1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Radeon R9 290(X) gaming/lightning card club

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by fullinfusion, Feb 16, 2014.

  1. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,837 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,555
    Try the latest Beta driver?

    If so memory issues on the gpu id say is the problem.
     
  2. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    878 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    Overseas
    I'd think it being a problem with the monitor more likely than the motherboard. DP on monitor could be bad, does the DP work with any other computers?
     
  3. jumpman

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    34 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Don't think it's a driver issue. It's during POST. I'm on 14.4 btw.

    It's only on boot up though. Once it gets into windows, it's back to normal. This does make navigating the UEFI extremely difficult.
     
  4. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    878 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    Overseas
    Ah, yeah, something with the mobo most likely then. Lock in your settings on HDMI and switch back? Lol
     
  5. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,837 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,555
    Try the 14.6 beta1 driver, the latest off the AMD site.
     
  6. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    878 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    Overseas
    View attachment 57023


    This, sirs, is how a badass braces their GPU. I even brokeout the hot glue gun to toughen it up! Cost = 0, dropped my temps 6-7C. Lol
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 30, 2014
  7. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    513 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Heh, looks ballsy. :) I've just ziptied mine to my case, although, I'm yet to see any temperature changes.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    878 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    Overseas
    Just flashed my R9 290 Gaming to the BIOS on the front page. Default clocks are now 1007/1250, instead of 977/1250. So far so good, see if it causes any problems or not! Got scared at first, after the first restart Aero wasn't working and
    GPUZ was showing blank GPU clocks, no temps and no fan info. Restarted again and everything was peachy.

    Update.gif
     
  9. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,837 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,555
    That bios should work fine as it come straight from MSI. I asked for a custom bios for these cards to run at those speeds so we didn't have to use the gaming app to clock.
     
  10. Nikku New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Got an MSI R9 290 Gaming a couple of days ago. It was hitting 85-88C and around 85% fan speed in benchmarks and intensive games at stock clocks, which, whilst cool enough, is rather loud with the fan running that fast. The reviews and forum posts that mentioned the fan speed all said it went up to around 60-70% and around 85C.

    Thought I might as well check the backplate screws and they were indeed incredibly loose. Hardly done up at all. Tightened them all up snuggly and ran HWBOT Heaven XTREME. Hit max 81C with 61% fan speed. Much quieter![​IMG]
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  11. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,837 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,555
    Yeah they must have little girls putting these together at the factory lol or they need to re-calibrate there tool for tightening the screws up.
     
  12. Nikku New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Must be something like that. Pretty poor really. Might give their support a ring or throw them an email to let them know. Although, I doubt the message would ever reach anyone who could actually fix anything.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  13. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,837 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,555
    Well I just got my replacement card and ran Skydiver bench and Im really happy with the clocks and more so the Temperature's!! :peace:

    The top plate screws were loose on this card too :shadedshu:

    [​IMG]

    time to pop in the other card now :rolleyes:
     
  14. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,837 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,555
    Two cards

    [​IMG]
     
    manofthem says thanks.
  15. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    513 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    It was quite a mess when I first opened it...
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Hate how everything that's metal in this card is such a fingerprint magnet...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,837 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,555
  17. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    878 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    Overseas
    Are you doing that on air or water?
     
  18. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,789 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    623
    Location:
    CZ
  19. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,837 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,555
    That's on air and was playing with 200mv.
     
  20. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,789 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    623
    Location:
    CZ
    what temps do you have under load? Cuz those affect the actual operating voltage.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2014
  21. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,837 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,555
    It was cool last night and was hitting 85-87c
     
  22. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    513 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Hey guys, can you recommend a good thermal compound for my card, as I think that AS5 is not really cutting it, its sitting at 87 when gaming and on full load...
    I dont really think that hot weather is to blame, as its barely 20 degrees Celsius outside, sitting here with a window open, and fans cranked up to almost max...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,334 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,639
    Location:
    Florida
    Iv been using MX-4 and its pretty legit.

    @fullinfusion are your ICs elpida or hynix?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,837 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,555
    I second the MX-4 paste.
    @Solaris17 there Hynix chips.
     
  25. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,837 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,555
    How did you make out on the temps with the TIM change?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)