosent work or it directly messes the clocks/voltages and they get stuck at idle clock and 1.000v ALWAYS.
I will have to conform with a stock 6970 performance :(
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,696 (5.11/day)
Likes
5,110
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#64
Modding the BIOS (tired around 4) is pointless too, dosent work or it directly messes the clocks/voltages and they get stuck at idle clock and 1.000v ALWAYS.
I will have to conform with a stock 6970 performance :(
That or restore the card to 6950, change the thermal compound on the gpu, thermal pads on ram and vrm circuitry and just overclock it.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2015
Messages
29 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
Argentina
System Name Kernel Panik
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 rev 1.1
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX F3-12800CL9D-4BXL
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5770
Storage Intel 320 40GB & WD CB 1002FAEX
Display(s) Acer S232HL Abid
Case Corsair Carbide 400R
Power Supply Corsair TX850M
Software Windows 7 64bits
#65
That or restore the card to 6950, change the thermal compound on the gpu, thermal pads on ram and vrm circuitry and just overclock it.
Sadly thats no an option either, since the BIOS it came with and 3 other stock 6950 bios I tried have the same problem with the voltage control and overclocking.
Also already did a full clean up of the card, applied MX-4 but dint change the thermal pads since I font currently have any to replace them with)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,696 (5.11/day)
Likes
5,110
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#66
Sadly thats no an option either, since the BIOS it came with and 3 other stock 6950 bios I tried have the same problem with the voltage control and overclocking.
Also already did a full clean up of the card, applied MX-4 but dint change the thermal pads since I font currently have any to replace them with)
Sounds like it is time to buy a new card